We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatastic Trip to Rome”
Review of Antiqua Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antiqua Roma
Ranked #1,137 of 3,622 Rome B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fanatastic Trip to Rome”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just returned from a 4 day visit staying at the Antiqua Roma- it was ideal for what we wanted. It was clean, spacious and ideally located for all the main sites of Rome. Enrico was welcoming and as we left each morning, checked that everything was fine for us. There is no breakfast and it is within a quiet lovely apartment block so do not expect hotel style accommodation. However it was perfect for us as once we left in the morning we did not return till after dinner. We slept wonderfully in the en suite room- so much so its made us want to change our own bed! The only thing we would ask the owner to consider is either a small fridge in the room or access to one.Some well deserved chilled wine would have been wonderful to have when we got back or keep fuit/yoghurt.
We flew with Ryanair and bought our return shuttle bus tickets on the plane for 1 euro cheaper. Its a bit chaotic when you come onto the concourse but queue for Bus 2. When we got to the bus / train station we opted to take the Bus(70) (opposite Macdonalds) but had to wait a while for this. In hindsight we would have been better taking the Metro underground which is what we did on the way back.We were going to buy day bus tickets to get around Rome but we actually ended up walking everywhere. The Antiqua Roma is no more than 35 minutes from the Colisseum which is the furthest away landmark.. Be careful of the " Skip the Queue" folk who charge 20 euros on top of your entry fee for the Vatican and the Colisseum. At the latter they kept telling us the main queue was at least 1 hr wait. We took a chance and got straight through in 25 min.It costs 12 euros each and this is for the gardens and Old Roman town opposite. We did not go for the guided tour mainly because we could read for ourselves and go at our own pace.It was very warm and we could see many flagging as they stood listening with earsets on. Good tip- keep your water bottle with you as there are loads of water fountains across the city. You can enjoy crisp cold water for nothing.Indeed eating out is as expensive as you want it to be. There are many little pizza bars where you can have pizza and beer for less than 10 euros for two. Try the " Forno" bakery/deli- Go across the bridge at Castel Sant Angelo, cross the road and walk straight ahead and its on the right. There are loads of restaurants offering reasonably priced menus. We ate out for less than what we would pay in Leeds.Do try the Irish Abbey Theatre bar just off Piazza Nevana. Its got a warm cosy atmosphere and they are very hospitable.All in all we had a wonderful trip to this fabulous city and would recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Do ask for the en suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    37
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
85
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is actually a flat (apartment) with rooms to let. It's in a quiet area between Piazza Cavour and the river Tiber (Tevere), very convenient for the historic centre of the city and a lot of the main sites. There are buses to the Termini station and city centre, and the the Vatican area. An airport shuttle run from Piazza Cavour 300m away. We had a quiet and cool, large room with sink, sofa, desk and wifi. A modern 4 poster bed - very comfortable. While not en suite, we had exclusive use of the bathroom.
Enrico the host is welcoming and extremely helpful and thoughtful. He isn't on site.
The flat is on second floor, accessible via an antique lift (some steps up to where it starts on the ground floor).
It's not exactly cheap, but then Rome isn't, so unless you want full hotel facilities this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I Can only recommend this little B&B! In walking distance of everything, a peaceful area, nice restaurants around the corner.. and The owner - Enrico - is so helpful!
One of the best features is that the hotel is right next to the piazza where the airport bus stops (only two stops in Rome) - cost 6 euro one way. The only negative thing to say is that they don't serve breakfast at the B&B...

Remember to ask for a room with a balcony...

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great guy in Enrico - great touches like maps and guides in the exit hallway for you to use at your leisure and lollies to take and the location was perfect - 5-10 minutes walk to the Vatican, 30 minutes to Colliseum and restauarants less than 5 minutes away. Bed was soft ( I hate hard beds) and room spacious. Couldn't fault our stay in any way and will use it again. Totally 100% wonderful place to stay in the heart of Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
402 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Antiqua Roma is located in a very upscale part of the city. Enrico sent us details about which buses went from Termini train station to the hotel---a huge savings over taxicabs. And that knowledge helped us get around Rome economically during our entire stay. There's a coffee shop downstairs, where we had breakfast most mornings. And there are plenty of good restaurants nearby for dining in the evening. Our room was very spacious and clean. And the hosts welcomed us with a bottle of wine. Such nice people and great location are very hard to come by indeed. Thanks, Enrico, for an amazing visit to Rome!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffy_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Really friendly and helpful owner, good bed, tidy and cosy little hotel, excellent location and lovely Rome. Everything was perfect. We were really satisfied. Thank you, Enrico. We will warmly recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#352 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Prati
Angel Hotel
Angel Hotel
#919 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Prati
Atlantis Inn Roma
Atlantis Inn Roma
#712 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Ara Pacis Inn
Ara Pacis Inn
#524 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Prati
Residenza Roma
Residenza Roma
#714 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Prati
Alangia' Inn
Alangia' Inn
#1,348 of 3,622 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiqua Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiqua Roma

Property: Antiqua Roma
Address: Via Marianna Dionigi 17, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,137 of 3,622 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and comfortable accommodation located in a strategic position in the heart of the city, walking distance to all the most important monuments (S. Peter, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna , Pantheon) restaurants, elegant shops, banks and theatres. The rooms are elegant and attractive individually designed, with or without private bathroom, are decorated with a mix of antique and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Antiqua Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiqua Roma Rome
Antiqua Roma Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing