We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Good Location”
Review of Hotel Corallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Corallo
Ranked #736 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Located about 4 1/2 blocks from Train station this is a clean, albeit sparse place to park yourself while travelling. Great Pizza place down the street and very good restaurants within a block. There is nothing fancy about this place but it's quiet and clean and easy to get to. Nice rooftop continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very good hotel close to Termini railway station. Staff were very helpful and rooms were very clean with extremely comfortable beds. We would certainly use the Hotel Corallo again when visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel offers clean comfortable accomodation in a location that makes for convienent access to public transport. From the hotel it is a short walk to Termini station where metro and city buses travel all over the city as well as trains to other Italian cities and the airport. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast pleasant on the roof terrace. Our room had a pretty balcony and it was quiet at night. As others have mentioned the bathroom was a bit cramped but don't let that put you off! The street felt safe, many tourists around. We walked to San Lorenzo (15mins) one night for a more local dining experience and it was good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mctripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Situated close to Termini station, this hotel provides pretty good value for money with the added convenience of having a lift to help with your luggage, 24 hour reception, and a lovely breakfast on the balcony. Being able to eat breakfast on the balcony was definitely the biggest plus for me, as well as being able to have a view out onto the street as opposed to an internal courtyard. For those people who say the breakfast isn't any good, its a standard Italian breakfast that you will find at any Italian B&B with sugary croissants, bread rolls, bread, jam, etc. Don't expect a full english breakfast here (or at any B&Bs really......)

The room was small but adequate with a fairly large shower by Italian standards (which is still tiny!). Beds were comfy, the room was quiet. (Don't be put off by the noisy bar at street level, I couldn't hear any of this from my room).

The men at reception were friendly and helpful.

The wifi was excellent and unlike many places I stayed at in Italy actually worked in the hotel room itself which is a massive plus if you want to skype / facetime / etc. Make sure you ask for the slip with the password from reception before you make your way to your room.

This is very easy to find from Termini - simply exit out from the station (NOT the side where you can see McDonald's directly outside the station, the other side), walk down Via Marghera away from the station, until you get to Via Palestro (about the fourth or fifth street you go to). Turn left and its a few 100 metres down on the right hand side. I'm a female travelling solo so I opted to get a taxi from Termini to the hotel as I arrived at 10.30pm at night - it cost only about 6 euros and that was with the after 10.30pm additional surcharge included, so this is an option too, but honestly, its about a 5 minute walk so if you're a couple or braver than I am it is easily walkable.

I also stayed at Hotel Continentale which is directly across the road, and for the money I would recommend Hotel Corallo particularly for wifi access, breakfast, the lift and overall friendliness.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RowsyLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel is secure and very clean in an active, mixed-use commercial area....a convenient 10 minute walk to the main station, Statzione Termini. The rooms are very small , the bathrooms tiny but the room furniture is of good, well maintained quality. The breakfast room was a sweet, breezy balcony with views of Roman rooftop terraces.

The principal negative factor is the physical co-existence with a hostel on the lower floors of the same building which can be very loud and disturbing between midnight and 3am. The elevator is micro and can only handle one well luggaged guest. Many nights, you have to thread delicately between many drunk or hyped up backpackers who are swilling in the entry lobby.

Yet, more positively, while almost no English is understood or spoken, the front desk management of the Hotel Corallo is efficient, attentive and civil.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeeJ-PJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early Oct 2011. The staff were great, giving us maps and directions. The room was a good size and the little terrace was a nice treat. The bathroom was super cramped though, you had to almost crawl over the beday to get to the toilet and the shower was barely big enough from me to get my arms up to wash my hair. The rooms were not very sound proof and inconsiderate guests would let the security door slam which was right outside our room. Breakfast was very lacking, but the large terrace was nice to sit and enjoy a coffee. Great location, only about 4 blocks from the train station. We didn't have any problems finding the hotel once we got off the train. I did find the bed very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bauers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very well located, less than a 10 min walk to Termini as well as Cavour. This is on the nicer and safer side of Termini. all modes of transport are extremely close. This is more of a back packers area with lots of nice & reasonable restaurants & pubs around. The hotel rooms are quite basic. No frills. But is complete value for money. We paid 70 euros a night including breakfast. The breakfast was simple but nice, with eggs to order some meats and cheeses and desserts. Breakfast is served on the rooftop which was really nice. The Philipino lady who served there was quite sweet and friendly. We stayed here for 4nights. It is just above a hostel, hence is quite lively and has a cheap bar right outside.The reception is slightly inside, you need to walk down the corridor just before the hostel.
Try not to take the room at the entrance of the floor as it can get a little noisy.
Recommend it as a no frills attached hotel, very well located safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try not to take the room at the entrance of the floor as it can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JA_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#352 of 1,273 in Rome
439 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#740 of 1,273 in Rome
809 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#250 of 1,273 in Rome
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#596 of 1,273 in Rome
315 reviews
Esquilino
Bellesuite Rome
Bellesuite Rome
#737 of 1,273 in Rome
340 reviews
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#301 of 1,273 in Rome
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo

Address: 44 via Palestro, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #736 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £38 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Corallo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corallo in Rome is a comfortable 2 star hotel located in the historic city center, a five minute walk from Termini Train Station and a short walk from the Tube Station Castro Pretorio. The family atmosphere, and the wide and convenient selection of rooms, its quiet position and its charming terrace overlooking Rome rooftops, make Hotel Corallo one of the best hotels in Rome for young people, couples, families, and more in general for anyone who loves Rome and want to live and breathe the eternal city in complete comfort. The hotel staff 's courtesy will guide you and recommend you the best Roman itineraries according to your needs. If you are looking for a holiday in a tranquil hotel in Rome centre, which is great value for money, Hotel Corallo is your perfect solution! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing