We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ranked #180 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a nice place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel in August of 2012. We loved every minute of the two weeks we spent in the hotel. We were treated like family from the Limo driver to the several reception people, Mauro and Santino ,the bell man Oleg, the maids and Amedeo. I can not say enough about the Breakfast and the person managing it who's name I am sad to say I can not remember. We came to Rome to celebrate our 10th Anniversary and our vow renewal ,everyone was so helpful and happy for us. We love this hotel. The clean well appointed building and rooms really gave us the Roman feel. The location was great because it was near the very high priced hotel location but only blocks away. Close to a bus stop that can take you anywhere in town. Walking distance to local restaurants that the locals frequented which made us feel less like tourists. We loved it so much we are going back for Christmas this year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProseccoandRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
A wonderful pleasure to read you review, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us


I am Happy you enjoyed your stay with us,
the décor and aesthetics is a very important part of who we are and we have a wonderful Design Team who works closely with our owners to create a chic and sophisticated feel throughout and yet retain the warmth of welcome we pride ourselves upon.

We know that details make all the difference, and it is for this reason that we are meticulous about order, cleanliness and hygiene in the bedrooms and throughout the hotel. In our experience these are the details that count the most.

The quality of a hotel is also measured by how well you sleep and thus, by the quality of your bed: the place where you will spend most of your time during your stay in our hotel. We pay particular attention to the quality of the mattresses, the types of pillows available.


We have different room categories which vary significantly in size and layout and I am very confident we have a room that will tick both the space and value box for all of our guests.

I am most pleased that our staff, we have an incredibly passionate team who genuinely cares and want to be part of our guest experiences and it is always incredibly motivating when their passion for service delivery is so beautifully reflected in one of our guests’ stays.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Principessa Isabella and that you had the time to visit our roof garden.
Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to Hotel Principessa Isabella soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Best wishes,
Amedeo Sante Mauro and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    198
    86
    35
    26
See reviews for
145
242
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new pymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Located centrally in the old Roma city this hotel is close to major tourist attractions and restaurants.The rooms were clean, well kept, had free Wifi.The staff were all fantastic especially Sante at reception. Nothing was too much trouble and all spoke great English. We will be recommending this hotel and will be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancy19662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel Principessa Isabella is located in a quiet part of Rome, within walking distance to all main attractions and facilities. Less than 10 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps.... which then leads to many other attractions within walking distance: The Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, etc.......
Hotel staff were very helpful with giving advice and arranging taxis and the likes.
Our room was spacious, with firm comfortable beds; our bathroom was spacious, modern and clean.
Breakfasts were superb - Always fresh goodies and an ample spread.
My wife, my 13 year old daughter and I were exceedingly happy with the experience of staying at this hotel for 4 days. Excellent value for money and highly recommendable.

Room Tip: We booked a Family Room - It was perfect for our needs. Loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Martin,
It’s a real pleasure to “meet” You on Tripadvisor, and with such a good review! All the staff of the Hotel Principessa Isabella is glad to know that You and Your family have appreciated Your stay here and we hope You will come visit us again in the future: You will be very relished Guests! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel at a bargain price. My room was a great size with a balcony overlooking a quiet street. Great breakfast included. Located near the Borghese park, it was a 20 minute stroll to the historic city centre. Highly recommend. Book direct rather than through other websites - it was much cheaper that way.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhoda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank You for such a good review. We invite You to come visit us again when You will be in Rome in the future: You will be our relished Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I loved this hotel. It is an old property that has been completely renovated and modernized to today's standards.Located on the Via Veneto, th hotel is well located for sightseeing and It's not far from the Spanish steeps and all main places of Rome.The rooms were spacious and elegant and the staff friendly and accommodating.Will definitely be our first choice to stay at if we were to visit Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencer112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Spencer,
thank You for such a good review! All the staff of the Hotel Principessa Isabella is happy to know that Your stay at our Hotel was pleasant and we really hope to meet You soon again! Best whishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked a triple room in July online for 3 nights for me and my parents as part of a trip to celebrate my mother’s 80th birthday in September this year. Unfortunately my internet connection went down and as I received no confirmation of booking page, I went through the booking process again. On checking my email account the next day I then saw that I’d received 2 booking confirmation emails with identical guest names, room type and dates.

I called the hotel immediately after seeing the emails. I thought as this was an obvious error, and two months in advance of the stay, although the booking rate was listed as non-refundable, that the hotel would also see this and make sure I only paid for one booking. The person I spoke to told me that he had noticed that two bookings had come through but they were non-refundable and there was nothing they could do, and perhaps I could invite some friends to take the extra rooms!

I then e-mailed the director, Mr. Ludovici, asking for his help, but received a reply from The Management again refusing a refund, and telling me that it had been automatically “charged” to the system. Even the Choice Hotels Group tried to help me, but they were also refused.

Whilste I appreciate that the hotel is within its rights not to refund the money (£630.12, a considerable sum), I’ll leave it up to the reader to decide if they want to stay somewhere that treats its customers like this – if you do, be very careful if you book online.

I should add that we were offered compensation on checking out - for 62 Euros, which I refused. All I can say is that the whole experience has been very upsetting and has ruined what should have been a very joyous occasion for our family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 74Awaruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband & myself stayed at this Hotel for three nights. Firstly, the two staf who greeted us, didnt care whether we were there or not. They told us to go away for an hour and our room may be ready. We did apologise for being early. Didnt have a choice as we were travelling from Florence. We finally came back and still were kept waiting, while another couple walked in and were looked after before us. Finally, given the room key and told to find our own way. To find a room the size of a shoe box and situated 1 meter from the lift. We could hear the motor power-up everytime someone pressed the lift button. Plus we had stained towels in our ensuite. The water did not drain away properly when showering.
The breakfast was very ordinary compared to what the other Hotels offered.
We were doing the Pompeii Tour the next day (16hour day) so asked if we could have breakfast a out 6am. No that was not possible either (even though we had paid for it).
Then the taxi we used (ordered by the concierge) charged us double for the base rate as you enter the vehicle. Then at the end of the fare, the total of €12.20 (should have been €9.20) then claimed he didnt have change from a €20.00 note.
I will never re ommend this Hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LINDI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludovici, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest, we are sorry to know that Your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella was not pleasant for You. We would like to point out that the breakfast room opens at 7 am: You have asked to have breakfast an hour before the opening and in the kitchen there weren’t no one able to make you something to eat. It was our fault, maybe, but it is clear in the terms all that You need to know about our Hotel and its services. Our rooms were recently renewed and there are not rooms so little as You have wrote. And finally, about the taxi, You can’t complain with us, because it is not a service we offer to our Guests.
We apologize again if You didn’t like our Hotel but we want to invite You to visit us one more time the next time You will be in Rome to have the chance to change Your mind about the Hotel Principessa Isabella. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#212 of 1,261 in Rome
793 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#225 of 1,261 in Rome
895 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#74 of 1,261 in Rome
503 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#240 of 1,261 in Rome
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Address: Via Sardegna 149/151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#301 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern comforts; situated near the Via Veneto, Villa Borghese and Piazza de Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Principessa Tea
Principessa Tea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing