We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location. Walk to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cinquantatre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cinquantatre
Ranked #489 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. Walk to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 8 nights in Aug 2014. We did extensive research when booking this hotel and had realistic expectations about what we had chosen. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is very comfortable and represents good value for money.
The room is a good size by European standards, the bed is comfortable with quality linen and a well appointed bathroom. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the courtyard, and it was very quiet - no street noise at all. The rooms that face the street would be noisier as the street is quite busy, day and night. The air conditioning provided a welcome relief from the heat outside after a long day of sightseeing.
The included breakfast is perfect for a quick start to the day - self serve fresh pastries, biscuits and fresh fruit, along with fresh coffee made and served to your table either inside, or outside on the small terrace.
The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. All have excellent language skills (many are multi-lingual).
The owner probably needs to spend a little time on maintenance to keep the property at standard. We couldn't use our room safe as it was locked (presumably not left open by a previous occupant), and the air conditioning leaked water onto the floor near the door. We reported both issues on the first day, but heard no more about it. We overcame the safe issue by locking our valuables in our suitcases. The water on the floor was near the door didn't pose a huge problem to us, but it is something that should be dealt with.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel based on location alone. Many attractions are within a 10 minute walk and it is close to a metro for everything else.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank myoc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    184
    69
    24
    9
See reviews for
36
210
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for a few days in April. A good location as I could easily walk to many of the sights, there is also a metro stop close by which is handy if you're trying to get anywhere slightly further afield.

The hotel itself is quite basic It was clean and comfortable though and the staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a typical continental and is served in quite a small room at the top of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel 53 (Cinquantatre). It is in a prime spot near the Barberini Metro stop and main attractions. We stayed for over a week and did not have any complaints. Breakfast was the traditional buffet and included (bread, cheese, croissants, cappuccino, expresso, fruit, etc). Our room was tiny but perfect for crashing at night. When we come back to Roma, we would stay at Hotel Cinquantatre again!

Room Tip: 301 was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariavG5817HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is simply delightful. The rooms are clean and furnished well. This is a small hotel but ideal for a stay in Rome. The staff are v friendly and can't help you enough. 10 mins walk from the trevi fountain and well located for bus an metro points. Coffee is so good, although breakfast is limited in choice there's enough to have. Kettle located in the dining area so free to make your own tea or instant coffee during the day or evening. Lovely little terrace too! I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a truly family run hotel. The breakfast is simple, a few cereals, croissants, pastries, toast, juices, milk, teas, coffees, etc. They did have an espresso machine so you could have a latte, cappuccino, etc in the morning. The balcony off the breakfast room was a great place to enjoy breakfast. The room size was small to American standards, but about on par for European sizes. The bathroom was ok sized as well-only issue we had was a leaky shower door.
The great thing about this hotel is the location. Its situated in the middle of a block with the Via Veneto at one end and the Barberini metro station at the other. The Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are with in walking distance as well.
There is a pizza place just next door to the hotel. its only open for lunch and there is always a line.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

When arriving to the hotel there was a minor problem. A one night booking at an nearby located hotel had been made for us to get the problem solved. When arriving back the next day everything was taken care of and we got a really nice room.

The staff was helpful in all ways possible and I will sure stay there when visiting Rome the next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta_Camilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My sister and I visited Rome and stayed at Hotel Cinquantatre for 3 nights, from 10th-13th March. This appeared to be the perfect time to visit the city as it was quieter than the rest of the year. We opted to get a coach from CIA airport to the termini and then walked from the termini to the hotel which took about 25/30 minutes. The hotel is situated perfectly in the centre of Rome; almost every attraction is within walking distance.
On upon arriving to the hotel, despite arriving much earlier than our 2pm check in time, we were allowed to check in and put our suitcases in our room. This was great as it allowed us to explore Rome much sooner than we thought. We stayed in the first room in the hotel on the first floor, it was very nice, and the bathroom was nice, fresh and clean. The decor was nice and we had our own little terrace however not much of a view. The only negatives about the room was the lack of output sockets, the hairdryer didn’t work very well and two of the bulbs were not working in the lights, however this didn’t really affect our stay. The main negative about the hotel itself was the continental breakfast which was disappointing as it mainly consisted of cereal, croissants and toast and was on the 6th floor which was a difficult climb up the stairs.
After dumping our luggage we proceeded to get some lunch, we went to a cafe on the same road as our hotel, I forget the name of it but the staff were very friendly, we bought two sandwiches, both bruschetta and mozzarella, and two bottles of still water, this came to €18, which we thought was expensive, we discovered that this was the prices everywhere.
We then went and visited the Trevi Fountain, which was only a 10 minute walk away and the Basilica at the Pantheon which was only a further 5 minute walk away. We also walked to the Spanish steps which were about a 30 minute walk. We returned to the hotel and decided to get ready and go out for tea. We went for dinner at Carlo’s Pizza, which was a 2 minute walk from our hotel and situated on a road lined with restaurants. We ordered Mushroom Pizza (€12), Carbonara (€13), 2 coke zero’s (€5 each), Tirimasu (€9), Pannacotta (€9) and we got a free glass of prosecco and a free shot of lemoncello, the service charge was €6. The pizza was really nice however the pasta carbonara was not very nice, it arrived a while after the pizza and was also slightly cold. The Tiramisu although not worth €9 was the best I have had. The service here was good and very friendly; I would eat here again but would only order pizza. It was expensive however all the restaurants seemed to have these prices.
We managed to find a Spar supermarket, north of our hotel, which was difficult to find but we were glad we did as we saved a lot of money by making our own packed lunches for the next 3 days.
On the second day we headed out to visit ancient Rome we walked about 35 minutes to the Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele 2nd which was situated right on the edge of the ancient Rome district and is a beautiful monument. As we walked down towards ancient Rome we bumped into an English travel guide called Dave (from Durham) selling tours of the Roman Forum and Coliseum with this Irish company called Italy With Us. At first we were not sure whether to go with a tour company but we were glad we did, although €35 each is a lot, we felt it was worth it as we had a fantastic English speaking guide and we learnt a lot whilst on the tour, as well as this, it meant we didn’t have to queue to get into the coliseum. We had a fantastic day.
In the evening we went for dinner at Ristorante conte de galluccio, on the same road as Carlo’s Pizza, everything was similar priced to Carlo’s Pizza. The food was nicer however it took quite a while to arrive and the service was poor.
On our third day we visited the Vatican, it was a good 45/50 minute walk from the hotel to Vatican City, which might seem far but we really enjoyed the walk as we got to see so much of Rome. We decided to take the tour of the Vatican with the same company, Italy With Us, which again was fantastic. It was €40 each however in the busier season it is €52 each, it was well worth the money and we really enjoyed the tour. We would definitely recommend this tour company to anyone else visiting Rome and wanting to see these attractions.
In the evening we ate at Ristorante conte de galluccio again. The next day was our final day in Rome and unfortunately we only had time for breakfast and to pack before having to make our way back to the Termini to get a coach to the airport.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay and visit Rome the location was perfect, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the price was very reasonable. If we decide to vist Rome again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#459 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#202 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#321 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#170 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Esquilino
Astoria Garden
Astoria Garden
#373 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Colonna
King Hotel
King Hotel
#752 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cinquantatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cinquantatre

Property: Hotel Cinquantatre
Address: Via di San Basilio 53, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #489 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cinquantatre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Eternal City, between the Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto, the Hotel 53 benefits from an exceptional location just a few minutes' walk from the Villa Borghese Gardens. The perfect place to stay at the perfect price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cinquantatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinquantatre Hotel Rome
Cinquantatre Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing