We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smeraldo Ristorante - fine on a Sunday night but nothing to rave about.”
Review of Smeraldo - CLOSED

Smeraldo
Cuisines: Italian
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Smeraldo Ristorante - fine on a Sunday night but nothing to rave about.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A typical inside/outside/street-side restaurant in Rome near the railway station. On a Sunday night the choice is more linted, but there are still loads of eating places, and even more roaming street cellars, musicians and various types of pan-handlers.

The food was good Italian, service quite good and, as Italians do, smoking was a pest - but its their country and their health ! There was a 'reminder about tipping' and as such places go it was not great value. I would have to say 6/10 but I have suffered a lot worse in other cities on a Sunday night. It sure beats McDonald's on the bed in the hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Last night before flight home. Had my favorite-saltimboca alla Romana. They did a great job on it, tender veal, salty ham, sharp cheese, smooth, rich sauce.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaineDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orrington, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice sidewalk tables”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This restaurant was around the corner from our hotel (Hotel Mediterraneo). We ate here three times. My husband had to use a walker, and they were gracious about putting it out of the way while we ate. Food was good; prices reasonable; service excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orrington_MaineJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Webt to this restaurant and was very pleased with the service and food quality. There are a lot of places in Rome which are not very friendly to tourists, whilst also having that Roma vibe. This place was so inviting. The waiters were very attentive and eating there was not stressful at all. We loved it. It is in a busy area but on a quieter steet so it still felt thriving with atmosphere. We will be back there for our last night in Rome as we felt appreciated and were well looked after. The food isnt bad either, in fact very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Wanted to eat somewhere close to hotel and could not fault this restaurant.Food was really good and the waiter was very attentive. Would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing