We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Ranked #161 of 1,169 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Even if it's very close to Roma Termini, the double bedroom has the price of a hotel, but the quality of a hostel. I don't mind hostels, but when I use them I expect to be charged accordingly. There have to be better options in Rome, even in that area.

The bedroom was so tiny there was hardly space to put our suitcase. Everything seemed broken and not very clean.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank TikisPedias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here five nights, and I quite enjoyed it. It's quite big, especially my room, even though there was no bathroom attached. My only complaint would be the bathrooms - they weren't the cleanest and there was only two shared between my four bed dorm and the six bed dorm next to me. There's an elevator, but the stuff doesn't really like you using it so it didn't do me much good when I had to trek up to the fourth floor everytime. The staff was nice and helpful, and the all you can eat pasta for 5 euro was great, as well as the free pizza night that I had on the Tuesday. The breakfast was ok, just a pastry and some coffee from a machine, but I can't really complain since it was free. The location wasnt bad either, just a few blocks from termini station, which was useful. All in all, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancity2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Its an ok hostel. Not too clean but wouldn't say dirty. Rooms were ok. The air conditioning was frigid! When you put it on 16 celcius, it gets 16 celcius lol. Much better a/c then other places. Plus, when we couldn't find the place the receptionist came to where we we're to guide us to the hostel. A+ service.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schildt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I had read reviews before I went saying that the hostel is hard to find! This is not the case it was literally a 3 minute walk from the central station! Our room was a private room so we in a different building which was really quiet and has excellent wifi and computer access! The rooms were nothing special but were comfortable and the bed was made everyday! The hostel ran free pizza and wine nights twice a week which were fantastic as you could meet people and have a chat!! Across the road was a pizzeria which offered unlimited spaghetti which was advertised in the hostel and we met lots of people there!! Breakfast was also free! I would 100% recommend this hostel! The location from all the sites was only a 15 minute walk away! Just perfect! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This place has cool vibes, a young/worldly clientele, and amazing staff. The room was not the cleanest or largest - nothing fancy. Shared bathroom was just fine. Good location about 15 minute easy walk to the Colleseum. Would probably return. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We arrived and had to wait for the lady at the desk to leave to do god know what. She gave us 5 keys for the room. We had a private room with huge stains on the comforter and the bed was disgusting. We left the next day quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was a fantastic find for the three of us who stayed in a triple room. (which actually had room for four!)
The quality of the facilities was as expected for the low price tag i.e not spectacular but this was more than made up for by the friendly staff. They were so helpful in planning our days out and even hosted free pizza nights.
The included breakfasts are also a big money saving perk.
Fab location and would definitely recommend it to any travellers out there who are looking for a good time on a budget and don't mind a wobbly toilet seat.

Room Tip: We had a private triple room but did see the communal rooms and they looked great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cr0wers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Melting Pot Rome
Melting Pot Rome
#102 of 1,169 in Rome
74 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#76 of 1,169 in Rome
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Roman Holidays Hostel
Roman Holidays Hostel
#74 of 1,169 in Rome
92 reviews
Esquilino
Palladini Hostel Rome
Palladini Hostel Rome
#53 of 1,169 in Rome
1,091 reviews
Esquilino
Legends Hostel
Legends Hostel
#312 of 1,169 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Traveller Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Traveller Hostel

Address: Via Gaeta 25, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 1,169 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £23 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Freedom Traveller Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Traveller Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing