We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, bad room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Ranked #215 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Florida, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central location, bad room!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great location however for price paid our room was poor at best! For premium price we were put in the back of the hotel, obviously oldest. Bath tub, toilet, and sink could be reached simultaneously! Two people could not share unless one in the shower! Blow dryer circa 1960. "Trouser press" didn't work and had to empty closet to even get to it! Door men nice. Great roof top view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1julia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    378
    180
    82
    54
See reviews for
256
544
37
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The good news... The location is great. You can walk to everything. The bad... The hotel is average at best. I travel extensively, and am able to stay at all levels of quality. However, this is simply average. Nothing compared to the Russie, Boscolo, Hassler or Intercontinental. I suggest you look at all of the above before selecting. To be fair, the hotel is clean, has a decent breakfast, etc., it is just nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have been staying here since 1998 and enjoy the location of the hotel. Basically, its hard to get a better more central location in Rome. The hotel staff is friendly and very accommodating. If you are expecting good rooms, I would recommend asking for rooms that face Piazza de la Minerve. The back wing of the hotel rooms are really not comparable. On our last two trips to the hotel, the front desk tried to put in this rooms, only to have us reject them. The rooms have lower ceilings, odd floor plans and are nowhere near the quality of the rooms in the front of the hotel. Once we got a new room, it was a game changer. The rooms overlooked the piazza and had 11-12 foot ceilings. What a difference.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the front of the hotel, not the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertoVerdeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location with a great rooftop bar and restaurant. But for 5 stars I would need a larger room. The rooms at this hotel compare with older hotel rooms in New York City. It was clean and comfortable, just smaller than your average hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hotel was in a wonderful location. The front desk staff were always very friendly and helpful. Room was great but usually didn't have maid service until mid afternoon...which was ok because we were always out and about. When we did need something for the room, they were quick to service. The breakfast buffet that was included with our tour was great. The view of the piazza and back of the Pantheon was wonderful and the rooftop bar had amazing views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I see a very common theme, Great Location Average or below average service. We stayed in a room facing the Plaza. The View was very nice and to open the windows and hear the sounds of the city was great. We did not find it noisy and I recommend it. You can walk to many attractions and restaurants.

The breakfast service was POOR. They were slow and just went through the motions. Customer service was not on their agenda. The overall food was acceptable, but I would avoid if possible.
The lobby bar staff was also COLD and not very friendly. I had a drink sitting at the bar and also in the lobby, both times staff where going through the motions.

Front Desk was good and the concierge helped us. The friendliest staff was the doormen. They helped me ship some items back to the state, and even offered to take it himself. The concierge set up some great tours, and also a car for the airport.

We ate at the roof restaurant and the food was acceptable. It was a very fancy menu for not such a fancy place. So we had the steak and it was good. The manager was nice, and gave us 2 glasses of wine, at his expense. He seemed mad at all his staff, and was really pushing them to work. View was nice, but we never went back up, maybe we should have given a second chance, but ROME has so many bars.

Our room was 436 I recommend it. It was clean and acceptable. The bathroom was also nice and acceptable. Would we stay here again, not sure? I will say the LOCATION is unbeatable; they just need to work on better customer service.

Room Tip: Room 436 was very good. I recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Front dest staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Room was nice. Breakfast staff was very well dressed but gave terrible service. Rooftop bar failed to dry the seats after the rain before seating us at a table with wet chair cushions. Toilet not immaculate. Hall carpet old.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParadiseNotLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#110 of 1,257 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#66 of 1,257 in Rome
1,350 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Minerve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Minerve

Property: Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Address: Piazza della Minerva 69, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Rome
#122 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#187 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#228 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de la Minerve 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story hotel housed in a restored late-17th century building with Napoleanic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Minerve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing