We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems more deserving of 3 stars than 4”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Ranked #263 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Seems more deserving of 3 stars than 4”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel has a nice appearance and is in a nice neighbourhood. It is a pleasant walk to the metro station. I think this is a very good 3-star hotel but falls short of the standard for 4 stars - hence my average rating.

Our room was a little 'tired' with lots of scuff marks and chips in the paint finish. The bed and pillows were okay but I've slept on more comfortable. I could smell cigarette smoke during the night - perhaps from smokers huddled outside the entrance. The breakfast was disappointing, okay for lovers of sweets but weaker on savouries. It also seemed to be receiving a delivery via the dining room while open for breakfast - strange!

Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    423
    138
    42
    38
See reviews for
176
347
38
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went to visit my boyfriend in Italy (he was there for a study abroad program) last May/June. Was a little nervous because we read reviews about them overbooking a lot and sending people to different hotels. Fortunately this did not happen to us. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was delicious. It's within close walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping isn't far away either. Front desk service was good and helped a lot when we needed to figure out transportation back to the airport. Overall it was a great place to stay if you want to be close by to everything. Would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah22092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As others have said, the hotel is within walking distance of the main sites, albeit, this may require a 45 minute walk. The room and breakfast were both very good. We encountered a logistical problem whilst at the hotel and the reception staff were very helpful in resolving the issue. There are a number of restaurants in the immediate area.
Our only downside was that the AC in the bedroom was off as the summer season was over. The bedroom was like a sauna and we had to try and sleep with the balcony door open, which, as it was at the front of the hotel, was a challenge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear "Grumpywise",
Thank you for your wonderful review and to have chosen our Donna Laura Palace for your stay in Rome!
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, facilities , location and staff.
Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests.It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
I remain at complete disposal
Sincerely
Stefania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here in March and was very happy with my stay. Good location, great view, clean, and a nice breakfast every morning. I booked it through a travel website and got a very good price considering nearby hotels. The only setback I had was on the first night they had apparently overbooked and had put us in a nearby sister hotel that wasn't as nice, Still, I was very happy with my stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The top floor facing the street has views of the river, but can be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Mr "Danny L",
I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post your review!
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel very comfortable and that the stay has been great. I do personally apologize for your first night's stay due to an internal inconvenience. I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future. Please consider myself at complete disposal any necessity you may have.
With Kind regards
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just returned from a 5-night stay at this hotel in Rome, never again!

Rome is a wonderful city and we enjoyed it thoroughly, but the hotel was such a let down.
Firstly, the reception staff were extremely rude, they did not make us feel welcome or comfortable at all, they did not inform us about any of the facilities of the hotel upon arrival, or that the rooftop terrace was closed. The staff seemed so pre-occupied with everything else other than ensuring their guests were made to feel welcome.

When we got into our hotel room, we turned the air-conditioning on, only to find that it had turned itself off. We couldn't turn it back on again so we had to go back downstairs to reception and ask if somebody could fix it... it wasn't broke at all, a staff member had turned it off from the fuse box downstairs. This continued for every single day of our stay here, in that when we put the air-con on, within an hour or so, it would be turned off!

The one occasion that we placed our 'do not disturb' sign on the front of our door as we did not need it cleaning that day, we went out for the afternoon, only to come back and find that the sign had been taken off the door, someone entered our room and placed it on our desk. Some people may put this sign on the door for a reason if they intend on staying in the room all day, therefore nobody should enter.

The hotel has two lifts next to each other. We were staying on the 3rd floor so used it occasionally, everytime we noticed that the lift floor did not line up with the floor when the door opened, so we had to step up out of the lift each time. Then on one occasion, we got in on the 3rd floor and pressed to go down to '0', it then said we were at '0' when in fact we were on floor 1... we then shut the doors and pressed '0' again, but it went to floor 2 and said we were at the 3rd floor. Absolutely rubbish lifts, and very dangerous in terms of tripping up when leaving them.

When checking out, the man at the reception desk said that's 35 euros you owe us." Not even a 'goodbye' or 'thank you for staying with us' afterwards. So rude.

For the money that we paid, we were very disappointed in this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.

Rome however, is a beautiful place, a must-see city! ... just not in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank Leanne_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Leanne_travel,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback!
We are very sorry that your stay with us was not as positive as that of others on this site.
To begin with may I take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced whilst our guest.
Regarding our staff I do apologize but usually our goal is offer a feeling of warm welcome and all the guys are used to do it but you mentioned them as “rude” and this is really something useful for us to be pointed out and I do apologize for this.
I personally investigate with the Housekeeping and General Manager about the room you signed as "No disturb " and we'll solve this situation not to cause any trouble in future to any other guest we may have, but any claim have been reported in our log book during your stay.
I very much regret that we were not informed at the time. I know they would have made every effort possible to resolve every issue you may have quickly and efficiently. It would of course have been our combined aim to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Donna Laura Palace in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.
Your sincerely,
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day City Break in the beautiful city of Rome.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could not fault anything for the money we paid. The hotel is very well placed as it sits in the quieter part of the city away from the hustle and bustle, but near enough for a short walk to the main sights.

The rooms were clean and compact, but city centre space is always at a premium!

The hotel is in-between the Vatican, on one side, and the Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Trevi Fountain etc on the other. All of the sights were a short walk away. It took us (With Map Reading Stops included for all times) about 25Mins to walk to the edge of the Vatican, 20Mins for the Pantheon and 15Minutes for the Main Street with all of the Shops, Restaurants etc. The Colosseum was only a short Metro Away.

If all that sounds too far to walk then there are good bus links and three Metro Train Stations not too far away. There are literally 1000's of Restaurants about the City and you will never be far away from one... The better ones we found I have reviewed on here. Basically we downloaded the TripAdvisor City App and just searched for the food type we wanted like "Italian" and "Pizza" then plotted the best ones on the map! This app made our trip and works without an internet connection as the data is all downloaded before you go!

I think we did most of the main sights, book them online before you go to avoid massive queues! We booked skip the line tickets for everything and im glad we did because the queues were massive!!! You have been warned! We used Viatour / Get Your Guide... Booked on TripAdvisor.co.uk both tours were with Dark Rome Tours who were fabulous.

Take comfy shoes as we found the best way to see Rome is on foot, we walked several miles a day, and loved every minute and were constantly surprised by the beautiful architecture! Our walking led us down a street where we bumped into the Pope... If you want to be lucky as us my advice is to Walk Everywhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StinkyBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and I am shocked to see positive feedback on customer service for this hotel. The receptionist was rude and did not make any effort to make us feel welcome.
The location is ok, a 10 minute walk to first seights. The rooms were average and so was the breakfast.
I would never come to this hotel again..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#295 of 1,261 in Rome
680 reviews
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#218 of 1,261 in Rome
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#222 of 1,261 in Rome
1,004 reviews
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#293 of 1,261 in Rome
696 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#146 of 1,261 in Rome
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Laura Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Laura Palace Hotel

Property: Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Address: Lungotevere delle Armi 21, 00195 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
#147 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#158 Family Hotel in Rome
#313 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Donna Laura Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace," a 4 star hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar . OUR ROOMS: With its 164 rooms the Hotel has got different room types to meet all guests' needs. The welcome is assured in comfortable single, double, twin and triple rooms, and for a more comfortable stay we can offer our suites. All our room types share the same attention for details and the warmth of green and brown colours of our furniture. All rooms have toilet en-suite, are classically furnished with wooden floor or carpet and are equipped with minibar, safe, heating and air conditioning system, flat screen TV with international channels, direct telephone line, hairdryer, desk, toilet amenities. If you travel for business purposes you'll be pleased to know connection is free for our guests. SERVICES The hotel offers several services to make your stay special :  The reception desk staff is at you complete disposal 24h a day for information and assistance. Our laundry service assures your clothes will be delivered back in 24h if required by 9.00 Am. Room service available everyday from 7.00 Am to 10.00 Pm and everyday free newspapers available for our guests. Our gymnasium is open from Monday to Sunday and it's free for our guests. The parking area is available inside the hotel with an extra charge..... And if you come for business purposes, our two Conference halls can sit up to a maximum of 70 people and are equipped with all modern audio-video devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Donna Laura Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Laura Palace Rome
Hotel Donna Laura Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing