We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #340 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will definitely be back”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

just outside the city centre but wtihin comfortable walking distance of the Colosseum. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were good. Fab rooftop terrace on which to share a nice bottle of wine after a long days sightseeing. Would stay here again when I return to Rome!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    370
    173
    55
    38
See reviews for
185
341
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I really liked the Domus Sessoriana. It has so much character, being in a monastery architecturally connected to the Santa Croce Basilica, one of the seven pilgrimage basilicas of Rome. There is a modern glass elevator that takes you way up to huge hallways with large clean rooms. There is a wonderful terrace at the top with a terrific view of the southern part of Rome. From my room I had a view of the Aurelian walls and San John Lateran. The guys at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for Rome: within the walls in a peaceful location but close to San Giovanni metro stop. I'll definitely stay here next time I am in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmcneill817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

As the other reviews will tell you, this hotel is architecturally amazing (there's a beautiful rooftop patio where you can watch the sunset over the city) but doesn't have a lot of frills. The rooms are average sized with a nice bathroom. There's a small television and a small safe. One thing that may be a drawback to some people is that the beds are very firm. I personally loved it, but it may not be for everyone.

Breakfast in the mornings was cold meats, cheeses, breads, pastries and cereal. Coffee and juice were also provided. Again, nothing fancy but everything was delicious.

Finally, the hotel staff was amazing. Always willing to go above and beyond to help you figure out Rome. We got great restaurant recommendations, bus routes that took us straight from the hotel to the Colosseum, etc. Overall, they were awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I work as a Front Assistant Manager in a well-known norwegian hotel chain. I LAUGH at the other reviews recently posted, I mean, come on - the taxi drivers gave you sideways glances when you said you live at the Domus Sessoriana?? Whole lot of bulls...!

We stayed at the Domus Sessoriana for one whole week, 14-21 aug. Room was very large, with lots of space to put your things in - as well as the safe in the closet. I loved that.
Breakfast was basic, put actually very good. Most italians do not eat breakfast like the rest of us are used to, so this is probably the reason.
Location is very interesting. The basilica is indeed very beautfiul, and well worth a look.
The best about Domus is the rooftop square at which you can take the elevator straight up to. Tables and lots of chairs, and the most amazing view at night! We had many nights up there watching the view eating local cheeses and hams, drinking wine. Beautiful.
Staff is proper and able to speak understandable english, although very basic in my opinion. I guess this is influenced by that most italians have never had the chance to learn english. Aircondition working properly and in order. Busstation right across the street, take line 3 to get to the Colosseum and eareas around.

HOWEVER:
- We had cold water in the shower EVERY day except the one day before we were leaving. I never really said anything to the reception snce the weather was so good it was really great with a cold shower, but something was not right.
- The cleaning staff? Oh my. I've never encountered more "agressive" people. Almost forcing us to get out of the room so they could clean it. And when we did, the cleaning was NOT really the best. They did not clean the floor with water and soap for that whole week, I am sure of it! And what is up for a hotel with not having "DO NOT DISTURB" signs to hang on the door??? I did not thought that was possible!
- TV def. needs an upgrade.
- Bed is standard Italian - hard matress and sheets only, not proper, thick sheets.

All in all - a good hotel, but could be a pot of gold if the owners were aware of what they have under their hands. I mean, big hallways, beautiful monastery garden and view from the rooftop - it is unique. I loved it! It was really something special. All the negative factors written above are in my opinion just small details. I would def. recommend Domus Sess. to others, but not too much families, couples are better off staying here. Thanks for a nice stay! We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor. They are the biggest. We had 116 - it was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne Sofie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

In general not a bad, but basic 3* hotel. She needs updating which would bring her up to a healthy 3 and half stars. Staff were very very friendly, extremely helpful and bilingual. Rooms were small, air conditioned, but more than adequate enough. The free breakfast was pretty basic (but at least it was free !). Hotel is within walking distance to most of the major attractions. Ideal for young couples/people, not so much for families with very young children (under 5's).

Room Tip: A room to the rear of the hotel may be more suitable for the light sleeper, outside noise is tolerab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick_carnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We checked into the Domus Sessoriana on August 4th. The desk staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Our rooms are both quite adequate with air conditioning- mandatory in this thirty-five degree heat! I'm not that keen on the breakfast but the worlds best cappuccino and croissants are just across the street. The bus stops directly in front of this beautiful old church. Have a look inside the basilica- it's absolutely beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not front onto the street due to traffic noise. Our room was very quiet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andycoon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

From the pictures on Trip Advisor, I thought staying here would be interesting. It wasn`t.
From the pictures provided, the rooms look somewhat colorful and there are flowers. Props for the pictures only apparently.

When we checked in, the man behind the desk pointed the way to the room, (across the church entrance to the other side of the building, up the stairs to the elevator, go to the 2nd floor, etc, etc) no help was offered or given.
The rooms are small and dingy. The beds were the hardest we had slept on in our 3 city trip. The pillows flat as pancakes. The 7-10" television looked like it had come from the 70s and the furniture in the room was similarly as old/bad. Better to not have it at all, at least the room would have more space.
The hallways and elevator are dingy and in need of repair/paint. The whole feeling of the place is cold and austere.
The breakfast was nothing special. Very few items to choose from and those that were there were all cold, quick breakfast type items.

We spent hours trying to find another hotels to move to, willing to walk away from the money we had spent on this hotel, just to get a good nights sleep on a proper bed, but the internet connection is so slow and there is only 1 computer so getting on it and getting numbers, then going back up to the room to make calls proved more work and time than we could do.

This hotel is not centrally located. It is in the San Giovani district. Any map of the heart of Rome will show this hotel all the way down in the furthest, furthest, furthest bottom right hand corner. I called the tourist help line- and the lady on the phone agreed and advised me that I wanted to be at least 2-3 metro stops further into the city to be somewhat central.
The walk to the metro is not close or convenient and could be considered sketchy if you are coming back later in the night.

Both Taxi drivers as well as people in the neighborhood gave us sideways glances when we mentioned the hotel, thinking we were part of some strange religious order.

I wish I could find something nice to say about this hotel, but I really can`t think of a thing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knvna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#375 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#274 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#195 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#692 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing