We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
US$200
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$160
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vatican View(Rome)
US$274
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$223
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$263
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
305
216
93
48
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
216
93
48
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia venetofront deskthe hard rock cafewalking distancenice hotelminute walk to the spanish stepshotel is locatedtrevi fountainmain attractionsborghese gardensquiet areasmall balconydesk staffour room was spaciouswould stay againquiet at nightincluded breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our family recently had a six night sight-seeing vacation in Rome and we felt so lucky to find this lovely small hotel in a quiet area close enough to the "sights" for them to be accessible, but for us to feel like we'd gotten away from the hustle-bustle at the end of each day. Our rooms were traditional and very beautiful (and well-maintained), the concierge staff was great (especially the evening one who we greatly missed on his nights off)--not only friendly, but SO helpful with hints regarding our activities. We will forever be grateful for the restaurant suggestion--the perfect place for dinner every night of our stay! Would have given 5 stars, but the breakfast was quite disappointing after our stay in Spain. This will definitely be our future destination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeeR818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family in our Hotel where it seems you really had a great stay! Thank you for such a great review! We have been glad to read it! Please, be our Guest the next time you’ll be in Rome! Best regards, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review at 4 a.m in a room of this hotel. We were forced to move to here last night from another Choice hotel in Rome because the reservation we booked two months ago was not passed to the hotel until yesterday morning according to the front desk at that hotel. Well that led to my terrible experience at this hotel.



The room type we booked at the other hotel was 1 double bed plus 2 single beds with occupancy of 4 people. This hotel has the same room type. We were told by the first hotel front desk that the room we would get here would be the same. Upon the arrival at this hotel, the manager was all smiles and told us he was kind enough to give us a "triple" room. I thanked him but only to find moments later that it was a 1 double bed room with an added single. It was he smallest I had ever seen for a double room. I booked the largest room because we were travelling together as 3 adults and we really needed a spacious room.

I came back to the front desk and asked for the original room type we booked. Now suddenly all the smiles on his face disappeared. He said all rooms were booked and the room he gave us was the only one available. I immediately checked website and found availability of better and larger rooms including the 1 double and 2 singles. I told him the availability and he started acting like his lies were just broken. He said if I had any issues l could call Choice. I asked him to call from the hotel and he said he didn't have a phone number! So I had to call myself. The customer relation confirmed that there were availability of better rooms. The manager still refused to do anything and kept calling the 1 double room with an extra bed added a "triple" room.

This was so ugly. We were exhausted after a long day travel and very excited to be ready to check in a very nice room. We ended up in a jammed room with 3 tired adults having to argue for a better room even this was a mistake made by someone else.

Although it was not the fault of this hotel at the very beginning, the way the manager treated us was incredibly rude and arrogant. He threw lies straight up in our face and didn't bother to show any kindness. It was so upsetting.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Chris,
We apologize for the problems we had. Maybe our staff was a little bit rude and we are sorry for that, because most of the time it is really kind. We can only invite you to come visit us again the next time you’ll be in Rome, we are sure you will improve your opinion about us. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved our stay here, the staff were amazing and our room was beautiful. As we have been travelling for a while our clothes also needed washing, the friendly maids offered to wash our clothes for a great price- they returned the next day beautifully cleaned and folded. In a great location, walking distance to all the main attractions. I would highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellyse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for this review. We are really glad to know that your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella was great and that you have appreciated all our services and comforts and we hope you will come visit us again the next time you'll be in Rome. Best regards, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Principessa Isabella was a wonderful Roman hotel. We were about a mile away from the big attractions which was far enough to feel quiet and less chaotic, but not so far that walking to and from the city center was a pain. The location is great with a few cute restaurants in the area, but do beware that it can get a little quiet at night, and I wasn't always super comfortable walking around alone after dark. There's also a big abandoned hotel around the corner.

The staff was wonderful. They were friendly, spoke perfect English and happy to make recommendations or accomodate requests. The rooms are a great size from the price and were refreshed daily. The whole hotel is very clean and modern. Breakfast is complimentary daily, and was very good.

The onlly downside was just that the walls area little thin, and the floors are tiled rather than carpeted, which means we could hear our neighbors slamming doors, watching TV and sliding furniture all around pretty late at night and early in the morning. Mostly, this was not a problem, but we did have two pretty sleepless nights.

Overall, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Kate,
we are thankful to you for such a good review about our Hotel . It was for us a pleasure to host a Guest like you and it's a honor for us to know that you have had a really good stay and you have spent some days in a cheerful way. We really hope to meet you again in the future: whenever you'll be in Rome again, please, choose our Hotel and be our Guest! Thank you, best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A hotel maintaining traditions both in his exterior and the excellent service. Attractive furniture, comfortable, clean and for Italy large rooms in a perfect condition. Good breakfast. Excellent price/service ratio, nice personnel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BandiBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for having awarded our hotel with the full score and this excellent review! We are glad to know that you have appreciated your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella and we invite you to come visit us again the next time you'll be in Rome! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews