We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monestary/Hotel in rome”
Review of Domus Sessoriana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana
Ranked #295 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Although we went to Rome in 2006 for some reason I never left a review. We booked our trip through Gate One and Court Travel in Charlotte, NC. We flew Luftansa from Charlotte directly to Munich, Germany. When we arrive in Rome our Gate One agent was waiting in baggage claim with a sign with our name on it and after collecting our luggage he drove us straight to our hotel. First before I talk about that I want to say what a fantastic airline Luftansa was. After each meal we were brought warm hand towels to wash our hands and face. No surprises. Everything including seats were exactly as we booked them. We did not want to stay in a touristy part of Rome. We wanted to stay with the locals and to feel like Romans. Our hotel, Domus Sessoriana is a working monestary with part converted to hotel rooms. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel, then do not stay here. The rooms were large, and the bathroom with bidet was adequate. There were two twin beds that we pushed together. Not sure why but the beds were really long. Plus, I took several adapters for my hairdryer that never worked. The hairdryer in the room did not have sufficient air flow. Breakfast was included and in the breakfast room each morning was delicious bread, prosciutto, the most wonderful white cheese I've ever tasted, a pound cake-like slices, and the usual cereals and oatmeal and coffee and fresh juices. Very simple, very good and enough. Although you knew you were in a monestay, you only got a glimpse of a monk. Our hotel was connected to the First Church in Rome which Augustine built for his mother and it is open to the public. There is a huge book in the sanctuary and you can write the name of someone you would like the monks to pray for. Also, they have in a glass box a piece of the cross from Jesus' crucifixion. The monestary/hotel is in a neighborhood. There are several delightful local restaurants just down the street. Also, a local park with lots of people sitting or strolling. All just so wonderful to us. In one of the local restaurants less than a block from the hotel, we had dinner and the owner served us from a pan that looked to be 50 years old or older, right at our table. We couldn't get anyone's attention to get our bill and without our ordering, they brought us dessert, finally we went to the front to pay and they brought wine. So wonderful. So nice to be with the locals. Again, do not stay in this hotel if you are looking for a luxurious hotel room which you will not spend much time in. If you want to stay with the locals in a neighborhood for a good, fair price, and you do not require bells and whistles, I recommend this hotel. We actually went in November 2006 but the website did not give me a past date as an option. I will tell you that November was a great time to visit Rome. Crowds way down. Weather is cool but you can layer.
'

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cc connections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel has unique atmosphere, it is siuated in monastery, with long corridors and huge rooms. It is situated close to Colloseum (15 minutes walking) and close to metro station (5 minutes walking). It is surrounded with small restaurants and fast foods. In walking distance is also huge market... I was very cold in the room and also it was quiet dirty and lacking the maintenance, so it is probably better in the summer, also internet didnt work in the room just on the corridor what was inconvenient, because of the noise.Big positive is amazing rooftop, where you can spend nice time. The breakfast average, but staff was kind... Overall very special place, but not for everyone.( you have feeling being in monastery rather than a hotel)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here 10 years ago when we were married in Rome, so decided to stay here again for our 10th Wedding anniversary while travelling in Italy.
The rooms- while probably more spacious than most in Rome, need a lick of paint to freshen them up. Its not the place it was 10 years ago.
When we checked in we were given the key to our room - only to find that it had not been cleaned, as the bedding & towels of the previous occupant were still there. When we contacted reception this was swiftly dealt with - but to me showed a lack of management oversight. We also had to ask for the free metro/ bus ticket - that was offered as part of our deal by booking on the website.
Breakfast is adequate- no more no less.
On our final night in Rome - we had booked an executive room- this was of a poorer standard than our previous room, the only benefit was that it had free wifi!
If you are able to secure a rate of 100 euros or less per night - then this hotel does offer value for money, especially if you are willing to walk and use public transport. If you are quoted a lot more - then you may be able to secure better accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogaladyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our first time in Rome and the hotel made the visit. It is a historical site in its own right. I would suggest that it may not be for everyone. This is not to disparage the place, it is located in an old monastery, built on the site of a roman palace as well as an amphitheatre. The beautiful Santa Croce in Gerusalemme church is located between the main part of the hotel and its other wing. The hotel itself is clean and very comfortable. The staff on the desk are very helpful, although on the first day we were told, as smokers we had to go out of the hotel over the road or up on the roof terrace to have a cigarette. This was not true, as we found out during the stay there were plenty of places (Sorry non-smokers but this DOES matter to those who smoke). The layout of the hotel is determined by the historical legacy and the corridors are huge. The lift is not like most others, as it does not seem to work in any particular order, you may have to wait a short while. The stairs do not go from top to bottom either as on one floor they run out and you have to go onto a roof staircase to make the final journey. Confusing as it sounds this does not make it difficult for anyone with mobility issues, it is merely an observation. in general the hotel is quiet, there is a limited café/refreshments service in the evening although there are coffee and drinks machines available. There is no room service. The roof terrace is great and gives some lovely views across the city, The Lateran can be seen clearly just up the road and it is possible to see some of the Coliseum as well as the dome of St Peters Basilica. Closer still you can look out onto the monks garden below on the site and within the walls of the ancient Amphitheatre The Aurelian city walls are yards away and a good view is afforded also of the ruins of the Varian Circus which are within the hotel grounds. There is the National Museum of Musical Instruments about 50 yards away but this was closed for refurbishment. It is possible to catch a tram or bus yards outside the hotel and there're are restaurants close by. There is also a pick up and bring home service for a good restaurant nearby. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the Lateran and the Omnia round the city tour route.
We had limited mobility during this visit but would certainly return to the Domus Sessoriana

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the monks garden afford a nice view. Pack a travel kettle and some tea bags, whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortsmouthNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The rooms are good but lack of maintenance as on the walls there are scrapings that have not been repaired or evident mendings not well done. The hotel is located in an ancient convent but it's not noticeable from the room interior as it is quite modern. It's clean and quite comfortable anyway. The staff is kind. The whole area is a historical zone dating back to the Roman Empire era.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Land00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We've been visiting Rome in August and stayed at Domus for 5 days. I was well impressed by the property of the place (linen, room cleaning, buffet was good too) and the receptionist was very friendly and ready to help with advice. We walked every day to the main spots in the city because it wasn't far and although it was very hot, the running fountains were a blessing. I liked it and I recommended it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you are paying for a hotel to get the 5 star treatment, this may not be right for you. If you are going to Rome for an experience of the history, people, and culture... this might be perfect. I read other reviews before I left... the beds aren't the best, there are no extra pillows... and our room did have a mildewy smell to it. However, the staff was amazing and helpful in any way they could be. The location was historic and convenient in terms of metro or buses. I really enjoyed the history of the place. The rooftop terrace is lovely with a great view. The breakfast is a great add on. There is a computer downstairs with internet access... so unless you are spending your Roman vacation Facebooking people on a daily basis, you really aren't missing out on anything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassandraJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#444 of 1,271 in Rome
433 reviews
Chroma Pente
#229 of 1,271 in Rome
247 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Resort la Rocchetta
#285 of 1,271 in Rome
199 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#156 of 1,271 in Rome
1,342 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana

Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#105 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £37 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Sessoriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing