We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review and response to audrey c review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Ranked #263 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review and response to audrey c review”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great, the room exccelent and the best service ever. Very kind personel. The breakfast was the best we had at any hotel we went, a great verity. For audrey c's review i just wanted to say that the facilities are presented on their web site and about the shop it is not true, there is a Careffour on the street to the back of the hotel and a Spar just a couple of streets further. We did not eat at the hotel terrace becase we tought it was a little expensive but there is a great restaurant close by called Rosso Pomodoro. The hotel is close to the metro station Lepanto. We recomend this hotel very much to everyone that looks for a great way to stay in Rome

Helpful?
1 Thank Claudiu T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    423
    138
    42
    38
See reviews for
176
347
38
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Please note I am writing this as I am still at the hotel. I have read some of the reviews and while I respect people's opinions I am shocked as our experience has been wonderful. For starters the staff has been most accommodating. The breakfast varied and sufficient to start our day. The accommodations clean and room large enough without wasting space. We had full days so we chose to have dinner at the hotel and they have a special relatively inexpensive four course dinner that we chose to split and it was sufficient for the two of us. The hotel is centrally located to many of the sites and if willing to walk a little you can hit several sites including the Vatican. On our arrival on Saturday night Alessandro was ready for us and on Sunday by walking around we found 3 lovely restaurants where to lunch. There is a small supermarket right behind the hotel where we bought some groceries for our day trips. While the hotel is non smoking, they have smoking areas for those that choose to do so. The rooftop patio was closed due to the rain and who could blame them. Yet what made the stay most pleasant was the staff. Dinner was taken care of by 3 different young people whose recommendations where right on point and Georgia is but a pleasure to be around. The front desk was aptly managed by Alessandro and Katerina whose directions were exact and suggestions for sites, restaurants and even little indulgences as gelato were on point. Breakfast was perfect by Ilarya's efficient service. The hotel is quaint and lovely without being overly imposing. Our stay has been a relaxing we have enjoyed Rome and had a taste of Roman hospitality and we feel we made some lovely friends. We wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olimpia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked the DLP Hotel for our first trip to Rome, mainly because the hotel was a little away from the main tourist areas. Yes, you have to walk to where you want to go, but that is not bad. Rome is not that hilly! The hotel is not that far from the Metro, which we would easily and good to use.
The hotel staff, one in particular who met us on our arrival, were very friendly and helpful. As were the staff at breakfast.
We did not use the spa or restaurant facilities (except at breakfast), but probably would on a future visit. The breakfast was ideal, just the right amount of variety for everyone's tastes. Might be a good idea to go early or late for breakfast as it can be quite busy around 8:30am. The rooms (one double with balcony and one twin without) were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were spacious and clean with plenty of hot water.
Will definitely book DLP Hotel if we visit Rome again.
Remember the city tax of 3€pp/per night.

Room Tip: Double rooms with balconies overlook the front. You do get some traffic noise from the main road, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere with not a shop in sight for miles. We were in a dull, depressing room WITH NO BALCONY. We were not informed that there was a spa or gym and we had no information in regards to the facilities in the hotel whatsoever. On the one occasion we arrived back early one day, the intention was to make use of the hotel's sun terrace but we were advised that it was closed for cleaning at 2.00pm in the afternoon. The hotel has one table and 4 chairs situated in the garden at the entrance but being on a main road not the ideal place to relax!!! We decided to have dinner one evening in the roof top restaurant - worst meal we have ever had!! - 3 of us ordered grilled chicken which was inedible - one of us had what looked like the chicken's rib cage - all bone and cartilage - very little chicken and the other members of our party had what only can be described as Heinz spaghetti with blobs of cheese - which was cold - this cost over 100 euros. With no shops around we had to make use of the drinks available in the mini bar - at 4 euros for a can of coke!! On the last night we had a power cut from 9.30pm and the power did not come back on until 6.30 the following morning - no apology or explanation. We were really looking forward to this this trip but our choice of hotel ruined it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I normally stay in 5+ star accommodation. My son and I checked out Tripadvisor and Booking.com and found this hotel had good reviews. Still I was skeptical but booked the accommodations. Couldn't be more happy. Great value, super clean rooms, warm and friendly greeting and quite honestly great feeling to walk to different locations as you feel more alive and invigorated. The food at the hotel is fantastic. Can easily become part of the 5 star family hotels. All in all, it was very charming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Marina B
Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your wonderful review of your recent experience of the Donna Laura Palace
We genuinely try and make our guests' stays with us as personal and memorable as possible. We are truly glad that you have enjoyed our hotel, excellent food, service and location.
I have shared your comment with my whole team as you have mentioned their excellent service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!
It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
We hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.
With best regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We booked our holiday a bit at the last minute and when I found the DLP Hotel, I knew that this one had more to offer than the others I had seen in the same price range.
It was located in the Northern Western section of the city, right next to the river. Its location meant two things: no tourists in the vicinity but also that you had to walk to get where you wanted to go in the city.
We personally love walking and made our way easily into all the different spots: Vatican City (15 minute walk), Piazza del Popolo (10 mins) or Villa Medici and its beautiful view over Rome (15 mins).
Regarding the hotel itself: most of the staff were friendly but the person who received us seemed annoyed with our questions (a trend we noticed quite a bit in Rome), breakfast was perfectly suitable and the rooms were clean and had a nice little balcony.
Just be mindful of the city tax due at the end of your stay 3€pp/per night).

I would highly recommend this hotel and will most probably use it again for future stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Christian K,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive feedback.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice experience” at the Donna Laura Palace, and learn your appreciation about our staff, location, rooms.
Allow me to apologize for your feeling experienced like "annoying someone at the frontdesk" . Our job is first and foremost helping our guests and make them feel like at "home".
We have discussed the points you raised with our Front desk Manager and as a result we are confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services and quality. It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we hope to see you at Donna Laura Palace again in the future.
Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Very handy location, about 5 minutes from the piazza del popolo as well as the metro. If you smoke, you can on the balcony of your room. Food is good but I would suggest going out, more choice and slightly cheaper.

Helpful?
Thank PhillipWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear "PhillipWylie"
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay and to have chosen the Donna Laura Palace Hotel.
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, staff, rooms, location and overall satisfaction.
I have shared your comment with my whole team as you have mentioned their excellent service. We are very much grateful for your compliments!
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Best regards,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#295 of 1,261 in Rome
680 reviews
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#218 of 1,261 in Rome
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#222 of 1,261 in Rome
1,004 reviews
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#293 of 1,261 in Rome
696 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#146 of 1,261 in Rome
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Laura Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Laura Palace Hotel

Property: Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Address: Lungotevere delle Armi 21, 00195 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
#147 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#158 Family Hotel in Rome
#313 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Donna Laura Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace," a 4 star hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar . OUR ROOMS: With its 164 rooms the Hotel has got different room types to meet all guests' needs. The welcome is assured in comfortable single, double, twin and triple rooms, and for a more comfortable stay we can offer our suites. All our room types share the same attention for details and the warmth of green and brown colours of our furniture. All rooms have toilet en-suite, are classically furnished with wooden floor or carpet and are equipped with minibar, safe, heating and air conditioning system, flat screen TV with international channels, direct telephone line, hairdryer, desk, toilet amenities. If you travel for business purposes you'll be pleased to know connection is free for our guests. SERVICES The hotel offers several services to make your stay special :  The reception desk staff is at you complete disposal 24h a day for information and assistance. Our laundry service assures your clothes will be delivered back in 24h if required by 9.00 Am. Room service available everyday from 7.00 Am to 10.00 Pm and everyday free newspapers available for our guests. Our gymnasium is open from Monday to Sunday and it's free for our guests. The parking area is available inside the hotel with an extra charge..... And if you come for business purposes, our two Conference halls can sit up to a maximum of 70 people and are equipped with all modern audio-video devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donna Laura Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Laura Palace Rome
Hotel Donna Laura Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing