We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would Return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ranked #131 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Perth Wa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We would Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is located in the area of the Trevi Fountain and is set back from the road. It it well appointed but unfortunately the rooms are the not the largest. Having said that they are clean and comfortable. We were only staying two nights so the size was not really an issue for us.

Room Tip: Request a larger room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Terry,
We're happy to read about your intention of coming back in our hotel, beacuse of its position, near some of the most known places in our city, as you say. Thank you for your positive review, we hope you'll be soon in Rome for another holiday. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    182
    79
    32
    24
See reviews for
135
228
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Would not recomed this hotel! I found the front desk staff to be entirely preoccupied with other tasks. Three different staff working thoughout our three night stay, usually didn't even glance up to acknowledge your presence.

No wi-fi out side of the lobby.

Walls are very thin! It was a very loud room, at all times of day and night.

No consiegre type service at all! No AC in july!



Helpful?
1 Thank Spaulison
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are really sorry to read such a bad review by one of our Guest and we want to apologize if you have found our staff “unfriendly” and a lot of trouble, as you said. Maybe we were only a more busy and the impression we gave you was to be unkind. We really are sorry for that and we hope to meet you again in the future so you can improve your opinion about us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our family recently had a six night sight-seeing vacation in Rome and we felt so lucky to find this lovely small hotel in a quiet area close enough to the "sights" for them to be accessible, but for us to feel like we'd gotten away from the hustle-bustle at the end of each day. Our rooms were traditional and very beautiful (and well-maintained), the concierge staff was great (especially the evening one who we greatly missed on his nights off)--not only friendly, but SO helpful with hints regarding our activities. We will forever be grateful for the restaurant suggestion--the perfect place for dinner every night of our stay! Would have given 5 stars, but the breakfast was quite disappointing after our stay in Spain. This will definitely be our future destination.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeR818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family in our Hotel where it seems you really had a great stay! Thank you for such a great review! We have been glad to read it! Please, be our Guest the next time you’ll be in Rome! Best regards, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review at 4 a.m in a room of this hotel. We were forced to move to here last night from another Choice hotel in Rome because the reservation we booked two months ago was not passed to the hotel until yesterday morning according to the front desk at that hotel. Well that led to my terrible experience at this hotel.



The room type we booked at the other hotel was 1 double bed plus 2 single beds with occupancy of 4 people. This hotel has the same room type. We were told by the first hotel front desk that the room we would get here would be the same. Upon the arrival at this hotel, the manager was all smiles and told us he was kind enough to give us a "triple" room. I thanked him but only to find moments later that it was a 1 double bed room with an added single. It was he smallest I had ever seen for a double room. I booked the largest room because we were travelling together as 3 adults and we really needed a spacious room.

I came back to the front desk and asked for the original room type we booked. Now suddenly all the smiles on his face disappeared. He said all rooms were booked and the room he gave us was the only one available. I immediately checked website and found availability of better and larger rooms including the 1 double and 2 singles. I told him the availability and he started acting like his lies were just broken. He said if I had any issues l could call Choice. I asked him to call from the hotel and he said he didn't have a phone number! So I had to call myself. The customer relation confirmed that there were availability of better rooms. The manager still refused to do anything and kept calling the 1 double room with an extra bed added a "triple" room.

This was so ugly. We were exhausted after a long day travel and very excited to be ready to check in a very nice room. We ended up in a jammed room with 3 tired adults having to argue for a better room even this was a mistake made by someone else.

Although it was not the fault of this hotel at the very beginning, the way the manager treated us was incredibly rude and arrogant. He threw lies straight up in our face and didn't bother to show any kindness. It was so upsetting.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Chris,
We apologize for the problems we had. Maybe our staff was a little bit rude and we are sorry for that, because most of the time it is really kind. We can only invite you to come visit us again the next time you’ll be in Rome, we are sure you will improve your opinion about us. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved our stay here, the staff were amazing and our room was beautiful. As we have been travelling for a while our clothes also needed washing, the friendly maids offered to wash our clothes for a great price- they returned the next day beautifully cleaned and folded. In a great location, walking distance to all the main attractions. I would highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for this review. We are really glad to know that your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella was great and that you have appreciated all our services and comforts and we hope you will come visit us again the next time you'll be in Rome. Best regards, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Principessa Isabella was a wonderful Roman hotel. We were about a mile away from the big attractions which was far enough to feel quiet and less chaotic, but not so far that walking to and from the city center was a pain. The location is great with a few cute restaurants in the area, but do beware that it can get a little quiet at night, and I wasn't always super comfortable walking around alone after dark. There's also a big abandoned hotel around the corner.

The staff was wonderful. They were friendly, spoke perfect English and happy to make recommendations or accomodate requests. The rooms are a great size from the price and were refreshed daily. The whole hotel is very clean and modern. Breakfast is complimentary daily, and was very good.

The onlly downside was just that the walls area little thin, and the floors are tiled rather than carpeted, which means we could hear our neighbors slamming doors, watching TV and sliding furniture all around pretty late at night and early in the morning. Mostly, this was not a problem, but we did have two pretty sleepless nights.

Overall, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Kate,
we are thankful to you for such a good review about our Hotel . It was for us a pleasure to host a Guest like you and it's a honor for us to know that you have had a really good stay and you have spent some days in a cheerful way. We really hope to meet you again in the future: whenever you'll be in Rome again, please, choose our Hotel and be our Guest! Thank you, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

A hotel maintaining traditions both in his exterior and the excellent service. Attractive furniture, comfortable, clean and for Italy large rooms in a perfect condition. Good breakfast. Excellent price/service ratio, nice personnel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BandiBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo L, Direttore at Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest
thank you so much for having awarded our hotel with the full score and this excellent review! We are glad to know that you have appreciated your stay at the Hotel Principessa Isabella and we invite you to come visit us again the next time you'll be in Rome! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#171 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#132 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#340 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#208 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Address: Via Sardegna 149/151, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#301 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff and modern comforts; situated near the Via Veneto, Villa Borghese and Piazza de Spagna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Principessa Tea
Principessa Tea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing