We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Albergo Ottocento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Ottocento
Ranked #238 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Albergo Ottocento.
Clean, bright, well priced and good value. Perfect for a family.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was simple, tasty and beautiful quality.
Great little bar downstairs for an aperatif.
Great location.
We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    257
    72
    17
    13
See reviews for
83
307
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were 8 people from Norway visiting Rome for the first time at the and of March. We hoped that the hotel would be perfect. And we were not disappointed. Everything was fantastic. We loved the service, and they did everything for us. Love Maerlyn and Rune

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful, picturesque, charming and elegant are the words that come to mind in describing this wonderful hotel in Rome. Great location for touring. The staff was so helpful. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and the continental breakfast each morning was a delight. Service was excellent. We truly enjoyed our stay.

Frank R, CA, USA

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our fourth visit to Rome was a short break of four nights and this hotel was by far and away the best experience we have had. Ideally located for eating, shopping, travel around the city and for the more famous tourist sites the hotel is an excellent base for exploring all that Rome has to offer. Despite being so close to the heart of the city the hotel is both quiet and comfortable.

Reception staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable and were able to answer all questions around bus routes or Metro stops. The other staff we met were welcoming and appeared to work hard to give guests an great experience. Rooms are modern and well appointed and the quality of food, whether breakfast or the restaurant menu is extremely good.

Should we go back to Rome I would be very happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONATHAN B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very beautiful inside, nice rooms and bathroom and well trained staff but restaurant lets it down for single traveller. No house wine and half bottles restricted to two whereas most restaurants allow the guest to drink a portion of a good bottle and pay for what is drunk. I walked out as there was not flexibility and wanted a couple of good glasses of wine. Need to focus more on customer service.

Room Tip: Hotel is lovely but avoid restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very nice boutique hotel located in the heart of Rome. We choose the hotel because of the location, within walking distance from most major attractions in Rome. Even the Vatican is within 35 minutes walk.

The hotel turned out to be very well suited for our needs: The bed and mattress were very comfortable and the rooms clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lady at reception was so helpful in pointing out the directions to all important attractions and saved us a lot of effort in visiting the Vatican by booking for us online. All the other staff were warm and friendly. They made us feel at home.

The breakfast is simple but of good quality, especially the pastries. The price of the hotel considering the location and offering was very reasonable.

All in all, we enjoyed Albergo Ottocento very much and will definitely be staying there when we visit Rome again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the main street are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The location was the only positive about the hotel.. staff were extremely useless and not helpful. Room was very, very small. When I asked about the air-conditioning the response was "there's nothing you can do now" as to changing the temperature. I asked for extra towels, and the response was "we only give one large shower towel per guest and two small ones" but I still requested for other two which I eventually got, however to my surprise, on the checkout I was charged an additional 18 euros for the towels, the receptionist there claimed that she has informed me about this (which she did not) and she insisted on that. She claimed that she "remembered saying that because she was on shift". My advice to you, next time bring a bill and ask for a signature in order for things to be clear in the future. It is very unprofessional and low-class from a hotel when you tell a guest to "not bother about and ignore the date of the requested towels" because the dates were wrong in the first place. When I asked to speak to a manager the response was "you can not talk to anyone now, only I am available here, you have to wait till later", that was not going to happen as I had a flight to catch and I would not waste my time waiting for a manager to talk to about 18 euros. Just to be clear, I have no objection paying any extra fees for the "towels" however, I would want to know about this in advance and not be informed about it while checking out.

Room Tip: My advice, find another hotel in the same area.. There's quite a few around this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mas173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#150 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#318 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Colonna
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
#697 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Modigliani
Hotel Modigliani
#101 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#154 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Residenza
La Residenza
#315 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ottocento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ottocento

Property: Albergo Ottocento
Address: Via Dei Cappuccini 19, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#276 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#312 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ottocento 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo Ottocento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ottocento Rome
Albergo Ottocento Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing