We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect central location”
Review of Hotel Baltic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Baltic
Ranked #1,109 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 19 October 2010

we have just returnd home from having a fab long weekend break in rome, we had read reviews and werent sure what wed find at the hotel, but to our delight we found the hotel ideal and clean, the staff were very friendly and jolly, the hotel was ideal for its location, just a few yards down the road and turn left you were all of a sudden at the piazza della repubblica, a lot closer than we expected!, here we bought two day tickets for the open topped buses to hop on and hop of at any siteseeing spots at our own leisure and time, if you carry on just a little further down xx settebre to the via della quattro fontanes ( the four fountains) and turn right a few yards down you are at Barberini , you can also get the number 40 bus at termini bus station ( which is right next to the della repubblica ) to the vatican, and yes we will return to the hotel baltic as we have had a fab time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baltic
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

Booked this hotel for 2 nights. Though this hotel was conveniently located, the hotel had two seperate entrances which was kind of annoying becuase intuitively like all travelers we carried all our luggage to the 3rd floor of the first building where the reception desk is located ( w/o any luck of using the rickety elevator or any help from the bell desk as there isnt any). We were given a room in the other building so had to carry all our luggage to the othe part again without the help of any elevators/bell desk. The rooms in the other building were the smallest rooms one can think of with poor air conditioning facilities. We could not open the windows as the street was very very noisy. We must have called the reception desk at least 20 times but it was of no help. Also there is interent facilty only in the reception desk which the hotel is very miser about as they give you only 10-15 minutes access. The breakfast is surprisingly pretty good. Got upgraded to a new room in the main building the next day. The AC worked but the drains were clogged so could not take a shower. Overall a horrible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsterBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I'm not a picky person, but I have standards. Standards of which this hotel doesn't even come close to meeting. There is a reason why this hotel is 2* and it will stay that way for a very long time. The website is filled with erroneous information, this hotel is NOT a simple walk away from Roma Termini. This is a major untruth! We took the metro to Castro Pretorio and we still had to walk 12 minutes to arrive at the hotel. The hotel shares the building with other offices on the ground floor. The hotel occupies the 1st to 5th floors of the building. The elevator was the first sign of many depressing things to come. This elevator was straight out of the 1940's. Controlled by weights, and no luggage is allowed inside. Reception is a small squeezed up area next to the dining area which was composed of 4 tables and 10 chairs. On arrival into the room, it was a double bed, when we specifically asked for a twin room. They sent someone an hour after to make the change. Their idea of a double bed is pushing two beds together with one sheet. The door to the balcony didn't close properly so we had to guard our valuables when we left. The safe didn't work either. The television never worked and reception seemed to have no clue how to get it to work. There is wireless internet available in the reception area, and I was told by the manager it can only be accessed between 1200hrs and 2100hrs. This I found to be quite absurd. I came in one evening at 2045hrs, and I went to reception to use the internet, and just after 9pm, the manager turned off the wireless router without asking me if I was finished. I have NEVER been to a hotel in my life, where this has happened. The elevator broke down with me in in one night as well, and it took me jumping up and down for 20 minutes to get it working again. The breakfast to my surprise was EXCELLENT. This is the only good thing I can comment on at this property. Next time I visit Rome, I will look into some other nicer places that are actually close to Termini, and not just state it on their website to scoop business.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BGIWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We were a couple.Arrived at about 24:00. We met Rafael, very nice receptionist who greated us and helped us with a map, key and every thing we needed.The room was big (I was pretty surprised considering what I have read and heard about the 2 star hotels in Rome), plenty of space. (we asked for a new,renovated room when we made the reservations. still I didn't believe we will get one). The bathroom was a bit strange, still it served it's purpouse. We got the room made every day with new towels and toilet paper. The room window was facing a backyard but it didn't bother us much. It gave us quiet and not the noise of the street.
The hotel is a bit far from all the main sites by walking. But if you use the Metro, you get there in 5 min.
Still, we found about 5 restaurants nearby to eat and a big supermarket with resonable prices.
We enjoyed our stay. Definetly will be back.
(Ask for Rafael :-) )

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anommis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

good price and decent location. The rooms in this hotel are the smallest i've ever seen. More like a closet than a room really. Staff was friendly and complimentary breakfast was good. would'nt really recommend this hotel, but if you do stay here get the upgraded rooms in the renovated part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaronharnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Booked 4 nights here for 450 euros. The room had no toilet, had to share with 4 other rooms. This was not clear in when booking. Reserved a double bed but got two twin beds shoved together. Wi-fi was only available in lobby area (not in rooms) and they get mad if you use it during breakfast hours. Night clerk was locking the lobby at 1 am and not allowing us to use the area for internet even though we were told it would be available 24 hours a day. Noisy at night, paper thin walls, service was rude. Only thing good was the location. Steer clear!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The location of the Baltic was decent - we were within 2 blocks from many restaurants (keep in mind most close during that mid-afternoon break). It's a good walk from the train station, but that's a major hub which was convenient. The lobby of the Baltic, same as where you have breakfast, was small - and in order to use wireless, you have to use your laptop there. We were surprised to have to go outside the building and around the corner to reach the separate entrance to our room. Inside the room however, was pretty nice - cozy and the bathroom was clean. It was a nice hotel to end with our European vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littledoo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#804 of 1,267 in Rome
212 reviews
Scheppers Hotel
#1,037 of 1,267 in Rome
263 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Sallustio
Hotel Sallustio
#990 of 1,267 in Rome
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#992 of 1,267 in Rome
335 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Priscilla Hotel
Priscilla Hotel
#1,063 of 1,267 in Rome
493 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#768 of 1,267 in Rome
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baltic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltic

Address: Via Venti Settembre 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,109 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baltic 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baltic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing