We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donna Laura Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Ranked #255 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had two rooms in February, we were very impressed with the hotel standard and found the staff all very accommodating and extremely helpful. The hotel is a short walk to the major city attractions and did not present a problem for us, we walked everywhere.
A great hotel at a great price. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were street side, you can hear traffic but I like the life of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianTravellerFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    404
    129
    39
    37
See reviews for
163
331
37
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed mid February 2014 for three nights.
The daytime receptionist, Katerina, was very rude, arrogant and inefficient. She had obviously never heard of "customer service" and seemed to forget that hotel guests pay her wages! She should not be in that job and single handedly gives the entire hotel a very bad name.

The hotel looks very nice, airy and very clean. It is within walking distance of the Vatican (about 20 minutes along the riverbank), about 15 minutes from Populo Square and 10 minutes from the Levanto metro station.

Our first room (103) was adequate. Hardly 4 star standard but nice. However, when we checked in (it had been 18 deg C outside - yes, in February), the fan heater had seemingly been on full blast all day, and when we opened the window to cool it down, we were hit by horrendous traffic noise. We rang reception to figure out how to switch the A/C on and were told (by the night time receptionist, who was very pleasant) that the A/C is not operational in winter and could we switch the heating off and open the window instead... The bathroom door did not shut/open properly and when you had a shower, the bathroom flooded.
At 5.45 am, we were woken up by some gurgling noises coming from the next room. It went one for over an hour. Water pipes ? Water tank filling up? We still don't know but it was loud and unpleasant. Definitely unacceptable. To cut a very long story short, we were eventually moved to a room at the side with a balcony (316). Much smaller (a tight squeeze for three, they had to remove the desk and chair and leave them in the corridor outside our room) but with a small balcony (with no chairs). The traffic noise was a bit less but still very loud.
Breakfast was in a very nice room but was very basic. Tinned fruit, very limited choice of savoury items, very sweet cakes, hardly any bread and food constantly running out and not being replenished.

In a nutshell : very disappointing in spite of promising appearances.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel unless traffic noise does not bother you. Avoid room 103 ! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoloToto1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Donna Laura Palace at the end of January and enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel was the best price we could find for a 4 star hotel in Rome. The location is a little away from all the major tourist attractions, but there is a metro stop (Lepanto) about 10 minutes on foot away. The breakfast in the mornings were delicious, not a big variety but everything they had was nice.

Vatican City is about 20 minutes away by foot, and you do pass a few eating places on the way as well. We never felt threatened walking around, even at night looking for a restaurant (just up the road) and the staff, while not super friendly (may be an Italian thing, never really found any staff exceedingly friendly in Italy), they are very helpful and never really felt like they were trying to avoid helping us.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSapiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and well presented. We were made to feel very welcome by the front of house staff, who were always helpful during our stay. The room was basic, but comfortable, and we were given fresh towels daily. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in our room however. We didn't eat here during the evening, largely because the breakfasts are a little disappointing - self-service tea and coffee, invariably cold, and an otherwise in imaginative continental style buffet, where the nicest stuff runs out early and isn't replenished. It's a good 30 minute walk from central Rome and about 25 minutes walk to the Vatican, which isn't too bad on your way there, but after walking all day it seemed like a long walk home! The Lepanto metro station is 10 mins away, so that's always an option. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel if you don't mind being a bit further from the action in the centre of the city and can put up with the breakfast not being up to much.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creamteaaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Tuned up after a long journey to find that although we'd booked well in advance they had double booked. the rooms.

Staff not very helpful. Disgrace. Would check with the hotel before you travel. We were with 2 other couples. None of us got a room

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TOUCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruppoloan, Guest Relations Manager at Donna Laura Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sir,
first and foremost thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our Donna Laura Palace even though you didn't experience our Hotel at all.
First and foremost, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for any inconvenience occurred but to be honest I ve double checked with our Front Office manager about this issue and have discovered that all this words are maybe too much from my side. We had some troubles with some rooms and as soon as you arrived we ve offered one of our Hotel close to us where we have granted you a room even of a superior category in order to apologize for the inconvenience at the check in . As we usually do , we've offered you a welcome snack at your arrival in the meantime waiting for the car to bring you to the other Hotel . As soon as you got there we asked you to let us know if you preferred to proceed with them for your 2 nights'stay in Rome or would like to come back to the Donna Laura and even though we didn't receive any feedback from your side we agreed with you thinking you felt better there .
I know all our staff share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and am confident they took the necessary steps to be kind with you but on the same way we accept any critical suggestion of all our guests in order to continue to improve our services.
Once again we apologize if this inconvenience has caused any trouble to you and we didn't live up your expectations but we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future and to restore your faith in us.
Kind regards.
Stefania Catozzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was a little worried about the hotel after reading some of the previous reviews about double bookings and rude staff. That is why i wanted to write a review about this place. We were greeted by very friendly staff that tried to help us from the begining of our stay to the end. The room was meticulously cleaned and very pleasant. Breakfast was rich and the menu for the evenings were nice/well priced. I would highly recommend the place.
For those who travel with a laptop: the internet is at good speed. One possible complaint: you wont be able to fit >13" notebooks in the safe.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony. As far as i can see, there are only a few without it anyway and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel has a nice appearance and is in a nice neighbourhood. It is a pleasant walk to the metro station. I think this is a very good 3-star hotel but falls short of the standard for 4 stars - hence my average rating.

Our room was a little 'tired' with lots of scuff marks and chips in the paint finish. The bed and pillows were okay but I've slept on more comfortable. I could smell cigarette smoke during the night - perhaps from smokers huddled outside the entrance. The breakfast was disappointing, okay for lovers of sweets but weaker on savouries. It also seemed to be receiving a delivery via the dining room while open for breakfast - strange!

Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#241 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#286 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#204 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Monti
Hotel dei Borgia
Hotel dei Borgia
#148 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Hotel Villa Torlonia
#1,000 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Laura Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Laura Palace Hotel

Property: Donna Laura Palace Hotel
Address: Lungotevere delle Armi 21, 00195 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Rome
#96 Business Hotel in Rome
#140 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#158 Family Hotel in Rome
#313 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Donna Laura Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace," a 4 star hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar . OUR ROOMS: With its 164 rooms the Hotel has got different room types to meet all guests' needs. The welcome is assured in comfortable single, double, twin and triple rooms, and for a more comfortable stay we can offer our suites. All our room types share the same attention for details and the warmth of green and brown colours of our furniture. All rooms have toilet en-suite, are classically furnished with wooden floor or carpet and are equipped with minibar, safe, heating and air conditioning system, flat screen TV with international channels, direct telephone line, hairdryer, desk, toilet amenities. If you travel for business purposes you'll be pleased to know connection is free for our guests. SERVICES The hotel offers several services to make your stay special :  The reception desk staff is at you complete disposal 24h a day for information and assistance. Our laundry service assures your clothes will be delivered back in 24h if required by 9.00 Am. Room service available everyday from 7.00 Am to 10.00 Pm and everyday free newspapers available for our guests. Our gymnasium is open from Monday to Sunday and it's free for our guests. The parking area is available inside the hotel with an extra charge..... And if you come for business purposes, our two Conference halls can sit up to a maximum of 70 people and are equipped with all modern audio-video devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Donna Laura Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Laura Palace Rome
Hotel Donna Laura Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing