We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, basic but pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #336 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average hotel, basic but pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

As stated in previous reviews, this hotel is a converted monastery which means it is a very interesting place to stay. It's not much else though.

Wifi is available but only in the common areas and the connection/speed isn't great. The rooms have a bit of a hostel feel to them, don't expect much more than a place to rest your head after a day of touring Rome! Our room was basic and the shower/bathing facilities weren't great. The attachment for the head of the shower was at waist height in the bath, so you had to lift it up and hold it above head height. Rooms are a bit shabby and in need of a lick of paint, but not bad for the price.

The location is quite far out from the main drag, but there are good transport links to the city centre nearby. It's quite nice staying away from the main tourism areas as the restaurants tend to be cheaper and of better quality, which is a bonus! The church attached to the hotel is lovely and well worth a visit.

At breakfast the staff seemed hurried and completely uninterested in diners. They come rushing through the hall with top ups for the breakfast buffet with no regard to customers trying to have a quiet dining experience and the impression we got was that they really didn't want to be there at all. The breakfast itself was extremely basic. 2 cereal choices, and the rest was all bread and pastries. No fresh fruit or anything like that (the closest you'll get is a fruit flavoured yoghurt!).

The housekeeping staff were very noisy in the mornings (their office was near our room) and they appear to have to have no regard for guests trying to sleep around 6am, banging doors and talking loudly amongst themselves, which wasn't great. What I will say is that the air con is very efficient in the rooms and street noise was not a problem, despite our room looking out to the street!

Overall, a good, interesting place to stay, but don't expect much more than a basic room and poor-average service. It ain't no Hilton.

Room Tip: The hotel is quite sprawling, with rooms all over the place, perhaps requesting a room near the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottishExplorer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    368
    171
    54
    38
See reviews for
182
339
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice area to stay. The church at the hotel and the others at the end of the park are amazing. You probably would never get to see these if you did not stay in this area.Nice and close to the metro or tram. In the evenings at the end of the park there is an open area with tents serving fresh and excellent value food and music. The staff are very helpful, If I had to complain about one thing the beds and pillows are really hard and uncomfortable, it is very much a monastery more than a hotel. I would not of swapped my stay as the restaurants and relics chapel and audio tour of the churches in this area will always stay with me. Its not fair to give this hotel a bad review because its so unique but again to be honest your not going to like it if you are expecting a soft comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Look in the wardrobes for spare pillows or quilts to make the beds a little more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this hotel on the day we arrived in Rome as a replacement for the hotel we originally booked which was awful...
The staff in the Domus Sessoriana where so welcoming when we arrived and even let us take our room 3 hours earlier then the booking in time. The Hotel itself is an old monastery and looks amazing . The roof terrace is lovely to sit on during the day or even the night. The only downfall of the hotel was the food, Breakfast was lovely and fresh but they offer a 3 course evening meal for 16 euro per person , there is no choice as its a set menu , and on the 1 occasion we had it i didnt think it was really worth the money.
Location is great for many historical sights, lots of old churches, the holy stair case, colosseum only a 15 minute walk away. Great metro link to get you to all the othe places of interest

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is a unique hotel. The outside is very impressive, the inside very interesting and very old. The oval window of our room (number 10) opened up into the dome of the basilica and we were awakened from our siesta by the beautiful noise of Sunday Mass.
That's where it all ended though....
The first room we were given had broken air con and we were told no other rooms were available. It was only when we told them we were going to put this on Tripadvisor that a room suddenly became available.
Apart from that we felt the hotel was very expensive for the very basic facilities you were offered. Breakfast was pretty basic, the room very basic for the cost, we were not allowed to see any of the amphitheatre they boast about (although curiously outside tourists are allowed to?), there was no wifi in the room but worst of all the customer service needs an overhaul.
Positives: a good late check out made life much easier on the last day, a very interesting building (what little you are allowed to see).
Negatives: the dinner was incredibly small and basic, very basic room for the very expensive cost, poor customer service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Freemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for spending some of your time leaving your opinion about your stay. We always appreciate the comments of our guests to know what we need to improve. We are glad you enjoyed the building but the whole complex includes also the basilica and the vicairate offices and those areas are not allowed to be visited. About the anphitheatre, on our web site there is a link to book the visit and in the lobby as well there are information explaining that the visit is possible only through reservation. About our customer service we regret you didn't enjoyed, some member of our staff hasn't a lot of experience and we are aware they need to improve the standard of the service they offer. We are training them and we are sure they will be able to encounter our guests queries at the best.
Best regards.

Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel with no apparent flaws or positive points to talk about. The locations is entertaining, it is in fact in a church. The place has competent and helpful staff, do not hesitate to ask for help from them. They do not reserve a perfect raiting though, wifi is only available in the longue, and the entrance is hard to find.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gyula S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for opinion about your stay at Domus Sessoriana. We are persuaded that our guests feedback is very important in order to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Many travelers now seek accommodation in “historic hotels.” In Europe, converted monasteries and palaces are among the most popular building types remodeled for tourists. Domus Sessoriana is both of these. It was in the Palace Sessoriana that Helena, Emperor Constantine’s mother, deposited part of Jesus’ cross that she legendarily found in Jerusalem. The palace was later refashioned as a church, Sta. Croce in Gerusalemme, the smallest of the seven great pilgrimage churches of Rome. Attached to the church was a monastery, occupied since the 16th century by Cistercians. The Cistercians, a reformed order of Benedictines, were famous in the Middle Ages for the sublime austerity of their architecture. The late Baroque reconstruction of the church and monastery suggests that Cistercians had acquired more sumptuous tastes by the 18th century.
Some parts of the hotel make you all too aware of the structure’s essential monastic function: our bathroom (which had only a narrow shower), room furnishings, and temperature control suggest a renunciation of creature comforts. The subterranean hall by which reception is attached to the guestrooms is the sole common area. Only here, if you are lucky, do you get Internet reception. Here too is a bar that I never found open. And off this hall is the un-windowed basement refectory where breakfast and dinner are served.
Other parts of the hotel feel more like they belong to a palace. The main halls of the guestroom block are enormous, light-filled and elaborately vaulted. The rooms themselves are generously sized. Our window opened on to gardens that provided a beautiful view as well as protection from the noise of the city. The room rate equally suggests that you are staying in a palace, not a monastery.
The conversion of the monastery into a hotel was begun by its abbot, a former fashion designer, whose unconventional practices led to the monastery’s closure by the Vatican in 2011. (See, http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-13559219.) The structure’s ambivalence as to what it is—a hotel or a monastery—is matched by that of its administrators. Within walking distance of two of the other great pilgrimage churches—San Giovanni in Laterano and Sta. Maria Maggiore—and rather remote from the ancient pagan core of Rome, this is a perfect place for a pious, well-off pilgrim to stay. Travelers expecting up-to-date services with their history should perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

very few among our guests spend their own time seeking historical information about the site where Domus Sessoriana is located. We are very pleased to know that you are aware not only about the church of Holy Cross in Gerusalem but the other churches of Rome as well.
As you well pointed out this is a very ancient site which has seen very different epochs and uses. Moreover, by the italian laws, very few changes are possible. By converting this building into an hotel we tried to respect at the best its ancient vocation, also to mantain intact its charm. Some of the information you reported about the works that have been done are not exact but what we really didn't understand is your insinuation about the ambivalence of the administrator. We are at your disposal to clarify every doubt you may have about the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013 (I just forgot to write a review so had to select March 14)
We really loved the whole place, it's so unique. Our room was quite small but we've had much smaller. It was very clean with a terrace outside. The rooms were very quiet and the location is good for the Colosseum. To be honest we walked most places but there is a metro near by. We didn't even realise the basilica joining it was still in use. You MUST go and look. It is amazing, by far the most colouful one we visited. Really good value for money. We loved it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_Domus, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Domus Sessoriana Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest, we are so happy you have such a good souvenier of your stay even if more than a year passed by. We appreciated a lot your words about us and we hope you can come back again so now you can enjoy our restaurant as well.
Thnk you and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#373 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#261 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#195 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#256 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#690 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing