We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Residenza San Calisto(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$490
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$815
US$712
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Vatican View(Rome)
US$254
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Yes Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$335
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,230
US$1,176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amalfi Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$546
US$432
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$343
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
274
469
145
45
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
469
145
45
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiber riverminute walknice hotelbalcony doorvatican cityroof terracewithin walking distancerestaurants and cafesreception staffpastriessafe areacomfortable roomon foottrevi fountainmetropoppoloroma
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Tuned up after a long journey to find that although we'd booked well in advance they had double booked. the rooms.

Staff not very helpful. Disgrace. Would check with the hotel before you travel. We were with 2 other couples. None of us got a room

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TOUCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Sir,
first and foremost thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our Donna Laura Palace even though you didn't experience our Hotel at all.
First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for any inconvenience occurred but to be honest I ve double checked with our Front Office manager about this issue and have discovered that all this words are maybe too much from my side. We had some troubles with some rooms and as soon as you arrived we ve offered one of our Hotel close to us where we have granted you a room even of a superior category in order to apologize for the inconvenience at the check in . As we usually do , we've offered you a welcome snack at your arrival in the meantime waiting for the car to bring you to the other Hotel . As soon as you got there we asked you to let us know if you preferred to proceed with them for your 2 nights'stay in Rome or would like to come back to the Donna Laura and even though we didn't receive any feedback from your side we agreed with you thinking you felt better there .
I know all our staff share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and am confident they took the necessary steps to be kind with you but on the same way we accept any critical suggestion of all our guests in order to continue to improve our services.
Once again we apologize if this inconvenience has caused any trouble to you and we didn't live up your expectations but we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future and to restore your faith in us.
Kind regards.
Stefania Catozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was a little worried about the hotel after reading some of the previous reviews about double bookings and rude staff. That is why i wanted to write a review about this place. We were greeted by very friendly staff that tried to help us from the begining of our stay to the end. The room was meticulously cleaned and very pleasant. Breakfast was rich and the menu for the evenings were nice/well priced. I would highly recommend the place.
For those who travel with a laptop: the internet is at good speed. One possible complaint: you wont be able to fit >13" notebooks in the safe.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony. As far as i can see, there are only a few without it anyway and we were given one of them. Not a reason to dismiss the hotel but if you have the chance, it is preferable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel has a nice appearance and is in a nice neighbourhood. It is a pleasant walk to the metro station. I think this is a very good 3-star hotel but falls short of the standard for 4 stars - hence my average rating.

Our room was a little 'tired' with lots of scuff marks and chips in the paint finish. The bed and pillows were okay but I've slept on more comfortable. I could smell cigarette smoke during the night - perhaps from smokers huddled outside the entrance. The breakfast was disappointing, okay for lovers of sweets but weaker on savouries. It also seemed to be receiving a delivery via the dining room while open for breakfast - strange!

Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went to visit my boyfriend in Italy (he was there for a study abroad program) last May/June. Was a little nervous because we read reviews about them overbooking a lot and sending people to different hotels. Fortunately this did not happen to us. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was delicious. It's within close walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping isn't far away either. Front desk service was good and helped a lot when we needed to figure out transportation back to the airport. Overall it was a great place to stay if you want to be close by to everything. Would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah22092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As others have said, the hotel is within walking distance of the main sites, albeit, this may require a 45 minute walk. The room and breakfast were both very good. We encountered a logistical problem whilst at the hotel and the reception staff were very helpful in resolving the issue. There are a number of restaurants in the immediate area.
Our only downside was that the AC in the bedroom was off as the summer season was over. The bedroom was like a sauna and we had to try and sleep with the balcony door open, which, as it was at the front of the hotel, was a challenge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear "Grumpywise",
Thank you for your wonderful review and to have chosen our Donna Laura Palace for your stay in Rome!
I am delighted to read such a gleaming report about our Hotel, facilities , location and staff.
Your advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests.It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.
I remain at complete disposal
Sincerely
Stefania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews