We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exedra is Losing Its Passion And My Vote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ranked #82 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Exedra is Losing Its Passion And My Vote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I have stayed at the Exedra almost every year for the past 7 years and my most recent trip from July 12-14, 2010 was disappointing.

The staff was not optimistic or enthusiastic but rather polite and curt. My feeling was that they were stressed, pressured or understaffed. It also seems that they have hired more inexperienced junior staff than the professionals that I am accustomed to. (I see that as bad cost cutting management)

The rooms and accomodations of the hotel are still spacious and clean. The rooftop pool is fantastic for young kids. We were very dissappointing that the pool closes at 6:00 pm when it bright and sunny until 8:30 pm. We checked in and went to the pool with our 13 year old son at 5:45pm and were turned away. It was painful to see his face after a long drive in the heat that he could not enjoy the pool.

The menu at the lobby bar was still pricey. Two bottles of water at the bar cost 12 Euros and Two glasses of orange juice cost 18 Euros. Ouch. There is no reservation in charging top dollar at the Exedra and that is not a complaint but an acknowledgement that despite the economy they are charging standard five star prices.

Overall, the hotel is losing its passion for making people feel welcome and invited guests. It felt just like a luxury money machine and not the warm and welcoming experience that we have known for over 7 years.

The beds and rooms are very luxurious but the staff left me cold.

In Rome there are many choices, and if it were not for the pool and my Son, I would not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    627
    230
    104
    82
See reviews for
467
1,166
65
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

This hotel was amazing, went for a delux room and got one on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the fountain in the Piazza

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We had the same experience as one other reviewer - EmpireState. We were initially given a small room, without a view, with a broken shower, and we were made to wait 30 minutes for check in although we arrived at about 3:00pm, and then later waited for another 30 minutes for our bags. As we have paid so much for the rooms, we insisted on seeing the manager and to our surprise, the manager was very professional and friendly. He upgraded our room to a deluxe room, and our stay from then on was nothing but excellent. He even offered a free drink a the bar. The upgraded room had a beautiful view, spacious room, comfortable bed, and clean and spacious bathroom. The hotel was conveniently located.

We were also surprised for the money we paid, internet access was not free. We learnt later that we can access the internet in the business centre for free. Something to remember. So if you know what you want, please ensure you request for a spacious room to avoid disappointment, especially in the peak seasons.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAndWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

I stayed with my family at the Exedra for a week between June 20th and June 27th,
the hotel was as expected, elegant and charming and on the Piazza della Repubblica which is a walking distance (15 min of beautiful walk) from the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, Via Venito, and the coliseum. and its 3 min away from the Train station.
The hotel have an amazing outdoor coffee shop/terrace over looking the Piazz's beautiful fountain- Amazing view, just sit & relax, watch people passing by and admire rome..
The coffee shop is not cheap at all, average drink is Euro 15...
Dont forget to visit the church accross the street from the hotel, its surely worth the visit..
The rooms where HUGE, we had 2 connecting rooms, 305-307 the only semi connecting rooms in the hotel, each room was like 6x6 meters with high ceiling and a beautiful view. i guess our rooms were the largest in the hotel. Bed was bigger than a king size, WC had a shower and a bath yet the room it self had the BASIC amenities. OLD 21" TV, do not expect any high tech amenities, even to call the reception you dial 8174 (4 digits!!!) yet whatever we asked for they used to get ASAP, so if whatever you want is not there in the room just ask for it & they will nicely arrange it!!
The breakfast was British, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruits, cakes, juice, cheese and a lot more...
True you can be closely located to the center of Rome but the view and the space you have in this hotel no other hotel can offer. Other 5 stars hotels are squashed between building and some had no space even for your taxi to pick you up from!!
From the Excedra u can pick a cab or the bellboy will call them and they will be there in a min, or go on the "Rome by Bus tour" which stops directly in front of the hotel and i highly recommend to do on your first day in Rome.
Next to the hotel there is a pharmacy, Mc Donald's, Banks, mini markets, coffe shops, restaurants etc almost everything you need, trust me, stay in Rome as long as you can, its amazing…

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

I have stayed in Rome a few times on business, and once on please, and this is by far the nicest hotel I have experienced. It is a substantially sized hotel, so may not suit people looking for a more personal, familiar level of service but the rooms are spotless, beautifully decorated and I have always found the staff courteous.
Downsides are expensive drinks, not a massive TV and fairly limited channels - but these are personally things that I can live without.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajera0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

I think this is a wonderful property, looks grand from outside, proper roma look.

The rooms inside are like a maze though and you really take time to reach yours.

Food was decent , nothing great.

Swimming pool was shut and gym is ok ok.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ani999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I stayed at the Exedra during my incentive trip to Rome. The hotel is very centrally located in ancient Rome. It is easy to get walking to major sightseeing spots. I loved the neo-classical decor and felt comfortable when stayed there. Very courteous and competent staffs.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnLee2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,476 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#79 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 47, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#54 Business Hotel in Rome
#98 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#103 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending modern sophistication with a traditional 19th-century palace design, the Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection, is a truly breathtaking sight to behold and unparalleled stay to experience. Sitting gracefully in the renowned Piazza della Repubblica,stunning Paris landmarks such as the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum are only a short trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Exedra Hotel Rome
Boscolo Exedra Rome
Exedra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing