We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely best location with the view abowe Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Napoleone III

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza Napoleone III
Ranked #527 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Absolutely best location with the view abowe Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed three nights with romatic occasion at the roof top terrace room. Location directly between Spanish steps, Colosseum, Pantheon, Piazza di popola and Piazza Navona. Cant be more better. Luxury transfer from airport for 50 EUR (almost same as taxi) Those three for tourist offerd rooms are in really old palace building with large corridor halls, high sealings and statues. The best was rooftop living room with very large terrace. Amazing view and morning breakfast. Service was really good and person was always available for Your needs. Bedroom was maybe smaller then expected, but location and terrace compensated it. We had chance to look in to another offered Palace Suite and it was really as in old Palace for princes and dukes. It was really laaarge and historical with hughe open camin and many living rooms. But we liked more our room with amazing terrace specailly due to sunny weather. Highly recomended for travellers with higher expectations!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and I arrived in Roma after the obligatory red eye from the States to find that Beatrice had arranged a wonderful driver (has the US embassy contract) for us. When we arrived at La Residenza Napoleone, it was like returning home as home might be if it were in Roma. The setting is convenient and the roof top suite gives you a fantastic view of the center of Roma. The owner, Princess Ruspoli, has taken care to ensure that the art and other decorations reflect an elegance rarely found outside of a private residence. The excellent service and the experience of time spent in Roma were made complete by our visit to La Residenza Napoleone. We will be return guests each time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Napoleon Suite and took the Blue room for our son; the blue room is connected up a staircase and is ideal to have up to three children in. Staying here feels like one is staying in someone's (grand) home, not in a hotel. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and although the Palazzo is next to the Corso and Condotti, the windows and shutters are such that one has a great night's rest. Breakfast is beautifully served and for any assistance needed, Beatrice is very friendly and helpful. This is by far the best place we stayed in in Rome and, if you don't need room service dinner or lunch (plenty of restaurants around) or a gym (the Villa Borghese is close for jogging), a bargain compared to the equivalent suite in a hotel.

Room Tip: Napoleon Suite very spaciious, large bedroom, sitting room and dining room; connected Blue Room cute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

...are two of the many adjectives I can think of to describe the Residenza Napoleone. It is absolutely amazing. From the moment you walk in, you feel like you are transported to another time. It is beyond special. The staff (especially Beatrice) is completely accommodating and helpful. The exquisite details in every room are beyond stunning. You truly feel like royalty while staying here! Not to mention you are steps away from the Spanish Steps and many amazing restaurants and stores. I highly recommend experiencing Rome with the Residenza Napoleone as your homebase!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smsnyc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is a very special and unique place. From your greeting by Princess Letitzia Ruspoli and the ever near Beatrice you will be shown into a world of opulence and history. The Palazzo Ruspoli of which the Residenza is part sits at the end of the Via Condotti and you can see the Spanish Steps from the window. Everything that you could possibly want has been thought of. There are touches here that you havent thought of and it is only when you experience them that you realise that you should have thought of!
Could not recommend it more highly!
Charlie and Caroline Morgan

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charleswmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed in the Roof Deck apartment. It was lovely, with spectacular views. Excellent location in the center of del Popolo, Spanish steps, Vatican, Pantheon, Trevi fountain, etc etc. The building is beyond charming. Marble busts in alcoves lining the museum-scaled stairways, a rickety old elevator for no more than three, etc.

However, the room itself takes some gymnastics to navigate. There is a narrow winding staircase to the room itself and within the apartment there is another narrow staircase down to the bedroom, which bedroom is smaller than many closets, though very cute and comfortable. The bedroom is very much like a stateroom in a ship's hold. I'm 6'3" and hit my head (hard) at least four times on the trip navigating the staircases. Also, I was too tall for the shower and so had to squeeze myself into its corner to stand up straight while showering.

One benefit of having the bed burrowed in a small space is that we slept as if we were in a cocoon. The sleep was phenomenal.

If you stay in the Roof Deck apartment you are paying for two top-notch things: a wonderful view and a great location. But the room itself includes enough small inconveniences that it can affect the way you feel about it.

The included breakfast was fine. Rolls and croissants with coffee and juice for breakfast. Nothing spectacular, but solid.

If/when we return to Rome, I'll definitely consider staying there again, but will probably look at other options as well. In hindsight, I would have preferred to pay up for the main room. It would have cost us a couple extra grand, but it would have completely changed the experience, in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billexgordler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, assistente dei proprietari at Residenza Napoleone III, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Billexgordler

thank you for taking that time to write your review in TripAdvisor.We always really appreciate our guests taking the time to give feedback and we read all comments so that we can explore their wishes and suggestions and find ways to improve the service we offer.
You described exactly the peculiarities that caracterise our Roof garden Suite and for which our guests are fascinated but we are of course aware thatnot everybody can appreciatean alcove bed or a staircase that leadto the bedroom. For this reason a very detailed description of the Roof Garden Suite is on our website for guests that make booking online or we always send by email the same description to guests that contact us directly. We were surprised when we read your comment because we were concerned that you had not read our descriptions and that your expectations were therefore not fully met.As we want to make sure that all our guests have an amazingexperience staying with us, we try to give all information about our suites so that guests have the chance to choose the suite that is most appropriate for them.
The Roof Garden Suite is very special and unique suite and this is the first time,after decades,that we have received not completely positive feedback.We would certainly recommend that your next visit with us be in the Napoleone Suite which has the biggest bed imaginable and elegant high ceilings which are sure to meet your needs
We hope to see you in Rome again soon

Best wishes
Beatrice Ziello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it was the most amazing start to our trip. We were upgraded to the main suite which is utterly spectacular and enormous. There are three very large rooms, two bathrooms, a small kitchen and area for clothes and luggage, some of it hidden behind big paintings. It's great fun but also practical, stuffed full of guide books and reference material.

The service was brilliant, there when you need it and coming back every evening was fun as there was something different every night with the turn down service. Lots of candles, flowers and bows, very romantic. We were lucky enough to have breakfast on the roof terrace which is huge and has a beautiful view.

It's very expensive, we were lucky enough to receive the trip as a wedding present and loved it. If you can afford it, it's a wonderful experience and we'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkierDoesSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Campo Marzio
Fendi Private Suites
Fendi Private Suites
#535 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte
Residenza Ruspoli Bonaparte
#1,668 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#19 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Campo Marzio
NTB Roma
NTB Roma
#1,013 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Colonna
Teichnersuite
Teichnersuite
#127 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Napoleone III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Napoleone III

Property: Residenza Napoleone III
Address: Via della Fontanella di Borghese 56, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #527 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Napoleone III is one of the most luxurious and unique places to stay in Rome, situated in the XVI century Palazzo Ruspoli on Romes legendary Via Condotti, the Residenza is named after Emperor Napoleon III, who lived here in 1830. The Napoleone Suite consists of three magnificient rooms, with antique furnishings, massive oil paintings, XVI century tapestries, parquet floors and hand-stencilled walls.This suite is connected to an additional bedroom : the Blue Room so-called because of its blue and white Chinese vases. The Roof Garden Suite has one of the most beautiful roof garden overlooking the city, with a multi-level decked terrace of over 600 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Napoleone III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Napoleone Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing