We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-nice people; expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Ranked #181 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Cannot beat the location of this hotel--close to the Vatican and everything else is within walking distance. Rome has become so expensive and this hotel is typical of the city. Very touristy area, but really gorgeous location and the hotel was pretty; room was fairly small, but ok. Nice romantic place and location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel is in a good position but the rooms are small and in a poor state of repair. My room had no hot water for a shower and the kettle was broken. Staff showed little interest in either problems. There many much better options in Rome, a city I love and stay in often. The roof top bar is nice but best visited whilst staying another hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrV649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very helpful staff.
You are close to all historic sites .
Rome is a fantastic city.
Avoid August when the Romans leave and several shops and restaurants are closed.
Use Tripadvisor and book a City Guide well in advance! It is worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swde_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

As other reviewers have said, the location of this hotel is wonderful and the rooftop bar amazing. The entry foyer makes a guest feel special, this is a classy hotel. However, in a month of travelling through Europe this was simultaneously the most expensive hotel we stayed in and the one with the worst wifi service. Every other hotel gave us free wifi, no restrictions. This hotel gives free wifi but in a complex package of only so many log ins of 30 minutes maximum each. When you're paying the kind of prices this hotel charges, this is miserly in the extreme. The breakfast, too, at €35 per head,is way too expensive (we got panini and espresso around the corner for less than €10, and with a better experience). So if you have an employer who pays for your Internet Charles and breakfasts, stay here. If not, beware.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Billpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I went to the rooftop for a drink on the evening of 8/4/2013 at around 22:30. The view was spectacular. When we walked into the bar it was empty with a couple other small groups. The waitress was very unprofessional. In a very pretentious attitude she handed us menus and never came back. We waited over 20 minutes. Several other groups came into the bar in the meantime, given menus and orders were taken. Our waitress completely ignored us. We decided to walk out and as we walked out in front of the waitress again we were ignored. I am American but of Asian decent, and for this was the first time in my visit to Rome that I felt discriminated. Her unprofessional behavior was obvious and deliberate. On the way out I spoke with the manager. She offered for us to stay and have a drink, but we were so offended I wanted to take my business elsewhere.

For the staff at this establishment, my advice is that despite ones race or appearance, DO NOT DISCRIMINATE! Shame on you for this behavior!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank mazer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel could not be in a more convenient location for walkng to the Piazza Navona, The Spanish Steps and many other attractions. It is basically right next to the Pantheon. We were a little disappointed in the rooms however which badly need to be redone. The furniture is chipped and the rest of the decor is dated. The breakfast was standard fare for Rome Hotels but we thought it was very expensive for a marginal breakfast experience. We found a little outdoor cafe in the Pantheon square that served a true breakfast at a much more reasonable price. The plus for the hotel is the staff is very helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Overlooks the backside of the Pantheon. Is great central location for getting around Rome. The hotel lobby is spacious and grand. The rooms are more typical of a
"Hilton/American" hotel. They were small but adequate. Does have free wi-fi. The breakfast was typical buffet with enough options. The gem is the roof terrace. We did not eat there but did have drinks in early evening. Wonderful views of Rome. The A/C seemed fine. I felt the bathroom needed better cleaning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctormomStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,271 in Rome
866 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Rome
#108 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#149 Family Hotel in Rome
#187 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £208 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing