We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ranked #158 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The staff at this hotel is very friendly, but they couldn't find our reservation and we had to wait in lobby about 40 minutes to check in. (We showed them our confirmation email but that didn't help) another family 3 days later had the same problem, and got sent away!
It's a little bit of a walk to the subway, not far from the train station, and not near any attractions, but there are good restaurants nearby.
A good breakfast is served- more ample than many other hotels in Italy.
Rooms are typical of Italy. smaller size with antique feel.
Wifi is sometimes spotty in the rooms-much better in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we want to apologize because You have had to wait in the hall for such a long time. Then, we want to thank You for this review, that we really appreciate. We hope to see You again during Your next Roman holiday. Thank You again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    190
    81
    34
    25
See reviews for
138
235
41
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were a party of four adults and four children. Despite the 100 degree heat, the rooms were quite comforatable and the service was very good for a hotel of this level. The location for a party with young children is perfect as it is close to the Borghese Gardens where there are lots of play amenities. Also, there are quite a number of good family friendly restaurants in the area including one real standout, Brancaleone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron_Klapow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Aaron,
thank You for such a good review. It’s only a pleasure to know that You have appreciated our Hotel and You had a pleasant “Roman holiday”! We hope to see You again, when in Rome! Best regards and thank You again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I travelled there in January with a friend of mine. We stayed there for a couple of nights, popped down to Naples and returned for a few more nights. Originally we were in one of the medium sized rooms and when we returned we were in one of the smaller rooms. Admittedly I am quite low maintenance so the room size didn't really bother me - after all, I didn't spend much time in it except to sleep. The rooms were clean and had been refurbished.

The breakfasts were good - better than at some of the other hotels. The location was quite good. We were able to walk to Termini, Via Del Corso, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps.

It was the staff that made the experience fantastic though. They were very helpful with providing advice and directions to us. As we were two young women travelling, the staff also gave us tips on how to ensure our own safety (not that we really had any problems except for a taxi driver who ripped us off - try to make sure that the taxis you take have a meter and if not, negotiate before you get in). We both came down with a cold and Mauro gave us directions to the chemist, advice on what to ask for (tachifludec - lemon flavour) and made the drink up for us on our return. He also gave advice on a nice little pub we could visit that we were unfortunately unable to go to (thanks to the nasty cold). Not sure why some others viewed the staff as rude - I certainly didn't experience that at all.

The service at the hotel was better than at the higher rated hotels that we stayed at.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and should I ever visit Rome again, I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Elevator could be quite packed at times - if you'd prefer not to wait a while, I would suggest r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,
it's a real pleasure to read Your words and such a good review! We would like to thank You for that! We are glad to know that you have appreciated Your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella and that You have liked our services and the kindness of all the staff. At this point we can only invite You to come here again, when in Rome: You and Your friend will always be welcomed. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Room was very small with a tiny wardrobe. There are no teamaking facilities and there is no restaurant.The reception staff are grumpy and generally unhelpful.
Concierge is a few advertised tour brochures in a corner.
Rome was very wet and cold for June and there was heating.
The room was overlooking a delapadated empty building.
The metro is excellent for getting around Rome quickly and at low cost
Rome is a beautiful city and we really enjoyed the sights
Best tip is to book a hotel beside a metro

Room Tip: There is a small lift to the rooms and it is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would thank You for Your review. We would apologize if Your stay at Principessa Isabella weren't so good as You thought. But we have to clarify something: the ours is an Hotel, not a B&B as You write; we don’t have any restaurant and this is clear even if you check our website, where there is no reference to any restaurant. It seems You come from England: You should be used to a more cold weather than the one You could find in Rome: You should know that it was an atypical spring for us all, in our Hotel there is heating but in June we are not usual to use it and, You should be honest, in the building the temperature was ok (we were in June, not in December…). You complain about Your room, but do not believe that, if You have booked in another Hotel, maybe close to the metro, You would have a better view or service. And prices, they are average than in other 4 star hotels in Rome… Anyway, we apologize again if Your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella were not so good and we invite You to come here again while Your next Roman holiday. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our first stay in this hotel. We used points we accumulated. The location is about 4 blocks from the Barberino metro location and close to the US Embassy as well as Hard Rock Cafe.
Everything was clean and the service was great. Wouldn't hesitate staying again.
Felt very safe and comfortable. As for location and walking...we had no problems and felt very safe even at night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exodus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank You for such a good review. Our staff is glad to know that You liked Your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella and would invite You tostay here again for Your next holidays! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
447 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The truth is, we were booked at another Clarion/Best Western in the city but chose to move to this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. This hotel was recently completely renovated and it shows. The lobby and the rooms are both very clean and comfortable. This hotel is air conditioned which was really excellent in Rome in the summer. The top two floors seem to be new construction but flow seamlessly from the first 4 or so floors of the hotel.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient to the northern attractions such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza de la Republica and the train station, etc. The walk to the forum area is about an hour but quite pleasant. There are some very decent restaurants in the area which more than makes up for the lack of restaurant in the hotel. I usually avoid hotel restaurants anyway. That said, the breakfast buffet at the hotel is really excellent with hot and cold options - including very fresh and delicious pastries.

That said, there were a few challenges. The hotel manager seems to be a chain-smoker. So, while the hotel is smoke-free, there was often a nasty cloud of smoke wafting from his office. Also, the American fascination with ice was somewhat of a challenge as we tried to get ice every time we came back to the hotel. There are no ice buckets and the front desk was somewhat reticent to give us large enough glasses to make the trip down to the lobby bar for ice. Still, they did get us ice as needed.

The only really frustrating issue was the "shuttle." Comfort/Best Western hotels in the city seem to have a shuttle van. This van took us (for free) from the Hotel Bolivar to Principessa Isabella. We asked for it to take us back a few hours later. We were told, "no problem." We called the front desk to confirm the time we wanted to depart. We were told "no problem." We went down at the appointed time and walked right by the front desk clerk (who was smoking in the entrance to the lobby). He said nothing. We waiting about 10 minutes by the parked but empty shuttle. When we asked the front desk clerk when we could leave, he said, "no, we will not do that." We were mostly frustrated by 1) the fact that the very person who had confirmed our departure time was now telling us that there would be no shuttle and 2) the fact that we told the front desk clerk that we were the people looking for the shuttle and he said nothing.

These issues did not detract from the overall wonderful stay we had at the hotel. Also, if anyone is looking for a break from the bustle of Rome, the park near the Villa Bourghese is a wonderful, refreshing area within an easy walk or jog from the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor terraces. If this is important to you, ask in advance. The road is not a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSTrip_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,
At first we would like to thank You for such a good and complete review about the Hotel Principessa Isabella. We are glad to know that You have appreciated Your stay at our Hotel. Then, We would like to apologize for the “problems” You have had during Your stay, above all for that with the shuttle and for the “ice question”. As we always say, it is really important for us to read Your reviews, because from them we can take suggestions to make better our service. You did it, and we are thankfull to You. We want to invite You to come at the Hotel Principessa Isabella the next time You will be in Rome: You will see that Your will be a better stay than this one. See You soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We recently stayed four nights at this charming hotel.The location turned out to be perfect as it was within walking distance of many sites, yet far enough away to be quiet at night. Good service,nice room and helpfull staff I will be returning to Rome and would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Steven,
Thank you! You were really kind with Your review, so good. We are glad to know You liked the Hotel Principessa Isabella and your stay in Rome was really comfortable. We hope to see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#201 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Roma Tiburtina
#549 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Hotel Capannelle
#542 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#126 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Address: Via Sardegna 149/151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#301 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern comforts; situated near the Via Veneto, Villa Borghese and Piazza de Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Principessa Tea
Principessa Tea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing