We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Storbyhotel”
Review of Hotel Baltic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baltic
Ranked #1,077 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Storbyhotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is what it is.. a small hotel located in Rome close to metro and buses, and if you're up for it then walk,, within 15 minutes your close to all the famouse places.
But the hotel is close to a very noisy street, the breakfast is boring, we spent money on cheese just to get something close to continental breakfast. And worst after walking around in sunny rome it would be nice to take a shower, but there were no hot water in the shover :(

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zowie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    92
    115
    70
    67
See reviews for
48
148
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I use to go this Hotel quite often because I work close by to this Hotel, Comparing the price with the quality is simply GREAT!
The people that works there are very friendly and always available to satisfy your requests.
I would definetely suggest this Hotel to young couples ore business man.
Just close to all major attractions, 10 to 20 minutes walking.
There are some good restaurants in the area

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel Baltic is not the finest accommodation you're expecting to find, but it is very well positioned, you can walk to the city centre. Plus, the best thing for me was the sound of the coffee machine in the morning. That is the best morning alarm. And even if it is not the best hotel I've ever seen, there is a particular atmosphere that reminds you every second that you are in Rome and you are welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruxandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. My partner and I likened it to a lower end youth hostel. The room was filthy. We arrived and our room had two seperate single beds in. We asked for them to be moved together. After our fourth night we gave up trying as they never changed the beds. Each night in Rome the weather was very hot. We asked for the air conditioning to be turned on and were told "yes it will be turned on". Obviously these people had no intention of ever turning it on as they never did but were quite happy to continually lie to us and tell us it was being looked at.
When we tried to sleep at night it was far too hot with the windows shut so we had to open them and put up with extremely busy traffic ALL NIGHT. We also had mosquitos coming into the room biting us.
The whole room smelt like cigarette, shower doors would not shut, bathroom flithy. Cleaners did pathertic job, were happy to take soaps but did not replace them.
Our TV would not work. When we called reception we got nowhere so we physically went to reception to tell them. We got given two lots of batteries for the remotes and were told to 'fix it ourselves'.
There are no power outlets to charge phones/batteries.
The breakfast is a joke, it is a couple of crappy breadrolls and you are lucky to get a coffee.
After two nights of this hell we went and stayed in a beautiful hotel next door "hotel Philosophy" and were treated like kings and queens.
DO NOT STAY AT THE BALTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: No AC, very noisy and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have spent in the hotel 4 nights during last September.
The room was the smalest one that we ever been, but it held every necessary equipment.
The staff (Rafael especcially) was very friendly and always was ready to assist.
The shampoo was left from previous guests and during 5 days no additional shampoo was added, no soap as well. What was there from the first day - was till we left. Of course we could ask, but we managed without it.
The location is good enough - 10 minutes to the Metropolitana. Nearest station is Piaza de Republica. There are several bars and good restaurants just nearby.
Breakfast - continental, but very poor. Nevertheless - is enough to start the day.
To submit all in all: good enough for being several days.

Room Tip: No special tips, since we did not have a chanse to see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vova l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Arriving late morning on Friday after going up to the 3rd floor in the smallest lift i have ever been in , we were welcomed by a nice man who already had our room ready so we checked in to a twin room with bearly any room to move but it was clean and had a decent bathroom and a fridge and safe. plenty of wardrobe space.
Beds were comfortable
Breakfast was rolls , juice , tea or coffee efficiently served in a part of the reception . also very small.
As we only slept and had breakfast for 3 nights it was perfectly adiquate. Fairly easy walking distance to most places . On our last day we left our bags in the room and picked them up later .

What more could you want from a budget hotel ?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Baltic Sucks, rooms are filthy, bathroom shower is 2x2 a person just can stand in there,
Room service - hmmm what room service, they did not change the bed sheets for all three days we were there, no additional soaps each day, if you need additional soap you need to go to the main office which is in an adjacent building, dont even think of having a break-fast there, the servers where eating and serving at the same time right in fron of us, A/C does not work so you have to have the windows open and its to loud outside for you to sleep.

Staff is way too cheap, our room TV did not work for three days and they just gave same answere all three days that it works follow the instructions, TV had 8 buttons in total, how can someone go wrong on instructions.

Basically it sucks to be there but we paid in advance so we had to be there for 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miki6878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#864 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#443 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Sallustio
Hotel Sallustio
#1,020 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Giotto Flavia
Hotel Giotto Flavia
#1,049 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Hotel Augustus
#872 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Parker
Hotel Parker
#608 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltic

Property: Hotel Baltic
Address: Via Venti Settembre 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,077 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baltic 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baltic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing