We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Albergo Ottocento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Ottocento
Ranked #268 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I and two friends stayed here for my birthday in December. On arriving we were delighted with the position of the hotel,central to everything!! The rooms were excellent,the quieter rooms were at the back of the hotel,they have no view,but we wernt in during the day and only used the room to sleep. The breakfast choice was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. We cant wait to return.The a/c dident work but it was December,i like a cool room so was a bit disappointed and if it dident work in the summer I really couldent cope!!

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet but no veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherineTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is fine - it is clean, small rooms with outdated decor and furniture and the AC in our rooms did not work. Very little room for suitcases. The roof top restaurant is great in terms of ambiance, but overpriced for everything. It is a great spot though - around the corner is a great restaurant La Scala and at the bottom of the stairs from that is a great gelato place. Close to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and short walk to the bus station. All in all, it is okay if you just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itshallbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

What this hotel has going for it is the location, in the centre and close to the main sites. The room, though, is small, but it is clean.

Sometimes, though, it is a small thing that can do lasting damage. When we asked for an extra bath towel, we were informed that it would cost 5 euros! In all the years we have been travelled all over the world, in good hotels and in B&Bs, we have never been asked to pay for extra towels. The Hotel Ottocento is quite a pricey hotel, and for them to be so small-minded is incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights as I was in Rome for work but decided to stay the weekend. The room was spotlessly clean although if space is an issue for you don't book a standard room as they are very small. The breakfast was ok but the only hot food option was some scrambled eggs that were constantly on the heat so they were a little ropey. I think for the money paid (as this hotel is not at all cheap) the breakfast range could have been better with more fruit and hot food.
Notwithstanding this the loation is excellent as short walk to Trevi, Pantheon etc.

Room Tip: Although this is on a quiet-ish side street its still better to have a high floor if you're a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thirtylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights Sept 11 to 14 prior to a cruise from Rome. Was a bit aprehensive about room size/quality given the prior comments but was pleasantly surprised. Room 105/Deluxe Double had a king bed (comfortable)and couch but was on the smaller side but typical euro size for boutique hotel and adequate. Good ventilation and A/C. Bath OK size and only negative is what others have mentioned about narrow bath/shower which causes shower curtain to stick to you. Maybe a curved shower rod would be helpful. Window of no use (overlooks utility area) but 2 doors to a small patio but did not use. Front desk staff very professional,efficient and friendly. They (2 young women) were very helpful in arranging airport pickup (80e) and a private car to the port (140e). Also provided good dinner locations and made reservations for us.Good breakfast as well. Location as mentioned by others is a big plus. Part of our stay was over Fri/Sat but rate still seemed a bit high..average price over 3 days was 275e/day. Maybe time/advance booking can yield better deal. Would have rated excellent except for value and shower curtain issue but overall we liked it and would return.

Room Tip: Room 105 decent size with couch. Quiet. Beware shower curtain in narrow tub/shower. Easy access fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Although we did not really stay at the Albergo Ottocento (hotel), we found the little hotel restaurant by coincident when walking through the neighbourhood close to the Piazza Barberini. The menu sounded tempting and the food was excellent and freshly prepared. Adriana, our waiter, provided us with friendly and professional service and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Only4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very nice location where you are near all the best place in the city. Very good and friendly concierge. Clean and cozy rooms but a bit small. Breakfast can be better, not big choices. All the staff are very helpful and welcoming!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nay_Mouawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#162 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#232 of 1,271 in Rome
1,013 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#106 of 1,271 in Rome
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#358 of 1,271 in Rome
694 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,026 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#240 of 1,271 in Rome
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ottocento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ottocento

Address: Via Dei Cappuccini 19, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#276 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#312 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ottocento 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo Ottocento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ottocento Rome
Albergo Ottocento Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing