We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible, no internet. I will not recommend this hotel even to my enemies.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marco Polo
Ranked #328 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible, no internet. I will not recommend this hotel even to my enemies.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Terrible, experience. Very small rooms, no internet connection. The elevator didn't work most of the time and this hotel is on the 3 fl in a very old building. I would not recommend it to anyone, even if it is free of charge.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    243
    117
    53
    91
See reviews for
183
314
60
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a horrible place with nasty staff. We refused to stay although we had a reservation. Only one non-working elevator for this third floor so called hotel (there are several hotels sharing the same building). If I win a free week stay there, I would not give it to anyone I know, only to someone I hate, to ruin their vacation. Shame on the Travel Agency that recommended this trash. What was the management remark when we complained about the place? "go away".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victor8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

When we got dropped off outside the hotel I thought I had booked us in to a hostel!!!! The lift to the third floor was one of those old style lifts you see in 1930 films. Once on the third floor we were greeted by a beautiful entrance, all wood and marble, and then by the lovely man on reception who new are names and made us feel so welcome, his English was great, my Italian was dreadful !!!! this put me at ease.
Hotel is in a fantastic location, the room we had was very small but beautifully decorated, the double glazing is the best ever!!! It had air con but we did not need to use it. Room 324 had a vent in the bathroom which did seem to let a lot of smoky smells in to the room but that is the only complaint we had ( i did not say any thing to reception as I don,t speak the lingo, but if I did I know they would have helped)
Hotel is perfect for a short trip, close to the station with links to the metro, be careful when buying your tickets though, beggers every where and pick pockets. Take an open top bus tour to find your bearings and go to ticket office's to buy tickets as touts are every where charging double the price.

Room Tip: 324 had amazing double glazing, street view, without the amazing windows it would have been a nightm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had reservations to stay at this hotel after paying $50 euros for a taxi from the airport we didn't like are area of the hotel, the elevator was out of order, and we were told the rooms have no air conditioning. I would not stay here if they have it to me for free!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We fbooked this hitel for ourselves and friends for a five day break earlier this month.The hotel is ideally placed for metro and bus travel and is within easy walking distance of some of romes major attractions.The hotel is clean and seemed to be well run.Breakfast was continental style but was perfectly adequate.For the price paid a bargain and if again in Rome I would not hesitate to use it.With time in this city precious the location alone sells it.I would heartily recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Although facing the street we found the windows suppressed any noise and i dont think it really matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hotel is extremely well placed as it's just across the road from the station. We found the hotel to be clean and the rooms were comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was continental and quite basic but was enough to set you up for a morning's sight-seeing. The hotel is fine for a short trip to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tgba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The position of this hotel is brilliant. We arrived last Thursday and to be fair after reading some rather under par reports I was a tab apprehensive. My first opinion was not very high wither. However, we were greeted by Diego and he was amazing. Helpful, informative and very nice indeed.

We stayed in a family room with five beds, it was big enough and it was clean. As previous reviews stated the air conditioning is poor. It was boiling hot, two of our boys and I could not sleep at all the first night. Breakfast again was poor. The lady on duty didn't smile let alone talk, the food was ok but a little disappointing but then after talking to some girls ours was amazing in comparison. Like I say I did feel there were a few niggles but Diego and I think Gianni made it worthwhile. I would go back and do have to say we paid for a three star hotel and that is what we got. I didn't expect the Ritz and was pleasantly surprised by how fab the receptionists were. They went e extra mile for my three sons, husband and I. Many thanks

Room Tip: Great location, clean and mainly friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FruityTutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#391 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#590 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Esquilino
Yes Hotel
Yes Hotel
#153 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#400 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#425 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo

Property: Marco Polo
Address: Via Magenta 39 | 3rd floor, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marco Polo is a comfortable 3 stars hotel in the historical city center of Rome, located just a few minutes walking from Roma Termini train station. This recently restored hotel has a rare characteristic among the hotels close to the station that is the passionate family-run management. Thanks to its wide variety of rooms and its strategic position, Marco Polo Hotel is the ideal solution for a family holiday, a romantic week-end or for business travels. All the attractions and monuments of Rome are easy to reach from Hotel Marco Polo. We look forward to welcome you with our kindness, helpfulness and affordability! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Rome
Marco Polo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing