We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris Alex.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere
Ranked #1,848 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Αθηνα
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chris Alex.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perfect service...
Excellent hosts!
Very nice rooms...
We had a very nice experience. Rome is a must city. The room is in an area where you can find very good food and drink.
Greetings to Piera and Gi!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisalexis1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piera R, Owner at Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Google Translation
Gentilissimi,

grazie per la recensione. Siamo sempre onorati di ricevere dei complimenti. Soprattutto perchè come piccola struttura abbiamo ancora ds migliorare, ma i vostri commenti più che positivi premiano il nostro impegno.

Grazie ancora e saremmo felici di riavervi come nostri ospiti.

Tanti saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    35
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
57
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Here are the three reasons I will not give this place a 1 star rating:
1. It has the potential to be a 5 star experience
2. It has a great location
3. 1 star review of hotels (for me) require me to check out early (although we seriously considered checking out early)

We booked our stay at Dulcis on Hotels.com precisely 3 days prior to our arrival. The Hotels.com email confirmed our reservation and explicitly states that if we arrive outside the hours of 1030am-430pm that we must contact the property to arrange check-in.
We planned to arrive at 1pm so we found no need to contact the "hotel" directly.
We arrived at 1pm on our check in date of this condo complex and no one answered the call button outside for 10 minutes. We proceeded to tailgate into the building and walked up to entrance of Dulcis. We rang the doorbell for 5 minutes. No answer. We called the two phone numbers several times that were provided to us, no answer.
So we left, ate lunch, and came back. Finally they answered!
We walked upstairs to be greeted by a grumpy owner named Francesca. I let her know we had been by earlier and waited for a while and she proceeded to chastise me to not emailing her to let her know when I was arriving. I cited the Hotels.com email and she said, "well I sent you and email earlier today." (I checked my email once I got the WiFi passcode and yes she did send an email at 1205pm that same day!!! We had already checked out of our other hotel and I had no access to email). Not a friendly check-in experience at all and we felt like we were inconveniencing her in some way by staying there.
Well, we finally get checked into one of the 4 units they have. Very spacious unit, high ceilings but all decor is clearly from Ikea. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows were the thinnest pillows you will ever sleep on. Our exterior blinds were controlled by an electronic device and got stuck and would not close. Our room was the only one that did not have a en suite bathroom. All others did. Not a big deal.
It gets much worse.
This "hotel" was clearly marked as a non-smoking hotel and room. The entire time we were here the OWNER was SMOKING in her office the entire time we were here! Our room was right next to the office and it reeked of smoke the entire time. One of the nights the owner had a couple friends visiting and had a full-fledged argument with them about something in Italian. I don't know what. I couldn't believe this was all happening especially given that most reviews were generally pretty good from this place.
I think I forgot to mention that this place is right on a main train line AND 1 block from a hospital. We were constantly woken up by extremely loud sirens and trains every 15 minutes or so. Don't get me wrong they are VERY loud.
Odd things that were also a negative: our toilet seat was much smaller than the toilet bowl, the faucet in the bathroom was broken and spilled water everywhere when we turned it on.
In addition, breakfast was merely some croissants (which were good) and packages carbs.

I almost forgot to mention that the same check-in experience happened to another couple just like us and we witnessed the whole experience! We ended up letting the couple in, explained that this is what happened to us, and I proceeded to call the owner for them. The owner answered and I told her who it was and that she had someone there to check in. She started to get upset with me and explained that they weren’t supposed to arrive for another hour or two. I told her that I was just the messenger and a guest trying to help her out! I couldn’t believe how she was treating us.
We did absolutely nothing to provoke any of this as we are very non-confrontational people.

Until this place gets a new owner I would never even think of staying here again. Please read my reviews of other hotels and you will see this is the lowest rating I have EVER provided.

Room Tip: If for some reason you stay here (I don't know why you would) ask for the one room that is not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robbinsdale_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piera R, Guest Relations Manager at Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Google Translation
Caro Ospite
Siamo spiacenti per la vostra esperienza ma vi ringraziamo comunque per le critiche fatte che servono a migliorarci per poter rendere a tutti gli ospiti il servizio migliore che possiamo, a seguito del vostro suggerimento è stato istituito il divieto assoluto di fumo nella struttura, ad esempio, vorrei inoltre scusarmi per la "brusca" accoglienza, come l'avete definita, ma io credo che si tratti di un problema di barriera linguistica in quanto al nostro personale non è concesso essere sgarbato con gli ospiti per qual si voglia ragione.
Purtroppo si è verificata una condizione inaspettata per la quale tutto il personale si è dovuto spostare dalla struttura ed ecco spiegato il motivo della e-mail inviatavi per conoscere l'orario di arrivo proprio al fine di evitare a voi ospiti una inutile attesa.
Purtroppo l'ufficio si trova nella struttura ed a volte può capire che delle importanti riunioni di lavoro si protraggano fino a tarda sera.
Altro punto che vorrei trattare è il tram che è vero che passa sotto la struttura e può essere un piccolo fastidio come le ambulanze dell'ospedale di fronte ma del resto questa è una cosa normale quando ci si trova al centro di una grande città e tutta via quando necessitiamo di tutti questi servizi non li riteniamo piu cosi sgradevoli.
Voglio inoltre sottolineare l'abbondanza e la qualità della colazione da noi offerta, moltissimi ospiti hanno pubblicato foto dove si vede chiaramente tutto il buffet che offriamo e la disponibilità all'uso della cucina in qualunque momento della giornata dando libero accesso alla macchina del caffè alle miscele di the sempre disponibili agli snack il tutto senza alcun costo aggiuntivo.
spero possiate essere di nuovo nostri graditi ospiti quanto meno per dimostrarvi la qualità dei nostri servizi.
a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in this apartment for 4 nights, we booked it with breakfast. The two host Piera and Francesca were very nice and helpful! The room we had was big and clean, the bed was also comfortable. The "must see" things of Rome are in a walking distance, the bus "H" from Termini Train station stops two steps from the house. Or Trastevere train station is just few minutes by tram. Trastevere's restaurants and bars are just around the corner! I can recomend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piera R, Owner at Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Dear Guests,

thanks for your comment.

We are happy to hear your holiday was amazing.

We wish you could come back and visit us in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prenzlauer Berg, Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This B&B was in a lovely apartment building in the centre of Trastevere, just a stones throw away from the best restaurants in Rome and within walking distance of the main sights, too! And the staff were friendly. For the amount you pay it is great.
However it is extremely noisy! Every time the tram goes by the whole room shakes (and we were staying in a room that was facing away from the main road) and every time someone flushes the toilet or uses the shower anywhere in the apartment building you can hear the water rushing through the pipes. If you're a light sleeper I wouldn't recommend this place, however after walking the streets of Rome for hours every day you should be so tired that the noise doesn't bother you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRMCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piera R, Guest Relations Manager at Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Google Translation
cari Ospiti
grazie per il vostro utile commento, ogni vostra "critica" è sempre ben accetta il nostro obbiettivo è quello di migliore il nostro servizio per poter regalare ad ogni ospite la vacanza che sogna e tutto questo sarà possibile anche grazie ai vostri preziosi consigli.
grazie per essere stati con noi
a presto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nobody there to let us in when we arrived which was extremely frustrating after a one flight. Got in contact with the owner who said she marked us down as a "no show" because we didn't contact her to let her know the time we were arriving...she said she emailed me twice but I had nothing in my inbox. Turns out they went to my junk mail. Be aware that on off season it seems that breakfast isn't included, even though it clearly states on booking.com that breakfast is served daily. There seems to be people permanently in the B&B during off season - perhaps family members, but they seemed to come home at all hours of the night and it was disturbing to our sleep. The B&B is in an apartment building on a very busy street and ABOVE AN UNDERGROUND TRAIN LINE! Very noisy / shaky at times! We didn't stay in the room much as we are out most of the day but when we were there it was noisy. Especially in the morning. Staff aren't there all of the time & beds are not made up every day & towels are changed EVERY THREE DAYS..... The place was in a decent enough location and clean enough but strange set up. We did contest the fact that our booking confirmation suggested that breakfast was included and discussed the fact that nobody was there when we arrived to let us in and we were given a free breakfast token for day #1.... Breakfast was a coffee & a croissant at a cafe down the road which I thought was strange since it is a B&B and clearly stated on a leaflet inside the room that "breakfast is served daily from 8:30am - 10:30am. We were told that breakfast costs an additional €6 per person if we wanted it on the other days.

Room Tip: We had a room with a shared bathroom and never had to wait for the bathroom which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jade_064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piera R, Direttore at Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello, i m sorry for all but i need to be onest and you Too.
You found no one because you are arrived very very late and you didn t advise us.
Is clearly written on the voucher and bookin.com BREAKFAST NOT INCLUDED and we Give you a gift but we didn t wrong nothing!
Your credit car was not valid so i could cancel your reservation and no One said nothing about this in the night you did a lot of confusion for the others guest!
And for the last Who will pay for the broken wc?????
I don t know but is sure that now i have a bad review and 1 broken bath!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had booked a double room with ensuite via booking.com but upon arrival were taken to another building around the corner where we had a whole groundfloor appartment with a huge courtyard to ourselves. There is a soup kitchen for the poor in an adjacent building but this did not affect us in any way. The appartment was spacious, with a newly renovated kitchen (never used, sticker still on the range hood), new lounge suite and lovely bedroom. We also had free wifi. The ladies running this place were very friendly and tried their best to assist when there was no hot water. This was fixed a few hours later. The whole set-up did not seem a 100% professional (someone else's coffee, sugar and biscuits in the pantry, coffee filters but no perculator, two large thermoses but only a small plug-in kettle, no bottle opener-we bought one and left it there, no one came to clean or make the room during our stay). However, we really enjoyed the unexpected privacy and all the space we had. The hosts were contactable by email or text message. The area is great, there are lovely restaurants nearby, and we walked to all the sights in Rome. Getting there from the airport was easy using public transport. We really enjoyed our three days there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piera R, Owner at Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Dear Guests,

thanks for your comment.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We apologize if something went wrong, but we try to improve our service every day. We always are available and we are ready to satisfy our guests' requests.

Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

First of all, I must admit that I spent only one night in Dulcis In Fundo, which makes my experience rather limited.
During our previous visit to Rome we were staying in Termini area, so for this trip we wanted to book a hotel in a nice neighbourhood. Prices in Rome hotels located in city centre a rather high in summer, in that scenario the prices in this B&B seemed very attractive.
We were expecting to arrive in the B&B after midnight, so I let the staff know about this fact for more than 2 weeks before arrival. You have to know that for any uncoordinated check-in, or for check-on with delay equal or more than 1 hour there is a fine in the amount of € 25.00. Anyway, we negotiated time of my arrival 4 times - in my booking request, in my first warn and the feedback, then I was asked about my arrival for the 2d time by another person, and finally upon our arrival the lady in the B&B thought that we had had to come at 10 PM (when in our correspondence I clearly indicated that we'd come after midnight to the B&B, as our flight would arrive at 10 PM). Fortunately, I explained that and we did not pay any sanctions. That's it for the administrative part.
As I already mentioned, the location is very nice. It's situated in the part of Trastevere from each you can easily walk to the very city centre in 15-20 min. As well as Trastevere itself is very beautiful and romantic.
The room was very clean and well-decorated. Can't say the room was too big or too small, just normal:) I also enjoyed the spacious bathroom which looked great.
But it was rather hot there. The lady which met us told that she let some air in by opening windows prior to our arrival. It helped a little, but all in all it was stuffy while according to our booking info the room had to be air-conditioned.
Breakfast was included in the price - tea or coffe with a nice pastry.
In a general way, my expereince was ambiguous, may be you'lle have a better one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank R0zaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piera R, Proprietario at Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Google Translation
cara ospite
l'importo richieste nelle e-mail è solo un avviso e riguarda quegli ospiti che non hanno rispetto per il lavoro altrui e quindi non comunicano l'orario di arrivo o arrivano a notte fonda pretendendo che noi siamo li svegli ad aspettarli da ore!
ovviamente questo non è stato il suo caso e le e mail che ha ricevuto sono generate da un sistema automatico che ne invia almeno 4 prima dell'arrivo perche come gia detto non tutti hanno la premura di avvisarci sull'orario di arrivo che è per noi fondamentale non essendo un hotel con recepiton 24h....
spero possa soggiornare da noi per un periodo piu lungo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#477 of 1,259 in Rome
258 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#487 of 1,259 in Rome
167 reviews
Trastevere
Tamara's Suites
Tamara's Suites
#1,482 of 3,669 in Rome
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Nina Casetta De Trastevere
Nina Casetta De Trastevere
#1,245 of 3,669 in Rome
60 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Ventisei Scalini a Trastevere
Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
WRH Trastevere
#215 of 3,669 in Rome
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere

Property: Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere
Address: Viale di Trastevere 141, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,848 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dulcis In Fundo - Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing