We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my second stay here and won't be my last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ranked #78 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We just returned from six nights at this beautiful hotel. We stayed here 8 years ago and it was everything I remembered, luxurious, beautiful, perfectly situated and well staffed. Anyone that says that the staff is "less than friendly" is simply not used to Italian service which is vastly different, i.e. standoffish, from the USA and other countries. The staff here is extremely helpful and gracious (by Italian standards). We had a couple small hiccups the first and second night of our stay and the general manager Gerard and manager Barbara (she was absolutely wonderful) bumped us up to a gorgeous deluxe room and threw in breakfast to make it up to us. In addition, the concierge staff was amazing and booked us for an audience with the Pope as well as train information, restaurant suggestions (which were great picks!) and a host of other things. By our third day the concierge staff knew us by names and chatted with us regarding our day etc. Wifi is free throughout the hotel, breakfast was great and the atmosphere was relaxing and sophisticated. The bar and the restaurant are extremely pricy though so I wouldn't suggest utilizing them...If you are planning on using the train, the train terminal is just down the street and this hotel has the best access for day trips throughout Italy. The rooms were well cleaned and the mattresses were dreamy. This is a pricy hotel to say the least but if you have the money, it is money well spent.

Room Tip: front rooms have the best view BUT are the noisiest due to street noise. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,737 - 1,743 of 2,976 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Wow Wow Wow!!! Couldn't believe this hotel, it was absolutely breathtaking!!

From the outside this hotel is just unbelievable. The reception is soooo grand, the staff fabulous and attentive, perfect English and acknowledging you by name each time they see you was a sign of their politeness and care. Before booking I got in touch with the hotel just to check their facilities and got a prompt response from their reception team without a hard sell. The pre-authorisation charge mentioned in other reviews is 50 euros per night.

The room was huge, gorgeous high ceilings, spotlessly clean and would highly recommend a front facing room (view of the fountain from the balcony), it was absolutely stunning.

Room service was fast, the champagne bar was great. When we noticed a hidden beer bottle on the balcony from the previous guest (not a big deal), reception sent up a bottle of champers on them!

The location is unbeatable, great deals are available on ebookers and felt truly spoilt and overwhelmed by the service and hotel. If you're looking for something breathtaking and special, this is the place! Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Rome. Perfect for our first time in Rome and a a fabulous 30th birthday!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room, front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We ended up not staying at this hotel because on the day we planned to the pool was closed due to a wedding reception. I expected a fair amount of complaining and unhelpfulness by the hotel staff as was cancelling a long-booked, prepaid reservation. To my surprise, the manager not only promised to refund the reservation but has been immensely helpful in finding an alternative which suited us and has personally called to confirm that we have an appropriate room at a favorable price. My experience with the spa personnel was the same: friendly, helpful, a pleasure to deal with. I would certainly consider staying at the hotel next time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The only thing this hotel has going for it is its proximity to the train station. The staff was less than friendly for an alleged 5 star hotel and the concierge had little experience in recommending a place to eat. Our best meals were from our google searches. On top of everything we were charged for wet bar charges that we never consumed. We've had better experiences at Hyatts in the States...for an 8th of the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shanruwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just back from a business trip in Rome. Boscolo Exedra is on a good location on Piazza della Repubblica. The hotel has a 'grand' feeling, with it's large size (lots of rooms and big rooms), high ceilings and classic interior. Breakfast is fine without being real upperclass (eg eggs freshly prepared). Only hickup was the fact that our keycard did not function at several occasions. As our room was about 5 minutes from the reception (big hotel) this was not really convenient. But yes, for a 'grand' hotel this can be a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Daemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

When you check in you are asked to hand over your credit/debit card so they can take pre-authorisation of 200 Euros. I understand most hotels take pre-authorisation but not for that amount!!

My room overlooked the main road outside and during the night it can get rather noisy and keep you up. If your after a scenic view from your hotel room window/balcony I would go elsewhere.

I didn't eat at the restaurant because the food was over priced.

This hotel is approximately a five minute walk from the railway station (which will take you directly to and from the airport) and opposite the tube station making it an ideal location for getting about. The room I stayed in was a decent size, comfortable and clean - all the things you expect from a five star hotel. There was a flat screen TV with a small number of English speaking channels, including Sky News.

The staff are friendly enough but it's just an overpriced bog standard 5 star hotel in a decent location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A five minute walk from the railway station makes this an easy hotel to access if you take the train from the airport. I found my bed comfortable. Quite a few English speaking TV channels. My room was quiet looking inwards to other rooms which was just fine because I was working. Room had very high ceilings which made it feel spacious - and there was indeed plenty of room anyway - king size bed, easy chair, working desk and free internet.
Outdoor eating in the piazza is a lovely touch. Service was very good in both the restaurant and bar with staff speaking clear and competent English.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,112 reviews
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#88 of 1,271 in Rome
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
1,453 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 47, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rome
#50 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#54 Business Hotel in Rome
#73 Family Hotel in Rome
#98 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £189 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern sophistication with a traditional 19th-century palace design, the Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, is a truly breathtaking sight to behold and unparalleled stay to experience. Sitting gracefully in the renowned Piazza della Repubblica,stunning Paris landmarks such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum are only a short trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Exedra Hotel Rome
Boscolo Exedra Rome
Exedra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing