We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad customer service”
Review of Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo
Ranked #361 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

our room had no ac, room smelled like train station toilet, shower was not working no Internet no car parking, all that for 80 euro per night, if we happen back to Rome we will stay away from this place

Room Tip: you need to check the room they are offering before you pay, once you pay you will never get refund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank neoleos l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Marco Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Dear Mr Neoleos | ,
Probably you haven't noticed but all our rooms are provided with A/C and WiFi access.
As most of the hotels in Rome city center we haven't our own car parking.
Anyway there are several garage nearby.The nearest is on our same street at only 50 mt. from hotel's door. The cost depends on car size & type.
It is even possible to park for free on the street within the white lines. The area is quite safe.
As you should know we care a lot about service as you can read in most of our guest review.
So if you reported us any sort of problem you had (shower/AC/WiFi...) we could solve it.
We are here to assist our customers but we need your note.
I hope we have the opportunity to see you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great staff who are very friendly and are very kind with their time and knowledge. Their advice on restaurants and shopping was very helpful. Perfect place for a few days stop over as it is close to the train station. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FieldsyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First, the hotel is in the 3rd floor, to go up you need to use a mini elevator, second the staff were the worst, always unhelpful, never answered a question, my plan included free breakfast but they made me pay for it or they threatened me to call police, extremely rude.the breakfast is only a piece of pastry and juice or coffee made from powder from a mini machine, the worst breakfast. we could not take a shower because they have repetitive problem with the plumbing. There are a lot of good and nice hotels in the same area. If you want a place to stay do not stay there. No a/c in the room.

Room Tip: do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralphW8478LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location is the only good thing about this hotel.... One can walk to the termini in 5mins even with heavy luggage. Now let's talk about the hotel, right from the time you enter this hotel the problem starts, it is on the third level with a lift which can accommodate one person and one bag at a time. The people at the reception lack basic manners to communicate with theirs guests they are extremely rude and arrogant. The rooms are dark and dingy with no natural light. The carpets stink as if have not been cleaned for years. Definitely not a place to stay with family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RohitKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A group of 5 of us stayed in 2 rooms in this hotel. We were greeted by pleasant staff members who helped up settle in and also had information to hand about travelling through Rome. The rooms were brilliant and comfortable. The location of this hotel was amazing - we had a 2minute walk to the main termini station. Plenty of places to dine at around the hotel including an awesome Indian and Chinese restaurant (if you fancy something other than Italian one night). We felt totally safe walking around at night - I am already planning my next trip to visit Rome and I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Wonderful hotel in the center of Rome. Kind people and excellent service. I went there with some friends, it was so cool'
Meraviglioso hotel nel centro di Roma. Persone gentili e sevizio eccellente. Sono andata li' con qualche amico. E' stato fantastico.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice hotel, very central but that means all areas round about are very busy. Handy for railway station and tour buses. Staff friendly, room small but clean and surprisingly quiet. Air con doesn't come on until 22nd May ???? Even tho it was very warm in the room?!? Not much to say about breakfast other than it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#399 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#465 of 1,269 in Rome
658 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#609 of 1,269 in Rome
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#310 of 1,269 in Rome
871 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#316 of 1,269 in Rome
632 reviews
Esquilino
Yes Hotel
Yes Hotel
#138 of 1,269 in Rome
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo

Address: Via Magenta 39 | 3rd floor, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marco Polo is a comfortable 3 stars hotel in the historical city center of Rome, located just a few minutes walking from Roma Termini train station. This recently restored hotel has a rare characteristic among the hotels close to the station that is the passionate family-run management. Thanks to its wide variety of rooms and its strategic position, Marco Polo Hotel is the ideal solution for a family holiday, a romantic week-end or for business travels. All the attractions and monuments of Rome are easy to reach from Hotel Marco Polo. We look forward to welcome you with our kindness, helpfulness and affordability! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Rome
Marco Polo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing