We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great hotel, great location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ranked #87 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Great hotel, great location"”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four days while vacationing at Rome. Rooms were big, nice and clean. Breakfast buffet was scrumptious and they had tons of choices! Very centrally located. Close proximity to all major landmarks and the Roma Terminus train station but pretty far from the airport. Spend most of the time sightseeing so didn't get to use the amenities but did try out their roof top bar. Food and drinks were pricey but it had the most amazing views of Ancient Rome. Surrounding areas were lined with lots of good restaurants and gelato stores. The gelato stores had more than 50 flavors and we tried new flavors every time...yumm! The only downside, since the hotel is located in a busy section of the city, it's not very quiet. But didn't have any noise problem when we were in our room. Overall, loved our stay in this hotel and especially loved the neighborhood. If you like to walk around exploring the neighborhood, this is the place to stay but if you need peace and quiet it's better to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikhipta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver H, Direttore generale at Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,
La ringraziamo per aver lasciato il suo prezioso commento sul Boscolo Exedra .
Siamo davvero lieti di sapere che il suo recente soggiorno presso il nostro storico hotel è stato piacevole e a l'altezza delle sue aspettative.
Ci auguriamo di riaverla presto tra i nostri graditi ospiti per offrirle una nuova ed indimenticabile esperienza nella Città Eterna!
Cordialmente,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,588
    640
    236
    106
    87
See reviews for
487
1,218
67
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights 15-18 July 2014 on holiday.

The publicity picture on the Hotel website taken at night says it all. It is a spectacular sight when the lights come on and it is breathtaking by day. It is part of the Autograph Collection of the Marriott group and it doesn't disappoint. The entrance lounge is a piece of art befitting the Eternal City. The rooms are spread out in all directions and is a bit confusing at first. However, the room was large, clean and well stocked.I thought the towels could have been fluffier, though.

The location is perfect since the bus/train terminus is a 5-7 minute walk. Lots of shopping around.We received perfect and patient advice from the Concierge.

If you plan to take a taxi to the airport, use the Hotel limos - they are just a little bit more expensive but very comfortable and reliable.We did not eat at the Hotel since there are quite a few cafes around.

A truly "autograph" experience. Highly recommended indeed.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fornebu, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Have to say, this hotel is amazing, its huge and massive! the room we had was fantastic, they have a tiny pool n the roof which happend to be our favourite place to cool down. Rome could reach 36deg in july and this hotel was perfect for that. The location also is very good, the train is just few steeps away and you can actually walk from the hotel to most of the tourist sports.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tzai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have been a guest at the Boscolo Exedra Roma hotel in the past. I warn travelers that my current experience with the hotel indicates a significant change in direction on how they treat customers.

Being a member of their Boscolo Rewards program or my past patronage meant nothing to this hotel management team. The hotel did care that I spent thousands of dollars with the hotel in the past. Here is my story:

I recently booked two nights at the Exedra Roma using a travel partner advertised on TripAdvisor. The dates of my original booking were August 1st – August 3rd and I paid approximately $350 per night for the room. The room was marked at a non-cancelable rate.

The family I was traveling with to Italy had to cancel their trip because the wife broke her arm. I contacted Hotels.com and the Exedra 10 days prior to my visit to ask if I could move the dates. The Exedra flatly refused. The Hotels.com Silver Support Desk was unable to convince the hotel to allow me to move the dates.

I asked again to say that they could give me two days in the Fall or Winter when occupancy was lower, and they refused. The Exedra management team had no interested in being flexible with my situation. They had no concern that I would lose my $700 investment.

I am in Rome this week and asked if I could stay two nights this week. They said no.

It amazes me that the hotel management would think that this policy is a proper way to treat repeat customers. I have stayed over 15 nights at the Exedra in years past and the management team was always very accommodating. I am also a frequent traveler and a frequent visitor to Italy with an active record of online travel reviews on TripAdvisor.

Hotels.com – A Strained Relationship?

My experience seems to point to an uncomfortable relationship between hotels and online booking websites. Hotels.com was unable to help me and the Exedra treated me life a second-class citizen. Both companies have a broken business model because both have me in their loyalty programs and both were not able to create an acceptable solution.

I would strongly recommend that travelers take this story to heart and be careful about booking a room at this hotel. The fact that I could not get credit for any future two-night at the hotel, during any time of the upcoming year, is a clear demonstration of the Boscolo Exedra Roma's customer service attitude. A Five Star property this is not.

Room Tip: Book a room that has a rate that can be cancelled without penalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your feedback.
We do apologize for the inconvenient occurred to you and we can even confirm the refund situation is going to be finalized according to information previously given.
We do hope to welcome you again sure that this isolate matter won’t jeopardize the trust you’d always had in Boscolo Hotels.
Best regards
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, they have to do a much better job of pr
It is a magnificent property and has all the makings of a great hotel. They need a little more tlc, but compared to the five star hotel down the street ( hotel so Russie) this was a much better hotel. If you are looking for a great hotel at a great value, this is it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerfrombh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

It was our first trip to Rome and what a magical experience! The city is beautiful and of course steeped in history. However our trip was made that much more enjoyable by the service provided at the excellent Boscolo Exedra.

Friendly and helpful staff that wanted to make sure your stay was comfortable and what a delight that the wonderful General Manager, Mr Oliver Hutten had left wonderful treats in our room for our return from the Colosseum.

Our room had a side view but that was ok as it was huge with high ceilings, a large foyer and even bigger bathroom. The king size bed was very comfortable and much needed after all the sightseeing.

We stayed half board and had a three course meal at the Tazio Restaurant on two nights. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and the little sweet delights after dessert was a bonus as was the service, which was first class.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeckLikesThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, very helpful and friendly staff. Location is perfect - 10 minute walk to train station and only seconds from Main Street and great restaurants. No more than 15 minute car ride to the Vatican and other amazing sites. Concierge was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#86 of 1,257 in Rome
1,946 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 47, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rome
#54 Business Hotel in Rome
#57 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#98 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#103 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern sophistication with a traditional 19th-century palace design, the Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, is a truly breathtaking sight to behold and unparalleled stay to experience. Sitting gracefully in the renowned Piazza della Repubblica,stunning Paris landmarks such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum are only a short trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Exedra Hotel Rome
Boscolo Exedra Rome
Exedra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing