We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They do so much well....BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Ranked #231 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This review is being written just before we leave so we don't forget anything and we shall be QUITE sorry to leave (after a 1 week stay) but sadly, not VERY! Before arriving we e-mailed ahead to confirm that our Lastmunite.com booking had been recognised and we HAD got a room...after 8 hours of travelling we arrived in the 33degC heat to be told we HAD NOT!!!! Even this was bitter-sweet because if you ever had to receive bad news, you would want Francesca to tell you. She was charming, apologetic and created calm out of a seriously annoying situation. We were shipped out to Grand Hotel Fleming (see separate review) and shipped back (at no cost to us other than time) the following day...so now our 7 day stay had become a 6-day, two-centre one! On our first night in this hotel the air-conditioning started to drip into the room at 5.00AM (!) which worried us a bit but it was fixed immediately and was no further trouble. Our visit was both to see Rome and to see a close friend get married, so other friends joined us and we ate in on the first night; this WAS a big disappointment! Assuming the chef was Italian it should been seen as a failure that the Spaghetti Carbonara was inedible; dried pasta had been used (surely a crime in Italy?!), not cooked fully and the sauce was so salty that beer sales shot up! Only one starter (out of 3) was available (Proscuttio ham with mozarrella) and my wife doesn't even LIKE mozzarella cheese....it came with three great big blobs of the stuff, not even sliced nicely! OK! that's the bad news out of the way, what about the good? The room was comfortable and well appointed, there was a reasonably stocked minibar and the excellent room maids looked after us well, nothing was too much trouble. In fact it is the staff (except for a chef!) who make this hotel. The names of the front of house staff should be up in lights, Alessandro, Giovanni, Katharina and Francesca, you are all stars. On the last morning I met with the management to express both the highs and lows of our stay and received an apology only and no monetary gesture for the inconvenience of "losing" a day of our holiday through overbooking, for this is what it turned out to be. In order to fit a large group in they were prepared to sacrifice the good will of an individual staying for a week, who probably wouldn't come this way again. Reading other reviews I would say this is probably a LO.AN Group thing and would not be surprised if it happened at their other hotels too. They "sweat their assets" at a cost to their reputation, overbooking rooms and keeping stocks ( of minor things like food!) low. It would be nice if their directors read this review and took note...but I doubt it! So, in short(!), DO stay here (room 108 is a nice one but the shower shield leaks like a sieve and leaves a pond for you to paddle in every morning!), make sure you don't pay more then €100 per night ( which is possible if you book well in advance) and enjoy being out of the city centre in a relatively (for Rome!) quiet suburb. Above ALL else, send an e-mail requesting confirmation NOT that they recognise your booking but that you WILL be checked into a room in THIS hotel upon arrival! Then enjoy a nice welcome from the staff and a pleasant stay; eating may be better now we've alerted the mangement but Piazza del Popolo is only a 15 minute walk away with plenty of choice. Sorry for writing so much..but you need to know!

Room Tip: You CAN hear the road but the double glazing works well, a room at the back of the hotel would be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busmantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Mr "Busmantoo",
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and to have chosen our "Donna Laura Palace" for your stay in Rome.
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our helpful and good reception staff like Francesca.
On the other hand we are sorry to read your concerns about your experience at your arrival and dining experience.
We have discussed the points you raised with our Executive Chef and as a result they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services and quality as you already did with our General Manager.
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Donna Laura Palace in future-
I remain at disposal
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the DLP! It is a beautiful hotel and everything was great! Our room was big, beautiful & clean - thank you so much! Laundry service was great too. The b'fast was delicious and lots of variety! But the staff was the best! Katerina, (sp?) receptionist at the desk when we checked in, spent time with us, describing places to go, etc.and was so helpful our whole stay. The night clerk (sorry, can't remember your name) was very helpful too! And the manager was great also! You all deserve raises!!! By the time we left (we stayed there 5 nights), we left like we made some friends in Rome! ALL the staff were very friendly, helpful and wonderful! Our thanks to all for a great stay in Rome!!! Hope to come back some day!!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, so we did hear the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Mr "BonKos"

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay at the "Donna Laura Palace"!
I was so glad you enjoyed the fantastic service we are proud to deliver. Be sure I will share your comments with our brilliant team at the hotel, especially with the reception staff. We are very much grateful for your compliments!
We are very glad to learn your appreciation about our facilities and comfort of our Hotel and that you would highly recommend our property.
We look forward to welcoming you again as soon as you'll come back in Rome.
Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Comfortable hotel, I liked everything: the room decorated in a classic style, which make you feel like home, the staff ...
I did not have in off time to use their spa, but I guess I will be back.
No complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear CorinaAB
Thank you for your very positive feedback following your recent stay with us.
I'm delighted to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, good service, relaxed ambient .
We are very much grateful for your compliments!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the "Donna Laura Palace" on your next visit to Rome!
With best regards
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was transferred to this hotel as the hotel I had booked (Villa Glori) was unavailable due to renovation works. This message arrived by e-mail ust one hour before I left so it was just-in-time.
The hotel looks veryfancy from the outside and is located in a nice area of Rome. Not too far from bus and metro stations but also on a walking distance of various hot spots of Rome.
The entrance and the welcome of the staff was a surprise. Very pleasant by all means. It really gave me the feeling they were expecting me. Well done. The room was very nice and clean (not large as usual in Rome). And, which is very uncommon for hotels in Italy) everything worked. No technical failures to be noticed. The restaurant is serving traditional Italian *Roman") food at reasonable prices. Again very friendly staff. Also the breakfast buffet in the basement was plentifull. The cappuccion I asked for was served promply by a frienldy waitress and was prepared as it should be. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear "Maarten0806",
Thank you for your kind review about your sta at the Donna Laura Palace Hotel!
All of us were delighted to hear all of your wonderful comments mentioning the facilities that make the Donna Laura Palace the right place to stay even though for an unconvenience at the Villa Glori Htl.
I have shared your comments with my whole team as you have mentioned their excellent customer service.
We are very much grateful for your compliments! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Sincerely
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Hotel in a nice suburban street , not far from metro lepanto, and about 15 mins walk to centre. Hotel nice but room was average, not too big, nice small balcony. Only 3 hangers for two of us for three nights and not much drawer space. Breakfast nothing special. Has a rooftop bar but it was closed which was fair enough when it was raining but Sunday was glorious and it wasn't open as it had to be cleaned ???? Thats why I chose this place...could have had a hotel in the centre with balcony for less euros so this was a real pity. Staff nice enough. There are nicer hotels a street off leplanto and lots of restaurants, bars, shops etc. there's nothing near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear "hapytravel",
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your recent stay!
We are glad to learn that you overall found our Hotel not bad and first of all we wish to apologize for the small inconveniences occurred while being our guests.
We have discussed the points you raised with our Executive Housekeeping and Reception desk and as a result we are confident they will be more vigilant to be sure that similar inconveniences will not be repeated in the future and they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.
Regarding prices, allow me to put on record that they are comparable with to all the Hotels in the main centre of Rome in High season .!
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Donna Laura Palace again in the future.
Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It is a small luxury hotel that feels classy yet cosy. What I appreciated the most was the extra effort being made that the bigger luxury chains have often already given up on - eg a welcome cocktail, very nice receptionist who explained how to get to the main attractions without even bein asked, nice toiletries in the rooms. Simple, but this can work magic.

The location is quite good, as it's about a 10 minute walk to Piazza del Popolo, and perhaps 15 minutes to the Vatican.

The downsides were, to begin with, slight noise issues from the street, and you coul hear people in other rooms rather well (but since I seem to find this a problem in most hotels, maybe the problem lies somewhere else :)). The air conditioning in the room didn't work, potentially disastrous if it's really hot, but I didn't try to fix it at the reception. Lastly, the breakfast was a letdown which tarnished the otherwise great experience - I came half an hour before closing time, and there was very little food left - no eggs, no fruit, etc.

All in all, lovely staff (especially at the reception and the breakfast room) and a good experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear S L,
Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback about the Donna Laura Palace.
I am very happy to know, you find our hotel suitable for a business as well as pleasure stay.
As you mentioned, it is very easy to enjoy Rome and its breathtaking monuments, with local bus or in a walking distance from the Hotel itself! We thank you for your kind words about the staff the room and the service offered during your stay with us:)
Hoping to welcome you here soon again in the future I remain at your complete disposal and send you from all our staff our
Sincerest Regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here some 8 years ago and had a bad experience so was rather worried about staying here again. However this time things worked out okay. The hotel is well located and if you are a keen walker you can walk everywhere with the furthest away place of interest being an hour walk away. Breakfast is okay but coffee is dreadful - you would think with the amount of full cups left on the tables they might have taken the hint. When I asked for a cappuccino 4 other people in the room shouted out "can I have one too please".

Bathroom selection good, with soap, shampoo/shower gel, shoe cleaner, shower cap and ear buds. Bathrooms have hairdryers and tissues. Beds are comfortable. TV has both BBC and CNN news.

Nearest metro is 800 meters away and is probably the easiest way to get to the hotel other than by taxi. There is a small supermarket on the street behind the hotel - as you leave the hotel go right and then first right and then right again

Food not worth racing back for, so if you are out suggest you eat at some of the restaurants you come across Better still eat a set lunch menu, best value by far.

Althought they have wifi there is no computer for you to use if you dont have your own laptop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear "goodtogethome"
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at "Donna Laura Palace" in Rome.
I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel considered a good value. We regret that you didn’t include our restaurant among your choices or that you considered our coffee so bad !
I would also like to thank you for the compliments made to our friendly and experienced staff, always trying to do its best to satisfy all guests needs.
Hoping to welcome you soon again here again in the future I send you my
Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#244 of 1,271 in Rome
784 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#356 of 1,271 in Rome
704 reviews
Villa Laetitia
#498 of 1,271 in Rome
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#228 of 1,271 in Rome
1,019 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#222 of 1,271 in Rome
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Laura Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Laura Palace Hotel

Address: Lungotevere delle Armi 21, 00195 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
#133 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#158 Family Hotel in Rome
#312 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £48 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donna Laura Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace," a 4 star hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar . OUR ROOMS: With its 164 rooms the Hotel has got different room types to meet all guests' needs. The welcome is assured in comfortable single, double, twin and triple rooms, and for a more comfortable stay we can offer our suites. All our room types share the same attention for details and the warmth of green and brown colours of our furniture. All rooms have toilet en-suite, are classically furnished with wooden floor or carpet and are equipped with minibar, safe, heating and air conditioning system, flat screen TV with international channels, direct telephone line, hairdryer, desk, toilet amenities. If you travel for business purposes you'll be pleased to know connection is free for our guests. SERVICES The hotel offers several services to make your stay special :  The reception desk staff is at you complete disposal 24h a day for information and assistance. Our laundry service assures your clothes will be delivered back in 24h if required by 9.00 Am. Room service available everyday from 7.00 Am to 10.00 Pm and everyday free newspapers available for our guests. Our gymnasium is open from Monday to Sunday and it's free for our guests. The parking area is available inside the hotel with an extra charge..... And if you come for business purposes, our two Conference halls can sit up to a maximum of 70 people and are equipped with all modern audio-video devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Donna Laura Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Laura Palace Rome
Hotel Donna Laura Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing