We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite adequate small hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
Ranked #946 of 3,711 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This little hotel was recommended to me by my Italian friend. The location was convenient, close to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The service was very friendly. Few disadvantages: very old antiquated elevator, smallish plain rooms, breakfast was nothing interesting and not much. However, it is very good value with central location, clean, and staff willing to help. Unless you wish to spend 200 euro or so, this is a viable hotel option in Rome. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2010

We returned on 04/13 from a 3-day stay at the Piccolo. The staff was very nice, especially Patrizia, the day manager. They opened their breakfast room early so we could have coffee and a quick breakfast as we were leaving early on Wed. Patrizia made a deal for the cab and then walked us out to the curb when the cab arrived; at 7 a.m.
The rooms are small, but clean. The bathroom is also small and there is only a hand-held shower hose in the tub. It is not possible to get a cup of tea or anything else there after the breakfast hour. The location, between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain
is great. This hotel does not have a lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I arrived in Rome and the first man who was working in the hotel was very accomodating since I didnt have my reservation number as my friend was coming to Rome a bit later that day and he had all the details. He then showed me the room and told me it was a single but if I was happy with the size we could stay there as it did have a double bed. Although the room was tiny and the bathroom very small we were happy enough to stay in it. Anyway, The second night we came home after dinner around midnight and were met by the night staff who was rude, arrogant and aggressive when he attacked us saying that he didnt have my document on file and that I would not be able to stay there that night without paying a suppliment for the room. The document and suppliment were not an issue, it was his aggressive attitude towards his guests!! He even said "for all I know you could be a P".....(then paused thought about it and said "a bad person". He aggresively told us that we had taken total advantage of staying in a single room. I told him his colleague had obviously made the mistake by not asking me for the extra or my passport and that it certainly was not our fault. He was grinding his teath with the anger. We demanded to speak to the hotel manager, so he called someone and spoke to him and never handed me the phone saying the Manager refused to speak to me. This is customer service?? After a big discussion I gave him my Irish Passport and the extra money and the next day I spoke to the first guy, who laughed it off and said that it was just this guys CHARACTER!! And we got no apology whatsoever for how we had been treated. This hotel is located on Piazza di Spagna and you would think that the staff would be trained in hospitality even if it is a three star hotel. The guy who works night shift was a nasty, angry and ignorant man who should not be working in this industry and he ruined our stay in Rome. I would NOT recommend staying at that hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

I spent one night in this hotel and I found it "perfect" for my needs....a small, sweet, clean and very good located hotel in Rome.
If you don't want a 5 star, overcrowded, international hotel this is the perfect choice! The location is amazing (3 minutes walk from Spagna metro station), the staff was very kind, it looked like to stay in a friend's house, not in an hotel!
If you are a "real traveler" that want to taste "the atmospheres" of the towns you visit, this is your choice.
If you need crowded swimmingpools, ballrooms, restaurants and so on....forget it!!

I already reccomend it to my friends!

Manuel

(Thailand)

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Eurasian_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We decided to stay at this hotel for one night because of the reviews on trip advisor and the photos on the hotel's internet site,

So, We learnt a lesson. Never to get carried away by reviews and never to believe what you see on websites.

It was our upteenth time to Rome but this hotel ranked as one of the worst I have ever been to in my life (supposedly 3 star).

The room was miniscule and run down. I therefore immediately went downstairs to complain we were given another room which was slightly better but still terrible.

My wife and I therefore decided to leave. The person at the desk told us we were free to go (I started to believe I was in prison) but had to pay!! We argued and finally left.

Do yourselves a favour stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fuzz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Just returned from a fantastic 8-day trip to Rome/Florence with our 15 yr. old son. We stayed at Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna from Monday through Friday. Having never been to Rome, we took the advice of some friends who told us that Spanish Steps was a good, central location at which to stay. They had stayed at Il Piccolo so we followed suit. The hotel is VERY small -- no lobby, no game room -- since this was a sightseeing vacation though, those amenities weren't missed. It would be nice to have a lobby to go to, however, on that 2nd morning when you wake up all out of whack due to jet lag. Thankfully, our room had a balcony so I could sneak out there so as not to wake my husband or son. Anyway, the hotel is OLD -- an antique-looking elevator lift takes you up to the 4th floor, the only floor on which all 11 rooms of the hotel are located. There is a TINY breakfast area which serves an adequate continental breakfast from 7:00-10:00. The room we had was really quite small to house 3 people -- there was about an inch and a half between our bed and my son's twin bed -- made for tight squeezes. The bathroom was adequate however there was no shower -- you have to sit in the tub and hold a hand-held device to shampoo your hair. Ladies, beware -- BRING YOUR OWN HAIRDRYER and ADAPTOR!! The hairdryers in Italy require you to hold down a button constantly while blowdrying -- makes for very interesting hairdo's! All in all, the hotel is in a very good location but the rooms are very small and the hotel staff, except for the woman who works during the day, really don't know English and can't help with any questions you may have. We paid roughly $300 USD per night and it just wasn't what you'd get in the states for $300. The city of Rome is just magnificent though so go and enjoy it -- you'll be out all day enjoying the breathtaking statues and buildings and won't be in the room much at all.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyandpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2006

Our experience with this place tainted what was otherwise a great trip around Italy. We booked the hotel on the hotel web site, and selected the hotel because of the amenities listed on that web site. On the train in to Rome from Naples, we made a call in for directions, only to be told they had unilaterally moved us to another hotel a quarter of a mile away (the Spagna Inn). Our protests fell on deaf ears. Given the lateness in the day and our inability to find other lodgings on such short notice, we had no choice but to take the other room. The room and other facilities at Spagna Inn were not at all acceptable, and not on a level with what we had agreed to. To begin, the facilities at the Spagna Inn lacked nearly all the amenities represented to be available at the Piccolo. Unlike the Piccolo, the Spagna Inn has no elevator, TV room, game room, garden/terrace, jacuzzi, or room service, as advertised on the Piccolo's web site. On our arrival at the Spagna Inn, the individual at the front desk refused to assist carrying our luggage to our fourth floor room up the hotel's small, winding staircase. Essentially, my female traveling companion and I were told that we were on our own getting our luggage (consisting of three large suitcases) to our room. When we arrived in our room, we found the room's safe did not work, and when we informed the front desk of that fact, he informed us that his colleague would try to come by "around 8:00 p.m." to look at it. It took multiple calls to the Piccolo before someone came to open the safe. As a result, we were delayed for nearly an hour in beginning any sightseeing during our one afternoon in Rome. Later, when we got ready to leave for dinner and asked the front desk to call us a cab, we were informed that "there are no taxis in this region." This is unbelievable, given the fact that the hotel is less than three blocks from the Spanish Steps. As a final insult, we discovered the morning of our departure for the Rome airport that the Piccolo's promised "shuttle to airport" would cost us $45 - exactly the price of a taxi cab ride. Again, the Piccolo and Spagna Inn failed to provide the services promised, or at the very least deliberately misled us as to the services provided. Bottom line - don't trust these guys at Piccolo.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank texas49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#167 of 1,267 in Rome
1,171 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#243 of 1,267 in Rome
989 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza A
Residenza A
#562 of 1,267 in Rome
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#358 of 1,267 in Rome
619 reviews
Testaccio
Re Testa
Re Testa
#474 of 1,267 in Rome
261 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#466 of 1,267 in Rome
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna

Address: Via Lombardia 40, 187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #946 of 3,711 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Piccolo di Piazza di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Di Spagna Hotel Rome
Il Piccolo Di Piazza Spagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing