We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half the price of a better hotel”
Review of Viennese Due B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viennese Due B&B
Ranked #3,156 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed 3 days but earlier my partner and her daughter had stayed there 3 days in August. I see most of the reviews are negative. I admit my first impressions were bad because the room was small, bathroom cramped, electric wiring scary looking (but worked perfectly). However, we checked in around 11 PM without problems so their reception is open even if you need to wake them up sometimes. They fixed the internet problem within 24 hours.

For breakfast they give you a voucher for a drink and croissant around the corner at a little café that turns out to be a bargain if you want to buy a beer at near grocery store prices and sit outside to people watch. You can substitute other choices for coffee and the croissant.

What this place has going for it is the location. Termini (the crossroads for Rome's two metro lines) is right opposite the hotel. Most busses start at Termini. You can even walk to a lot of tourist attractions but you save time by buying a one-day Roma travel pass for 6 euros that seems to work on everything.

The problem is that these building across from Termini are a rabbit warren of small hotels, many of which have more serious problems than this one eg elevators not working, reception unattended. We could leave our bags at the reception at Viennese Due on our last day and collect them at 6PM where I would hesitate to do that with some of the cheaper alternatives. Currently this hotel charges 100 euros/night plus the mandatory 2 euro tourist tax. We looked at better hotels in the same location but they start at 190 euros and goo as high as 600+/night.

If you are familiar with Rome a better option would be to find a hotel near one of the outer metro stations and use the Roma pass. If this is your first trip to Rome this hotel is a sensible choice.

Room Tip: The wifi is free but check your reception because if its poor they have an alternative connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

HORRIBLE, very, very small,for families there was no space for luggage at least, the musty smell in the room, the toilet was broken , the card machine did not work for payment
Also, they charge 5% for payment by credit card. Is in a very old building which have several hotels within. In own building has much better hotels.
The breakfast is good, but it is a restaurant near the end of the street. The Hotel location is very good next to the Termini railway station. The hotel is in 4th floor there²s no sign about that .

Room Tip: In the same building i found a good hotel , Domus Aurora
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabry109, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Viennese Due B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014
Google Translation

Gentile signor Luis dal Brazil,,ci scusiamo per averla delusa ,ma lei avendo prenotato 1 camera in offerta speciale per 5 persone ad Euro 100,00 nel mese di settembre che a Roma questo periodo è di alta stagione,le abbiamo inviato chiaramente che se pagava in carta il prezzo delle commissioni erano a suo carico,visto per altro che desiderava stare più largo,le consiglio la prossima volta di prenotare 1 camera doppia + 1 camera tripla oppure 1 camera singola e 2 doppie oppure 5 camere singole,vedrà che poi alla fine sarà solo un problema di quanto andrà a spendere,sicuramente molto ma molto di più.
A tal proposito desideravamo fare un paragone al suo malcontento è facile affittare 1 macchina 500 che va benissimo per 1 o 2 persone se poi i passeggeri saranno in 5 e magari anche grossi è normale che il confort si perde e tutti i difetti dell’auto verranno fuori,bagagli,rumorosità ,temperature etc etc ,quindi per coloro che desiderano prenotarci le camere da 4/5 sia chiaro che gli spazzi sono al limite e se avete anche molti bagagli vi conviene affittare 2 stanze,altrimenti vi arrangiate come fanno la maggior parte dei nostri clienti
Distinti saluti
Fabrizio Petruccioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Sydney, Australia
590331
Reviewed 17 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Some of the worst costumer service I have ever experienced. Advertised 24-hour reception however I rarely saw anyone at the desk and often had to wait hours before problems with the room (and there were plenty of these) were addressed.

On some websites there is a list of “amenities” that this hotel offer which include: laundry, breakfast, airport shuttle, and restaurant. ALL of these are down the street and, except for the breakfast, have no affiliation with the hotel and you will receive no discount at them.

Even though they claim to accept credit cards and when you check in they say nothing of it, they mention when you check out and pay that there is a 5% extra charge for using a card. They then point to a small sign hidden behind a plant that says that. Very shady business dealings all around.

And the room… I stayed here with two friends however we basically got a large single room with a king sized bed that separated (only a couple feet because the room was too small) and another smaller bunk thrown into the room at the last minute. It was incredibly uncomfortable so we asked them to move to a bigger room, which they did eventually. The room that they moved us to was sllliiiiggghhhtttlllyy bigger, when we looked on the website we realized the new room was advertized as a “double.” So somehow in their mind a “triple” is actually smaller than a “double.”

Please, please do not book a room here.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The location is really the only reason to stay at this hotel. The rooms themselves aren't bad, though they are small, but the bathrooms were bad. The bathrooms were among the smallest I have ever been in, and were very moldy. Every time I bumped into the bathroom wall, which will happen frequently in a bathroom this small, I felt disgusting. The view from our room was not good either.

The service was the worst part of the hotel. As some have said, the younger guy with the longer hair is extremely friendly and helpful, but the woman we dealt with was awful. We went to the office to check out before heading to the airport to leave Italy, however it's a miracle we caught our flight.

The woman at this hotel claimed her credit card machine ran out of paper when we attempted to pay. We explained that we did not have any cash left as we were leaving the continent soon and had purposefully spent all of our Euros. The signs on the door 4 feet behind us indicated that this hotel accepts credit cards, and we politelty explained that we had a flight to catch, but we were only met with rudeness. The woman said that if we were in such a big hurry, we should have either paid the day before (who does that?) or just pay with cash now (after we explained we only had credit cards). She got frustrated with us and left us at the desk for over 20 minutes, and eventually the young guy with the long hair came with paper and took care of us. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We did not get the room we reserved. We did switch, but still very small. Lina, on the staff, was
extremely difficult. She did not feel the need to honor our reservation because the rates had
increased...I thought that was what a reservation was for. We got the run-around but the young
man on staff (with the longish hair) was helpful. The location was great, but we did not
stay in the hotel we reserved. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squirrely9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I liked this small hotel. it is easy to get from Termini station. Really good service. cosy rooms. I would advise my friends to come here. You can come on roof and have a good view of some Rome. Большое спасибо Станиславу за его работу!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maximbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,139 of 1,271 in Rome
243 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#168 of 1,271 in Rome
422 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,925 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#230 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viennese Due B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viennese Due B&B

Address: Via Milazzo 3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,156 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £34 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Viennese Due B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viennese Due is situated only a few meters away from Central Station Roma Termini where you can easily reach both the 'Air Terminal' Leonardo da Vinci and the Ciampino Airport Terminal - Terravision, the two subway lines (A and B) also allows a fast connection to reach all points of interest in the city. Our structure is recommended for all those people who, while wanting to save money, do not want to give away good services. We also offer special rates for family rooms for 3 - 4 - 5 people from 60 to 90 euro per room with private bathroom. During your stay in our hotel we offer the possibility to all our guests to have lunch or dinner at a special price thanks to the agreement that our hotel have with the well known Restaurant Mino, with costs from 9.00 euros to 14.00 euros per person All our services included in the cost of the room , give to our structure rated as 1 star quality characteristics significantly exceeding expectations. The wi-fi internet access is free and unlimited in every room and common areas. Each room is equipped with a personal computer with web cam and free unlimited internet access. All our rooms are equipped with both ceiling fans and air condition. If you are wondering, why our hotel has been classified as a single star, it means that you have become, or soon will be our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viennese Due B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viennese Due Bed And Breakfast
Viennese Due Hotel Rome
Viennese Due Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing