We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service Needs Improvement”
Review of Domus Sessoriana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana
Ranked #311 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a unique hotel. The outside is very impressive, the inside very interesting and very old. The oval window of our room (number 10) opened up into the dome of the basilica and we were awakened from our siesta by the beautiful noise of Sunday Mass.
That's where it all ended though....
The first room we were given had broken air con and we were told no other rooms were available. It was only when we told them we were going to put this on Tripadvisor that a room suddenly became available.
Apart from that we felt the hotel was very expensive for the very basic facilities you were offered. Breakfast was pretty basic, the room very basic for the cost, we were not allowed to see any of the amphitheatre they boast about (although curiously outside tourists are allowed to?), there was no wifi in the room but worst of all the customer service needs an overhaul.
Positives: a good late check out made life much easier on the last day, a very interesting building (what little you are allowed to see).
Negatives: the dinner was incredibly small and basic, very basic room for the very expensive cost, poor customer service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Freemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear guest,
First of all thank you for spending some of your time leaving your opinion about your stay. We always appreciate the comments of our guests to know what we need to improve. We are glad you enjoyed the building but the whole complex includes also the basilica and the vicairate offices and those areas are not allowed to be visited. About the anphitheatre, on our web site there is a link to book the visit and in the lobby as well there are information explaining that the visit is possible only through reservation. About our customer service we regret you didn't enjoyed, some member of our staff hasn't a lot of experience and we are aware they need to improve the standard of the service they offer. We are training them and we are sure they will be able to encounter our guests queries at the best.
Best regards.

Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel with no apparent flaws or positive points to talk about. The locations is entertaining, it is in fact in a church. The place has competent and helpful staff, do not hesitate to ask for help from them. They do not reserve a perfect raiting though, wifi is only available in the longue, and the entrance is hard to find.

2  Thank Gyula S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for opinion about your stay at Domus Sessoriana. We are persuaded that our guests feedback is very important in order to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Many travelers now seek accommodation in “historic hotels.” In Europe, converted monasteries and palaces are among the most popular building types remodeled for tourists. Domus Sessoriana is both of these. It was in the Palace Sessoriana that Helena, Emperor Constantine’s mother, deposited part of Jesus’ cross that she legendarily found in Jerusalem. The palace was later refashioned as a church, Sta. Croce in Gerusalemme, the smallest of the seven great pilgrimage churches of Rome. Attached to the church was a monastery, occupied since the 16th century by Cistercians. The Cistercians, a reformed order of Benedictines, were famous in the Middle Ages for the sublime austerity of their architecture. The late Baroque reconstruction of the church and monastery suggests that Cistercians had acquired more sumptuous tastes by the 18th century.
Some parts of the hotel make you all too aware of the structure’s essential monastic function: our bathroom (which had only a narrow shower), room furnishings, and temperature control suggest a renunciation of creature comforts. The subterranean hall by which reception is attached to the guestrooms is the sole common area. Only here, if you are lucky, do you get Internet reception. Here too is a bar that I never found open. And off this hall is the un-windowed basement refectory where breakfast and dinner are served.
Other parts of the hotel feel more like they belong to a palace. The main halls of the guestroom block are enormous, light-filled and elaborately vaulted. The rooms themselves are generously sized. Our window opened on to gardens that provided a beautiful view as well as protection from the noise of the city. The room rate equally suggests that you are staying in a palace, not a monastery.
The conversion of the monastery into a hotel was begun by its abbot, a former fashion designer, whose unconventional practices led to the monastery’s closure by the Vatican in 2011. (See, http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-13559219.) The structure’s ambivalence as to what it is—a hotel or a monastery—is matched by that of its administrators. Within walking distance of two of the other great pilgrimage churches—San Giovanni in Laterano and Sta. Maria Maggiore—and rather remote from the ancient pagan core of Rome, this is a perfect place for a pious, well-off pilgrim to stay. Travelers expecting up-to-date services with their history should perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,

very few among our guests spend their own time seeking historical information about the site where Domus Sessoriana is located. We are very pleased to know that you are aware not only about the church of Holy Cross in Gerusalem but the other churches of Rome as well.
As you well pointed out this is a very ancient site which has seen very different epochs and uses. Moreover, by the italian laws, very few changes are possible. By converting this building into an hotel we tried to respect at the best its ancient vocation, also to mantain intact its charm. Some of the information you reported about the works that have been done are not exact but what we really didn't understand is your insinuation about the ambivalence of the administrator. We are at your disposal to clarify every doubt you may have about the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013 (I just forgot to write a review so had to select March 14)
We really loved the whole place, it's so unique. Our room was quite small but we've had much smaller. It was very clean with a terrace outside. The rooms were very quiet and the location is good for the Colosseum. To be honest we walked most places but there is a metro near by. We didn't even realise the basilica joining it was still in use. You MUST go and look. It is amazing, by far the most colouful one we visited. Really good value for money. We loved it

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest, we are so happy you have such a good souvenier of your stay even if more than a year passed by. We appreciated a lot your words about us and we hope you can come back again so now you can enjoy our restaurant as well.
Thnk you and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Staying in such a beautiful site is a lovely experience. The hotel is within walking distance of metro,tram,and visits to some known historic sites.We had a beautiful spacey room with basic interior and not as clean as we expected based on previous reviews. The staff, except for the breakfast attendants, are friendly and very willing to assist you.
What is a bit disappointing though is that more effort can be put in making it more cosy with more than a few seats on a very large floor so guests usually sat on the floor, apply cushions on the steel furniture,in short be more welcoming in that way too and not only rely on the fact this is by origin a unique hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest,
We always really appreciate every opinion of our guests, in particular yours was quite relevant for us because you highlighted the historic value of the site. We took in great consideration your suggestions even if we are trying to respect the ancient vocation of this building being a monastery.
We thank you for the preference you accorded to us and please accept our kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Not impressed with staff at all. Housekeeping left room door unlocked & reception staff completely unconcern and unhelpful. Not an easy place to find. Rooms ok although basic. Building itself is impressive, well maintain. Would not be going back to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Helen,

I'm so sorry you find our staff unhelpful. Usually everyone in his own area is prepared and delighted to give assistance to our guests, also with information about Roma. By the way we took in great consideration your opinion and asked to all the staff to be more attentive to the requests they receive. We hope you are going to change your mind and come back to visit us in order to show you our ospitality.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nice hotel in a historical building near city centre, helpful english speaking staff, very good breakfast, free wifi at reception and lobby, tram stop in front of the hotel (direct line to Colosseum - 5 mins), metro station 10 mins walking (3 stops to Termini).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#246 of 1,269 in Rome
272 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,269 in Rome
679 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#254 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#212 of 1,269 in Rome
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana

Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £39 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Sessoriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing