We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Traveller Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Ranked #157 of 1,066 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, first in a dorm and then in a twin bed room which was a lot nicer. The dorm was ok but did have some issues including a toilet breakdown which meant having to use an alternate toilet outside the room.

On the upside, it's a great location near Termini Station and all of the staff working there were really helpful and very friendly, taking time to explain and offering suggestions like the great gelato shop nearby. Also they put on free snacks and wine at the start of each evening. Be warned, if the wine keeps flowing you may not leave for dinner, met heaps of other travellers over the wines and despite some of the building's issues, would highly recommend this place to have a good time in Rome.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry2004_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    87
    61
    30
    24
See reviews for
9
42
84
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Went here when we had a layover in Rome for a night. The reception staff were very nice and helpful. That being said, the air conditioning did not work and while they promised to fix it they did not. The bathroom was also very dirty and we avoided using it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was here last year - cozy hostel with good location. And now was nice to see some changes - kitchen in other room, garden - more beautiful. In one of the nights, the owner of the hostel had arranged a nice party with pizza and wine, we sat and talked perfectly in the internal garden, it was nice.
I like this place because of very helpful staff. Thanx guys!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneTgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel was interesting in that it looks like an apartment building from the outside and it takes many sets of doors before getting to reception. Most staff were friendly except for one man who almost didn't want to give me a second map ... made a big deal out of it. The room itself is decent, but has an old-wood kind of smell... and air smelled musty? Bathrooms were alright though the key hole was really old so I was stuck inside a couple times.. .struggling with the key.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hostel was perfect! Despite having to switch rooms my second of three nights, the staff was helpful and accommodating. There was a place to store my luggage until I could get into the other room! Breakfast was not fantastic but it was decent! I really enjoyed staying here! The only downfall was the wait for the toilets in the morning to get ready.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the Freedom Traveller for two nights. We found the staff there to be extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and very secure (we'd purchased a four person ensuite private). The internet worked well in our room. The location of the hotel is perfect as well - we were able to walk to everything. The breakfast was a little lacking, but if you're willing to pay a few extra euros or packed a granola bar, it's definitely not a deal breaker. The mattresses were not great at all, but what can you expect? Would still highly recommend the Freedom Traveller and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital Federal District, Argentina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The price couldn't be better. For less than 20 Euros per night you can stay in a decent, clean place that is very well located. Breakfast included, which is a plus (Italian style, though). There are power plugs next to every bed, so you can charge all of your devices. The only bad thing is that they don't have a computer to print things, just a tablet, and me and some other people couldn't print pur boarding passes, although that is not really a huge issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meliviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Legends Hostel
Legends Hostel
#200 of 1,066 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#44 of 1,066 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#20 of 1,066 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Roman Holidays Hostel
Roman Holidays Hostel
#87 of 1,066 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Esquilino
Ciak Hostel
Ciak Hostel
#179 of 1,066 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Traveller Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Traveller Hostel

Property: Freedom Traveller Hostel
Address: Via Gaeta 25, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,066 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Freedom Traveller Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Traveller Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing