We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
Ranked #739 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at Il Piccolo for 5 nights and, eventhough the triple is tiny, the balcony, the elevator, and the cleanliness of the room makes up for it.
Great location to Trevi and Spanish Steps.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room, with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanotar, Direttore at Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
and we will wait for you!
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    63
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
15
72
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I agree with most of the negative reviews: the rooms are ugly and small (even for us Parisians, used to small spaces!) and grungy and the service ranges indifferent to hostile. There was no iron available, unacceptable for a 3-star hotel in a major European city. The housekeeping cart is permanently parked in the hallway: this sounds like a petty complaint until you return from a day from elegant Rome and are struck by the site of cleaning products: this truly lacks class! We asked for a "simple" restaurant and were directed to an awful, over-priced tourist trap. We asked whether we'd parked our car legally and the receptionist didn't know. The return at night is truly unwelcoming: you must buzz from downstairs, wait several minutes, and then go up to the fourth floor (the cubicle that serves as reception is closed at night.) We didn’t know this until other guests who happened to be waiting, too, told us: no one at reception had. These same guests, enthusiastic Californians obvious trying to remain optimistic, described the hotel as “interesting”: this is not a compliment!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PacoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I was greeted by name and shown to my room by Patrizia a very friendly lady who also gave me a map and gave me information on the local area. The hotel is a bit hard to find about half way along Via Due Macelli just after the junction with Via Cappola Di Case above a shoe shop with just a brass plaque outside. If you are coming from the Spanish Steps it is on the right. There is a very small antiquated lift to take you up to the 4th floor where the rooms are but it works fine so not a problem. My room was Borromini, small but comfortable and had everything I needed and was very quiet. The view was over roof tops and the church/bell tower behind the hotel. The bell rings at 7am each morning so no need for an alarm clock! The shower in the bathroom was very small and I struggled with the doors on occasions but the water was plentiful and hot. The breakfast is not good,a choice of only one croissant or bread roll or yogurt and one drink so use one of the numerous cafes nearby if you need food in the morning.
The hotel is in a great location being only 250 metres from the Spanish Steps and Spagna metro station and if you walk 250 metres in the other direction down to Via del Tritone and cross the road there is a bus stop used by various open bus tour companies. I took one of these on my first day to get my bearings and see the main sights and found it very useful. The Trevi Fountain is also a short walk away and well worth a visit. Do climb the Spanish Steps and visit Pincio for amazing views over the city and take a breather in the lovely shady park. I really enjoyed my stay at Piccolo the staff were friendly and helpful, my room was clean and comfortable and I felt safe in the area which is important if you travel on your own as I do. If you want something other that chain hotel sameness with a bit of character at a reasonable price you could do much worse in Rome.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony where you can sit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kowloonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
232 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

This little hotel was recommended to me by my Italian friend. The location was convenient, close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The service was very friendly. Few disadvantages: very old antiquated elevator, smallish plain rooms, breakfast was nothing interesting and not much. However, it is very good value with central location, clean, and staff willing to help. Unless you wish to spend 200 euro or so, this is a viable hotel option in Rome. I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
696 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

We returned on 04/13 from a 3-day stay at the Piccolo. The staff was very nice, especially Patrizia, the day manager. They opened their breakfast room early so we could have coffee and a quick breakfast as we were leaving early on Wed. Patrizia made a deal for the cab and then walked us out to the curb when the cab arrived; at 7 a.m.
The rooms are small, but clean. The bathroom is also small and there is only a hand-held shower hose in the tub. It is not possible to get a cup of tea or anything else there after the breakfast hour. The location, between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain
is great. This hotel does not have a lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

I arrived in Rome and the first man who was working in the hotel was very accomodating since I didnt have my reservation number as my friend was coming to Rome a bit later that day and he had all the details. He then showed me the room and told me it was a single but if I was happy with the size we could stay there as it did have a double bed. Although the room was tiny and the bathroom very small we were happy enough to stay in it. Anyway, The second night we came home after dinner around midnight and were met by the night staff who was rude, arrogant and aggressive when he attacked us saying that he didnt have my document on file and that I would not be able to stay there that night without paying a suppliment for the room. The document and suppliment were not an issue, it was his aggressive attitude towards his guests!! He even said "for all I know you could be a P".....(then paused thought about it and said "a bad person". He aggresively told us that we had taken total advantage of staying in a single room. I told him his colleague had obviously made the mistake by not asking me for the extra or my passport and that it certainly was not our fault. He was grinding his teath with the anger. We demanded to speak to the hotel manager, so he called someone and spoke to him and never handed me the phone saying the Manager refused to speak to me. This is customer service?? After a big discussion I gave him my Irish Passport and the extra money and the next day I spoke to the first guy, who laughed it off and said that it was just this guys CHARACTER!! And we got no apology whatsoever for how we had been treated. This hotel is located on Piazza di Spagna and you would think that the staff would be trained in hospitality even if it is a three star hotel. The guy who works night shift was a nasty, angry and ignorant man who should not be working in this industry and he ruined our stay in Rome. I would NOT recommend staying at that hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

I spent one night in this hotel and I found it "perfect" for my needs....a small, sweet, clean and very good located hotel in Rome.
If you don't want a 5 star, overcrowded, international hotel this is the perfect choice! The location is amazing (3 minutes walk from Spagna metro station), the staff was very kind, it looked like to stay in a friend's house, not in an hotel!
If you are a "real traveler" that want to taste "the atmospheres" of the towns you visit, this is your choice.
If you need crowded swimmingpools, ballrooms, restaurants and so on....forget it!!

I already reccomend it to my friends!

Manuel

(Thailand)

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurasian_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#420 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Campo Marzio
iRooms Spanish Steps
iRooms Spanish Steps
#542 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Domus Ludovisi
Domus Ludovisi
#1,021 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
I Racconti di Roma
I Racconti di Roma
#706 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
DG Prestige Room
DG Prestige Room
#101 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Spanish Suite
The Spanish Suite
#293 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Property: Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
Address: Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #739 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Spagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing