We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will not return” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marco Polo
Ranked #330 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
City of Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“will not return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Situated on the 3rd floor of a very old building, not a nice area, we were told that the area is a gathering place for refugees, the elevator is an old fashioned wire cage type, the bathroom was dirty with black milddew in the shower -shower not working, view from the bedroom is a disgrace, looking into a filthy area( photo attached), the aircon sounded like an engine running in our room, breakfast was edible not much variety , some plates were still dirty, not washed properly ... staff friendly, i will not return

Room Tip: Do not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    243
    117
    53
    91
See reviews for
183
314
60
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Contrary to the comments attached, my family and I had a very good experience. We stay at this hotel for 6 nights and than returned for another night at the end of our trip to Italy. We were a party of 4 and had a big room with 2 double and a king.

The front desk person - Francesco was awesome. He was very helpful and informative. The breakfast was reasonable and decent - enough to get you started for the day. Set your expectation right.

The location was another plus as it is literally next to the termini station which was kind of central.

The only drawback will be the air con which was not of high capacity to support a big room with 4 adults. Need to get a bigger AC system.

I would go back again if I visit Rome again.

Regards
K.Gopal

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOTChillyPadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

our room had no ac, room smelled like train station toilet, shower was not working no Internet no car parking, all that for 80 euro per night, if we happen back to Rome we will stay away from this place

Room Tip: you need to check the room they are offering before you pay, once you pay you will never get refund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neoleos l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzo D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Marco Polo, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Mr Neoleos | ,
Probably you haven't noticed but all our rooms are provided with A/C and WiFi access.
As most of the hotels in Rome city center we haven't our own car parking.
Anyway there are several garage nearby.The nearest is on our same street at only 50 mt. from hotel's door. The cost depends on car size & type.
It is even possible to park for free on the street within the white lines. The area is quite safe.
As you should know we care a lot about service as you can read in most of our guest review.
So if you reported us any sort of problem you had (shower/AC/WiFi...) we could solve it.
We are here to assist our customers but we need your note.
I hope we have the opportunity to see you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great staff who are very friendly and are very kind with their time and knowledge. Their advice on restaurants and shopping was very helpful. Perfect place for a few days stop over as it is close to the train station. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FieldsyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

First, the hotel is in the 3rd floor, to go up you need to use a mini elevator, second the staff were the worst, always unhelpful, never answered a question, my plan included free breakfast but they made me pay for it or they threatened me to call police, extremely rude.the breakfast is only a piece of pastry and juice or coffee made from powder from a mini machine, the worst breakfast. we could not take a shower because they have repetitive problem with the plumbing. There are a lot of good and nice hotels in the same area. If you want a place to stay do not stay there. No a/c in the room.

Room Tip: do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralphW8478LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location is the only good thing about this hotel.... One can walk to the termini in 5mins even with heavy luggage. Now let's talk about the hotel, right from the time you enter this hotel the problem starts, it is on the third level with a lift which can accommodate one person and one bag at a time. The people at the reception lack basic manners to communicate with theirs guests they are extremely rude and arrogant. The rooms are dark and dingy with no natural light. The carpets stink as if have not been cleaned for years. Definitely not a place to stay with family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RohitKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A group of 5 of us stayed in 2 rooms in this hotel. We were greeted by pleasant staff members who helped up settle in and also had information to hand about travelling through Rome. The rooms were brilliant and comfortable. The location of this hotel was amazing - we had a 2minute walk to the main termini station. Plenty of places to dine at around the hotel including an awesome Indian and Chinese restaurant (if you fancy something other than Italian one night). We felt totally safe walking around at night - I am already planning my next trip to visit Rome and I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Rimini
Hotel Rimini
#388 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corot
Hotel Corot
#584 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Esquilino
Yes Hotel
Yes Hotel
#152 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#401 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#435 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo

Property: Marco Polo
Address: Via Magenta 39 | 3rd floor, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marco Polo is a comfortable 3 stars hotel in the historical city center of Rome, located just a few minutes walking from Roma Termini train station. This recently restored hotel has a rare characteristic among the hotels close to the station that is the passionate family-run management. Thanks to its wide variety of rooms and its strategic position, Marco Polo Hotel is the ideal solution for a family holiday, a romantic week-end or for business travels. All the attractions and monuments of Rome are easy to reach from Hotel Marco Polo. We look forward to welcome you with our kindness, helpfulness and affordability! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Rome
Marco Polo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing