We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the Eternal City”
Review of Albergo Ottocento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Ottocento
Ranked #277 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have stayed at the Ottocento now on four occasions on our trips to Rome. Why - you may ask when there are so many hotels to choose from?
It is well located, good value and friendly in a city where hotels are usually overpriced. Although not luxurious they do the basics well and we couldn't fault the service and cleanliness. We will be back for our annual trip next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street not the inner courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HJW_Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Ottocento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Situated near the top of the Spanish Steps and not far from upscale hotels like the Hassler and the Intercontinental this discreet and very pleasant hotel offers excellent value. The breakfast is attractive and varied. The restaurant seems to be a local favorite with good food. Several good trattorias are in the area and the front desk will advise on their locations. The hotel offers a car service-- inquire for fees. This is a small property, clean and well run. The front desk is extremely helpful, professional and courteous. The metro is nearby and very easy to use.
Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NellieNyack_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Wonderful location. Close to the Trevi Fountain and other landmarks. Metro station 50m away. Breakfast buffet interesting. Very, very nice staff, helpful with everything.
Minus are small rooms. The rooms even from the street quiet. Unfortunately, the walls very thin and you can hear the sounds of the room from a neighbor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dagmara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed 4 nights at Easter time. Staff was courteous, helpful, friendly, neatly attired and helped in making arrangements for dinner, transportation and tours. Breakfast buffet was fresh, plenty of options. Room and bathroom were clean and neat. Great shower! Quiet street, especially after 10 pm. Small enclosed patio nice for sitting. Close to HOHO and city bus stops, metro station, shopping. Also, short level walk to top of Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. We even walked to the Colosseum and Vatican City, a little over a mile to each. I would stay there again. Value was "very good" only because we stayed during Holy Week and prices were a little higher than if we stayed another time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrsMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Discreet and elegant hotel between Sistena and Via Veneto. Marbled floors and dark wood, with a small bar and restaurant attached. Excellent and prompt attention in Reception.
The bedroom was well furnished in a classic manner, with a large well equipped bathroom, including jacuzzi bath. Spotlessly clean, a real haven right in the centre of town.

Close by, some bars which serve delicious sandwiches that are toasted. And in the usual Roman way, if you stand at the bar it is significanly less than sitting down !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I contacted The Albergo Ottocento several months prior to our stay in Rome. There were fourteen in our group arriving on three different days. I arranged hotel transfers, pier transfers and tours thru the hotel. I have never had such prompt and efficient responses to my e-mails from any hotel anywhere in the world. I cannot say enough about their professionalism.
What the hotel lacked in Lobby and Bar facilities it made up for in the rooms. Our room by European standards was large with a beautifully, remodeled bathroom. Breakfast was good and those who had dinner there enjoyed their meal.
The location is great for The Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Bernini Plaza where there are many cafes and shops.
We didn't go to the Rooftop as it was December. I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. We are a couple in our 40s and were in Rome for leisure. The hotel is situated on a quite side street and was easy to find from the Google map we took with us. We walked from the Termini to the hotel and its about 15 minutes to do so. However, there is a metro station literally around the corner. Check in was quick and no fuss, the staff speak English if you don't want to practice your Italiano. You will receive a free street map of Rome which was detailed enough to get us around the whole of Rome over the next few days. There is free WIFI. The room was spotless and the bathroom modern and well equipped. Maid service was daily with bedding and towel changes. The bed was comfortable with good bedding. Breakfast was the usual to be expected in Italy - pastries, yogurt, fruit and cake. There were also scrambled eggs. The coffee was excellent. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. The bar prices were expensive. we would stay here again.

Room Tip: were were on the first floor, room 106 facing the front - nothing really "stand out" about...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#125 of 1,267 in Rome
912 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#242 of 1,267 in Rome
989 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#172 of 1,267 in Rome
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#340 of 1,267 in Rome
680 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Residenza
La Residenza
#312 of 1,267 in Rome
465 reviews
Colonna
Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ottocento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ottocento

Address: Via Dei Cappuccini 19, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#276 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#312 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £91 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ottocento 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Ottocento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ottocento Rome
Albergo Ottocento Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing