We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not central”
Review of Villa Patrizi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Patrizi
Ranked #935 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
cork
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not central”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Nice hotel in a lovely quite neighborhood but you need to get public transport to get anywhere lovely local Italian restaurants ask for recommendations at reception overall good but a bit far out might be good for kids ad it's quite

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    40
    42
    24
    16
See reviews for
22
61
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

From the pictures you may think that this is a nice, good furnished hotel. Our experience however showed that this is far from true. The rooms are small (it is almost impossible to walk around the bed) and extremely hot and dark. There were no windows in our room, only an exit to the balcony. Because of the heat we had to leave the doors to the balcony open, allowing everyone to enter into the room, so this was not without a risk. The bathroom stank and the bed was very hard, making it difficult for the blood to circulate and thus causing 'sleeping' limbs. The tv set was very small (15 inch or so), making it almost impossible to watch a movie. We asked the guy at the reception desk to fix the air conditioning. Clearly irritated ty the question, he told us that in the winter it only blows hot air and the only thing that he could do was to switch it off (which he never did). The breakfast consisted of a couple of croissants, some sandwiches, orange juice and undrinkable coffee. Definitely NOT good. Furthermore there was this woman, never speaking a word and watching us every move and counting the bread each time we took some. It was as if the woman was like a ghost that could not find rest in the hereafter; knocking about in the restaurant of the hotel. We made jokes about this, but certainly, this was the most ridiculous experience we ever had (in a hotel)! There is no (internal) telephone guide and the information provided by the staff is unreliable. For example we asked at what time the first metro leaves during weekdays. We were told from 05:00 AM. As a result we found a closed metro station at 05:05 AM the day we left, because in reality the first metro leaves about 06:00 AM! The doors at the hotel are locked by a chain and a padlock during the night, making it impossible to leave the hotel in case of an emergency. So, if you are planning a trip to Rome, take care of your life (and your vacation) and DO look for another hotel and stay out of this one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller0238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menaggio, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This beautiful old villa set in an area of Rome surrounded by many similar buildings is just 2 stops on the Metro from the Central Rome Railway station, followed by a walk of, I would guess, less than 1km. If you are arriving in the dark, get your directions worked out before you arrive as it can be confusing when you emerge from the subway and this area is does not invite lingering. The cost of the Metro journey was 1 Euro each, compared with the price quoted for a taxi of 25 - 30 Euros. Breakfast is included in the price but don't expect much more than the standard Italian fare for breakfast. A toaster was not made available in the dining room on request. The rooms are very, very small and very clean. Bathroom very small but adequate. There is a bar fridge but no tea or coffee making facilities. Staff helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missmary1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This is not a 4 star hotel.
At best a 3 star.
The attitude of the reception lady was arrogant and dismissive beyond belief.
The room was so small we couldn't walk down either side of the bed. One side was nearly touching the wall, about 10cm gap. Ridiculous.
TV didn't work so we asked reception to look at it while we were out for the day, returned 6 hrs later and nothing been done. We asked them again and eventually they came and fixed it about 8hrs after requesting. Rubbish.
The breakfast experience was v intimidating, the kitchen lady was constantly staring at us and tutting when we ate anything. She acted like a prison warden. V v weird.

I would strongly recommend you staying elsewhere for good value and service.
1/10

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G4Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2010

It is a nice hotel in a very silent, green area, near the embassies. The nearest tube-station (Policliniko) is about 4 minutes by walk. The hotel is beutiful with very kind staff. Our room was wery little, but very comfortable, well-furnished. The TV was also very modern with a lot of channels - we had a Hungarian channel as well. We really enjoyed our holiday in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and left the location with several mosquito bites all over our body. The reason for this...was that the room we stayed in (room G02) reaked of mildew. The bathroom walls were garnished with mildew as was the shower head and doors. We could not use the air conditioning to air out the smell because it was not working and the Concierge would not accomodate a room change or upgrade request. So we had to open the windows each night to be able to breathe (and it was also raining). Mosquitos were then able to fly in and attack us, but it was either that or suffocate.
The location is also very far from the touristy spots. I would more likely recommend a hotel around the Spanish Steps because staying at this hotel was a real inconvenience for our travel needs. I would not rate this hotel 4 stars as it is promised - but rather 2.5 in american standards.
Lastly, the hotel is located near a police station so every night we would wake up to the sounds of sirens.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank absyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

A nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. We had room 304 which had a huge private terrace, would definitely recommend trying to get that room. The room itself was cosy but big enough for the two of us with all our stuff, the bathroom on the other hand was quite small with limited surface space to set things down (although the size of the terrace more than made up for this!)
Breakfast was limited, breads, ham, cheese, pastries, eggs, cereal and yoghurts etc, and as we were staying for a week it became rather bland, eating the same thing every day, although it hit the spot until lunch time.
The hotel has a metro station within 3 mins walk and is situated two metro stops from termini train station, from which you can reach anywhere in the city. We bought a week long travel pass for 16 euro - bargain! If you don't mind not being in the heart of city life then this hotel will suit well, however I think I'd prefer to have been a little closer to the centre. Be warned - there aren't any shops or restaurants close to the hotel, there could have been but we coldn't spot any. If we wanted anything we bought it at termini (plenty of shops there) and brought it back to the hotel.
Overall this is a decent hotel with friendly staff, a little out of the way but by no means inaccessible. Would I stay again? Probably not just because I'd have liked to have been closer to the action of Rome - which is truely amazing!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanDaMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Villa Torlonia
#1,053 of 1,259 in Rome
654 reviews
Hotel Turner
#702 of 1,259 in Rome
925 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#283 of 1,259 in Rome
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Principe Torlonia
#344 of 1,259 in Rome
424 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#419 of 1,259 in Rome
408 reviews
Villa Morgagni
#353 of 1,259 in Rome
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Patrizi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Patrizi

Property: Villa Patrizi
Address: Via di Villa Patrizi 20, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#335 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Patrizi 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Patrizi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Patrizi Hotel Rome
Patrizi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing