We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice”
Review of Hotel Corallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Corallo
Ranked #691 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
treviso
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good choice”
Reviewed 28 August 2008

The hotel is very close to Termini Station and the main sites of Rome so in few minutes you can get everywhere by tube or bus!
The price of the room (65€ pro night for a double room) is good for the services that they offer! Clean room and bathroom for a 2 stars hotel!
The only one thing that we suggest to improve is breakfast ..they should increase the choice of the food (any ham, salami, sausages, cheese., eggs...) and try to to be more polite (there was a lazy woman that gazed us all the time and served hot drinks without coffee spoons!).

Anyway I recommend this hotel to everyone that is planning a wonderful holiday in this everlasting city.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — brakfast service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank D79Treviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    81
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
100
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Having stayed at this hotel in September this year I wanted to add a review of my own.

My boyfriend and I stayed for 6 nights and having been booked into the hotel by clients my boyfriend was working for in Rome we did not know what to expect.

We found the hotel very easily and its proximity to the station is great so not too much dragging of suitcases, although we were tired when we arrived outside.

We checked in which was a little difficult due to the language barrier and the fact we had not booked the room ourselves and it was under a name we were not aware of.

We were shown to our room on the 6th Floor by who we assumed was the manager, whose English was limited but he was very polite. Our room was a twin but we were informed we would be moved to a double room for the last 2 nights of our stay. The room was tiny and we felt dissappointed as it was basic, not even a fridge to store water. However the room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom too- I can honestly say I have never seen such a clean room!

Each day we were greeted by the staff who were really friendly and had a good sense of humour and even had some quirky phrases to make you laugh. They were particularly helpful to me as I was unwell during my stay and bought some throat sweets from a local pharmacy but being 6 months pregnant was worried about taking them as the information was in Italian. They were absolutely great in translating the words and understood what I was implying. They asked me constantly how I was feeling as we went in and out and were never short of a smile.

On the first few nights we were unlucky to have a group of lads staying in the room next to us who were very very noisy and disruptive. On the second night we thought we had had just about enough and were going to complain in the morning.

We didnt have to they informed us that they had removed the lads from the hotel and hoped we would enjoy the rest of our stay.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fuss free stay in a basic but comfortable hotel.

My only concern was getting in and out of the city itself, the metro ran from the station but did not go all that close to the main sites so a lot of walking was required. The red Bus 110, tourist hop on and off was superb for getting around but the last bus was around 7pm so getting into the centr ein the evening was only achieveable by metro and then walking.

Being 6 months pregnant I found this exhausting and would suggest you stay somewhere closer to the sites if walking is an issue for you.

All in all a lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff.

  • Liked — The friendly and helful owners
  • Disliked — The proximity to the sites of Rome
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixienooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2006

This little hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Termini and easy access to all attractions within the Historical Centre. It shares the building with Yellow Hostel, but the rooms are located on various floors at the back half of the building. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and well looked after in a secure corridor. We had a family (deluxe) room, which had ample room in both the room itself and the bathroom. The towels were like table cloths, so this is the only thing you could actually fault them for. Breakfast is included with the rate and is severed upstairs on the patio with a most wonderful view. Staff were friendly and very patient with our half Italian/English. Lots of amenities within easy walk - supermarkets, internet points, eateries, laundromats etc. The area was very safe to walk around, even at night, which we did most nights.

The only other thing that we thought the hotel could improve on is to install mini-fridges in its rooms. Coming from Australia we like our drinks cold and you certainly can't get that in Europe.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. In fact we tried to book an additional night in June before we flew out but the hotel was fully booked.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of mini-fridge
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own towel
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2006

The location was good, near Termini Station but some of the inconveniences we had were:
No air conditioning, no hairdrier, very small bathroom and the floor would get flooded after having a shower. Towels were not very good quality. Toilet seat was broken.

But what we found more upsetting was not only that the owners did not speak any English but the rude attitude towards us from the very beggining. They only seemed to care about their bussines but not the quality of service offered to the customers.
To be honest we couldn´t wait to get out of their hotel. I would not recommend this hotels to anybody.
Hope you have a better experience and enjoy your holidays.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank change2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 May 2006

We stay at the Corallo whenever we are in Rome and have never been disappointed with our room or the service. The staff is always very friendly and greets us like old friends. The room that we usually get is across the hall from the reception area. It ihas always been very clean and well maintained. We especially enjoy the little terrace. The terrace is tiny --only big enough for a table and chairs but In early September it is screened with vines and has flowers to add to the privacy . In the evening before dinner we have enjoyed our wine and cheese while listening to a neighbor's beautiful Italian music coming from an open window somewhere in the building. The room is not overly large and lacks the frills of a luxury hotel but has all the amenities you need to be comfortable. We have never had a problem with noise as we stay in the back of the hotel. They do have rooms that face the street but we usually ask for the rooms in the back with a terrace. The location is excellent-- a short walk from Termini and quick transportation to the airport or to the historic sites. There are great little restaurants right in the neighborhood that are reasonable and serve excellent food. The pizza shop on the corner is excellent as is the Leoni di Abruzzi across the street. We have recommended this hotel to travelers we meet on our trips, as well as to our friends who are visiting Rome. I would recommend it to anyone who want a safe, clean and reasonable hotel close to all the historic sites.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2006

We choosed the hotel because we were short of time and the location looked OK. Is near Termini station and at 10 minutes by foot from another metro station, Pza. Republica.The area, were many other hotels are located,is OK for tourists, well connected to the city attractions. The surroundings were safe even in the night when we got back. There are many small and cheap restaurants in this area and just at the next corner a pizzeria with very good and cheap pizza. The hotel is on the 6 floor of a building but the small elevator worked fine. The room was just like in the picture but smaller :), however the good thing was that the room was clean. For example, you can hardly put two people in the bathroom. We had the window to a backyard so it was not noisy from this point of view but we heard the cleaning lady every morning from the hall. Breakfast is continental, just some coffee and a croissant but I heard in Italy is not so unusual.The breakfast room is in the same room with the reception with four small tables. We prefered to go there just to take the food to our room.The people from the desk are OK, not so helpfull but not bad.If you ask they will answer but not expect too much.Personally I think that it is a fair hotel but not for what we payed. We spend around 120 Euro/night and this is too much for what the hotel offered. We stayed at this price in Spain and even in Italy (Florence) but much better than here.If you can get a better price and don't expect too much is OK. The city makes all the money, many attractions and monuments very well preserved.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank SVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2006

We stayed for 4 nights In June 2005. I was informed when I booked online that the rates included air con. When I told the old man at reception he then gave me the remote control for the air con. Later that day he then said he checked with the company I booked with that it doesn't include air con and it will be an extra 10 Euro a day! Wasn't happy about that. Also when we checked out he forgot to give us back our passports because he was too engrossed with the soccer on tv!
Otherwise it's a nice hotel, clean rooms and great location.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#395 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#235 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#286 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Indipendenza
Hotel Indipendenza
#781 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#443 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corallo

Property: Hotel Corallo
Address: 44 via Palestro, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Corallo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corallo in Rome is a comfortable 2 star hotel located in the historic city center, a five minute walk from Termini Train Station and a short walk from the Tube Station Castro Pretorio. The family atmosphere, and the wide and convenient selection of rooms, its quiet position and its charming terrace overlooking Rome rooftops, make Hotel Corallo one of the best hotels in Rome for young people, couples, families, and more in general for anyone who loves Rome and want to live and breathe the eternal city in complete comfort. The hotel staff 's courtesy will guide you and recommend you the best Roman itineraries according to your needs. If you are looking for a holiday in a tranquil hotel in Rome centre, which is great value for money, Hotel Corallo is your perfect solution! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing