We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service Fail - Its All About The Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ranked #82 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Customer Service Fail - Its All About The Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have been a guest at the Boscolo Exedra Roma hotel in the past. I warn travelers that my current experience with the hotel indicates a significant change in direction on how they treat customers.

Being a member of their Boscolo Rewards program or my past patronage meant nothing to this hotel management team. The hotel did care that I spent thousands of dollars with the hotel in the past. Here is my story:

I recently booked two nights at the Exedra Roma using a travel partner advertised on TripAdvisor. The dates of my original booking were August 1st – August 3rd and I paid approximately $350 per night for the room. The room was marked at a non-cancelable rate.

The family I was traveling with to Italy had to cancel their trip because the wife broke her arm. I contacted Hotels.com and the Exedra 10 days prior to my visit to ask if I could move the dates. The Exedra flatly refused. The Hotels.com Silver Support Desk was unable to convince the hotel to allow me to move the dates.

I asked again to say that they could give me two days in the Fall or Winter when occupancy was lower, and they refused. The Exedra management team had no interested in being flexible with my situation. They had no concern that I would lose my $700 investment.

I am in Rome this week and asked if I could stay two nights this week. They said no.

It amazes me that the hotel management would think that this policy is a proper way to treat repeat customers. I have stayed over 15 nights at the Exedra in years past and the management team was always very accommodating. I am also a frequent traveler and a frequent visitor to Italy with an active record of online travel reviews on TripAdvisor.

Hotels.com – A Strained Relationship?

My experience seems to point to an uncomfortable relationship between hotels and online booking websites. Hotels.com was unable to help me and the Exedra treated me life a second-class citizen. Both companies have a broken business model because both have me in their loyalty programs and both were not able to create an acceptable solution.

I would strongly recommend that travelers take this story to heart and be careful about booking a room at this hotel. The fact that I could not get credit for any future two-night at the hotel, during any time of the upcoming year, is a clear demonstration of the Boscolo Exedra Roma's customer service attitude. A Five Star property this is not.

Room Tip: Book a room that has a rate that can be cancelled without penalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your feedback.
We do apologize for the inconvenient occurred to you and we can even confirm the refund situation is going to be finalized according to information previously given.
We do hope to welcome you again sure that this isolate matter won’t jeopardize the trust you’d always had in Boscolo Hotels.
Best regards
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    627
    230
    104
    82
See reviews for
467
1,166
65
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napoli
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, they have to do a much better job of pr
It is a magnificent property and has all the makings of a great hotel. They need a little more tlc, but compared to the five star hotel down the street ( hotel so Russie) this was a much better hotel. If you are looking for a great hotel at a great value, this is it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerfrombh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

It was our first trip to Rome and what a magical experience! The city is beautiful and of course steeped in history. However our trip was made that much more enjoyable by the service provided at the excellent Boscolo Exedra.

Friendly and helpful staff that wanted to make sure your stay was comfortable and what a delight that the wonderful General Manager, Mr Oliver Hutten had left wonderful treats in our room for our return from the Colosseum.

Our room had a side view but that was ok as it was huge with high ceilings, a large foyer and even bigger bathroom. The king size bed was very comfortable and much needed after all the sightseeing.

We stayed half board and had a three course meal at the Tazio Restaurant on two nights. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and the little sweet delights after dessert was a bonus as was the service, which was first class.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeckLikesThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, very helpful and friendly staff. Location is perfect - 10 minute walk to train station and only seconds from Main Street and great restaurants. No more than 15 minute car ride to the Vatican and other amazing sites. Concierge was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here on points for 2 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. 2 adjoining rooms for a family of four (2 small kids). The rooms were spacious and elegant. Could have fit all four of us into one room. The only downside to the rooms was traffic noise, but to be fair, the hotel is in the middle of a city. The breakfast was fantastic. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Termini Metro station, the central hub for rail and metro in Rome. The Blue line will take you to the Colosseum at the Colosseo stop and the Circus Maximus at the Circo Massimo stop. It's about a 20 minute to the Colosseum from the Hotel. The entrance to the Repubblica Metro stop, on the red line, is right in front of the hotel entrance. This line was very convenient for visiting the Vatican. If you get off at the Ottaviano "San Pietro" stop St. Peters is only a 10 minute walk. The Spanish Steps are at the "Spagna" stop. A 10-15 min walk will get you to the Trevi Fountain from the Barberini stop.

Room Tip: Traffic can be loud, choose higher room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptownsendj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Me, my wife and our two kids stayed at the Boscolo Exedra Roma for 4 nights in July. We had a junior suite on the second floor of the hotel. The room was set up as a two story loft. The kids had twin beds set up downstairs and my wife and I had a king bed upstairs. The room was large and the layout was good. The bathroom had two sinks, a soaker tub and a separate shower. Water pressure was excellent.

Despite some prior reviews, I thought this hotel lived up to its 5 star rating. The service was courteous and prompt, the common areas of the hotel were lovely and the room was great and had twice daily turndown service.

We did not use the pool on the roof although I did check it out. It was lovely albeit a lot smaller than it appears in the photos. This is by no means a lap pool.

The hotel is located in the Piazza de la Republica which is a little far removed from the main sights. Accordingly, we took many taxis (although the subway is another option with a station adjacent to the hotel).

Food at the hotel is very expensive so we did not eat there and I can't comment on the quality.

Overall, the hotel is majestic. It is close to the train station and subway, the service is great and the suite lovely. Only downside is that it is a little removed from key sites and the price if food is very high with few options in the immediate vicinity.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereItsWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
570 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It isn't too far from the Spanish steps. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. The breakfast is delicious. The staff is also very nice and helpful. I would definitely come back if staying in Rome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FamTimeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 47, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#54 Business Hotel in Rome
#98 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#103 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern sophistication with a traditional 19th-century palace design, the Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, is a truly breathtaking sight to behold and unparalleled stay to experience. Sitting gracefully in the renowned Piazza della Repubblica,stunning Paris landmarks such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum are only a short trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Exedra Hotel Rome
Boscolo Exedra Rome
Exedra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing