We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel for travelling friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ranked #178 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kenthurst, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel for travelling friends”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Our booking was lost and not received by the hotel. Marlo was very helpful and contacted the booking agency. He sorted everything out and gave us a quad share room (which for 3 people was quite adequate).

It is a very traditional Italian hotel. Don't expect a giant bathtub or a thick doona to sleep with. But the room service was great, and a short walk to Republica metro station. Marlo organised a taxi for us to the airport which was very helpful.

Definetly a good hotel for a group of friends!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Katie,
thank you for such a good review. Our staff is always at total disposal of the Guests of the Hotel and we were glad to help you and to host you and your friends. We are glad to know that you have liked our Hotel and your say was pleasant and we invite you to be our cherished Guest the next time you’ll come to Rome. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    197
    86
    35
    26
See reviews for
144
242
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After reading reviews about this hotel and the bad experiences people have had I can honestly say we don't feel the same way, it has been our best hotel we have stayed at since being in Italy
Greeted by a friendly, funny gentleman on arrival accommodation, room wise was great and the hotel staff were very helpful when we asked for there assistance in organising a taxi or just opening a bottle of wine, nothing was too hard, breakfast was great and very nice to sit down to a meal with everything we required,
thank you to all involved that made our stay most enjoyable
Highly recommend this hotel.
Leanne and Mark

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Leanne and Mark,
We are really pleased to read your review and know that your stay at our Hotel was so good that you are disappointed about all who have said to have had a bad experience at the Principessa Isabella. Thank you! We can only invite you two to be our relished Guests the next time you’ll be in Rome, to live together another wonderful holiday! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is located in a quite area just few steps from Via Veneto. It is also centrally located in Rome.The room we got was wonderful, two double beds and enough space between to allow you privacy.Staff were friendly, and they recommended a good restaurant near the hotel very good and not expensive.We will use again for next visit in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear James,
we are thankful to you for this good review and we really hope to meet you again the next time you’ll be in Rome. We will be ready to let you live another great stay!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rome was our first stop in Italy and we were happy with our reception at the hotel. The room was nice and had a small balcony. The breakfast in the morning was convenient and fairly good. We were offered excellent service by one front desk staff person in particular, Mauro, who works the afternoon/evening shift. Mauro was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions, he even tried helping me get my Italian SIM card working in my phone! One of the other front desk staff persons was less than friendly. This hotel is in a nice location if you want to be a bit out of the city centre. It is a very close walk to the Borghese gallery and park, and fairly close to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMAnders00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Jamee,
thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have a good opinion about our hotel and our staff and we appreciate you have wanted to support it on Tripadvisor. We invite you to come visit us again the next time you’ll be in Rome: at the Principessa Isabella you’ll always be a relished guest.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel and found everything to be wonderful.The reception staff at the main hotel were friendly and helpful and recommended a great restaurant 5 minutes away which we ate in throughout our stay. We had read some reviews on this site before we went and we were a little bit anxious of what to expect but thankfully our worries werea distant memory by the time we checked in. We would definitely stay here again, and it would probably be our first choice when returning to Rome

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear James,
We are glad to know that you had a great stay at the Principessa Isabella and we are thankfull to you for such a good review. The only thing we can do now is invite you to be our cherished Guest the next time you’ll be in Rome, to live another great holiday! Best regards and thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Everything seems to be too much trouble. Staff are not welcoming. I was struggling with my luggage and not even an offer to help. It's like they are doing you a favour that you have paid to stay at this hotel. They couldnt even get an extra pillow or towel. For me it was just sheer laziness. The staff member couldn't be bothered. He advised I asked the cleaning staff in the morning. Also no directory, no information at all in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Joanna,
We are really sorry to read such a bad review by one of our Guest and we want to apologize if you have found our staff “unfriendly” and a lot of trouble, as you said. Maybe we were only a more busy and the impression we gave you was to be unkind. We really are sorry for that and we hope to meet you again in the future so you can improve your opinion about us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#224 of 1,261 in Rome
793 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#215 of 1,261 in Rome
895 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#74 of 1,261 in Rome
503 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#240 of 1,261 in Rome
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Address: Via Sardegna 149/151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#301 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern comforts; situated near the Via Veneto, Villa Borghese and Piazza de Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Principessa Tea
Principessa Tea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing