We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location and room...average service!”
Review of Nazional Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nazional Rooms
Ranked #3,022 of 3,780 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Conveniently located and priced, Nazional Rooms is an excellent spot if you wanna discover Rome. It's a walking distance from the major landmarks like the Roman Forum, the Colosseum and the Spanish Steps. The locale within which it exists (Via Nazional) is also suitable for doing some shopping and is very close to the Terme. In the room, there is free Wi-Fi , which is also a great plus. The only drawback I can think is the lack of accurate service with regard to information on the major attractions and the other useful tips a traveler would need, especially if not well-acquainted with Rome. The staff -when present- are quite friendly, helpful and are willing to help, however during my 2-day stay they weren't actually there most of the time, so at times when I needed a piece of information on where and how to go to places and attractions, I couldn't find an answer there. Otherwise, the place is just fine and the room is clean, tidy, en-suite and equipped with all what you need as a traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowermenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

This was an excellent hotel. The owner was a hero, waking up in the middle of the night for us when we'd lost our key and left a wallet in the taxi. He made phone calls for us and went out of his way to help us out. We were able to leave bags in a room when we arrived early, and the same when we wanted to check out late.

There was free wifi, of a high enough speed to be able to have decent quality skype calls. Rooms come with safe and a small fridge. They're basic, but cleaned daily, and not as small as we were expecting.

Noise from the street again wasn't as bad as we might have expected. It's a really quirky place in a great location, an easy walk from the sites, and very close to the metro and Termini, the main railway/bus station.

The free breakfast in the morning includes a hot drink, orange juice and a pastry from proper Italian cafe just round the corner of the street.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodle186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

National Rooms is conveniently close to Termini station and the Republique metro station, and also is on Nazionale Rd, which buses run along frequently, therefore, it's easy to get around.
There is a small lift in the building, which was very nice if you have heavy suitcases, or if you've been walking around Rome all day.
They cleaned our room everyday, including making our beds, which was really nice. The staff/owner was really nice and friendly.
There is aircon/heater, towels, a mini fridge, a safe box(which mine didn't work), and TV.
The walls were quite thin though, as noise in the small hallway could be heard through closed doors, and also traffic noise from outside could be heard, even with the window shut. Also, the toilet is our room was quite loud. When flushing, a loud screeching is heard everytime.
There are good food establishments near the hotel, and the gentlemen at the cafe where breakfast is served are nice and friendly.
Would recommend this place for budget travellors who don't need anything more than the basics.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I stayed at the Nazionale Rooms in July. they are on the 4th floor of a building (look for the mirrored corridor with wigs on display). There's a teeny tiny lift that you get a key for, and you are given a key for the front door, and then the hotel door on floor 4. The room that I was in was a single, it was functional, large enough for one, tv, mini fridge, airconditioning, cupboard and ensuite. Bed was comfortable, and the noise levels were fine (which is a win in rome). Breakfast is downstairs and at the bar around the corner, OJ, coffee & italian croissant. The bar also does gelato was was delicious late at night after a long day sight seeing. Personally I thought it was brilliant for me as a solo traveller for a few days.

Nazionale Rooms is on Via Nazionale which is about 5 minutes walk from Termini Station. I thought it was very central, there are a multitude of hop on/hop off buses stopping at the end of the street (Repubblica) which means you're a bus ride away from everything and there are a few very tasty restaurants open late around as well. I enjoyed just choosing a direction and walking, which is how I came to see many of the sights in rome as well as just marvelling at the buildings and the history the place has.
I would definately stay again and would definately recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieZela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

excellent location, close to Termini station but far enough from the mayhem over there. Just in the middle of city center. very clean rooms, friendly staff, air condition, free wi-fi, refrigerator in the room, very close to supermarket.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hakanakdag58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with family of 4. They were able to accommodate us in one room, although cramped with the 3(4) beds - the room was quite adequate, clean and safe. Air conditioning worked - although not quite cool enough for us - we asked for a fan in addition which was supplied right away and made the room comfortable. Staff was good - and right there for anything we needed - Fabio was very nice and helpful. My son used the free WiFi every night as he is taking online college classes over the summer and the connection was good - no problems at all.
The location was wonderful! Easy walking distance to most tourist sites. Bus station less than 10 min walk and Metro even closer. Bus stops on street just outside the hotel will take you to the Vatican. Good location for restaurants.
As mentioned in other reviews - breakfast is at a small restaurant just around the corner - juice, croissant and your choice of hot beverage. I had Cappuccino and my sons got Hot Chocolate - both were very good. Not a 'hearty' breakfast, but a typical breakfast for this area - and enough to get you started for the day.
I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel (B&B) again! On a previous visit, we stayed at the Artemide just across the street - but Nazionale Rooms was such a great price and the same location - and quaint. If you're looking for a US type hotel - this is not it, but personally, we spend very little time in our room - we're there to see the city!
My sightseeing tips: We didn't really find the hop on hop off buses to be a real value for Rome on our last visit, so this time we walked to most sites and did just fine. If you're going to the Colosseum - definitely get the Roma Pass before you go - skip the very long lines and head right up to the front through the middle section of the line. Don't buy souvenirs right outside the Colosseum - they're 25 - 50% cheaper elsewhere - plenty of shops on Via Nazionale If you like art at all - don't miss the Borghese Gallery - if you have the Roma pass - call them for reservations - no booking fees. Roma Pass also gets you free bus/metro rides. Rome has fantastic free drinking water everywhere! Take a bottle with you to fill up or just buy your first bottle of the day at the grocery store and refill at the fountains all day for free. And lastly - if you have an iPod or MP3 player - download the Rick Steve's Rome tours for free online. They were wonderful and saved us quite a bit of money instead of using a guide or renting audio guides at each site. With all that saved money - visit my favorite restaurant - Target - just around the corner from Nazional Rooms. My favorite dish which I couldn't wait to have on my return visit is a large ravioli type pasta with a pear filling and truffles - my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

In case this review appears too long, here is a small breakdown of the pros and cons:

Pros:Great location near Termini Staion, easy to walk to most sighs in Rome, near a grocery store, great service and friendly staff, very clean. Breakfast was small but very good and in a very friendly little cafe around the corner. Room had everything we needed, including a fridge and wi-fi!

Cons: Compared to some of our later stays on the trip, this hotel seemed just a little bit too expensive, but I think we would have gladly payed the extra 20 euro to stay here again instead of the other hotel we stayed in, Hotel Teti, when we came back to Rome for the last 2 nights of our trip. National Rooms was cleaner, and in a better location for sights.

Pro for us, con for others possibly: The street noise if the window is left open is loud, but for us we prefer this to dead silence because we sleep better with noises. Other than that the walls are pretty soundproof and the window blocks out most noise. Compared to some of our other rooms later on, this room was definately the quietest.

Read on for more details:
National Rooms, or Nazional Rooms, as it's named here on Trip Advisor, was my boyfriend and mine's first hotel/bed and breakfast experience on our vacation in Italy, and it definately made for a great first impression for us. Keep in mind though, that we were trying not to stay in any 4, 5, or even 3 star hotels, in order to save money...so our expectations may have been a bit lower than some people's. This bed and breakfast was a little hard to find once we found the street that it is on, Via Nazionale. It is actually through an entry way which is apparantly the display for the wig shop on the first floor. As you walk through the entry way you are surrounded by wigs in glass casing. It was actually pretty cool I thought and we always knew which hole in the wall to enter thanks to all the brightly displayed wigs! The only sign I remember seeing for the bed and breakfast was small, and engraved onto the golden panal for the doorbells just to the right of the entry way full of wigs. The main man that runs the hotel was very pleasant and helpful whenever we had questions. Our room had a phone, a little fridge (great because there is a grocery store just down the street called Despar. Take a right out from the wig-full entry way), a TV, and we had Wi-Fi for our iTouch. Everything about the hotel and room was clean. They replaced any towels that we needed them too and cleaned the room everyday.
Probobly the best thing about the bed and breakfast was the breakfast down at "Il Barocco", the little cafe where the breakfast was served. The is just around the corner from the bed and breakfast at cafe owned and run by Italians. The older gentleman that is usually at the "cassa" (register) is very friendly and always has a smile for you. This being our first B&B experience in Italy, we weren't sure exactly what to expect. Every time we walked in they told us to make ourselves comfortable and then brought us two cappucini, two pastries, which were different every day, and two glasses of orange juice. After some of our breakfasts later in our trip, this one seems like the smallest, but the little cafe was so cute and the staff was so nice and in retrospect it was nice to go outside of the hotel for the breakfast to have kind of a different surrounding.
We would definately stay at National Rooms again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Seiler
Hotel Seiler
#873 of 1,272 in Rome
212 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#684 of 1,272 in Rome
162 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#593 of 1,272 in Rome
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nazional Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nazional Rooms

Address: Via Nazionale 249, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,022 of 3,780 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £27 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nazional Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nazional Rooms is a comfortable hotel, located in the heart of Rome and just a few steps away from the Air Terminal, Opera house, S. Maria Maggiore Basilica, Colosseum, Via Veneto and Roman forum. Nazional Rooms offers its guests 8 soundproof rooms with private bath, color T.V, air conditioning and telephone. The rooms available are: single, double, triple or family version furnished en suite bath, minibar and air conditioning. elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nazional Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazional Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing