We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay or pray”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Ranked #300 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Jersey Shore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay or pray”
Reviewed 28 March 2010

The hotel was about 45-50 minutes from the airport and the drive was interesting to say the least. lots of twists and turns down side streets packed with people. the hotel itself is awesome it is still a functioning church which i thought was a nice touch. the staff (valentina) was very friendly and spoke fluent english, they also knew the area well and had maps. the breakfast buffet was very good. the room was nice to sleep relax and shower but thats about it ask for an extra room key because the key activates the electric, we had to leave the room while our electronics charged so getting the extra key was a must. . there was a refrigerator which was nice because there is a grocery about 2 mins walk away. there is also a little pizza place that sells various foods, get yourself some fresh mozzerella it was the best ive ever had. the church is open till 7pm and is beautiful you can take pics but remember to be respectful. the metro was about a ten minute walk from the hotel, we used it to get to the trevi fountain which was another 15 minutes from metro walking, the vatican again about 15 minutes walk after surfacing. we took a cab from the vatican to the colosseum it was about 15 euro for the cab ride. the trevi fountain was really nice and had great picture opportunities. the vatican was completely awesome we did a private tour with when in rome tours(we also did a trip to pompeii and sorrento with them) and it was well worth the price. you are NOT allowed to take pics in the sistine chapel. we didnt go inside the colosseum because numerous tour guides told us it wasnt worth it and you can see alot from outside which was true. there are stairs across the street from the colosseum to a metro entrance near these stairs there is a little place called risto cafe, go in there and eat, great food, excellent service,vast variety of food.keep in mind that the food servers in europe are paid a salary so if you want to tip 1-2 euro is sufficient. italy was fantastic and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmtrees777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    391
    185
    56
    39
See reviews for
202
368
44
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orotina, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This is a part of a monastery and still has the echoing corridors and although the rooms have all mod cons, ensuites, minibar (empty for your goodies), the beds are a bit hard and the echoey corridors ensure that any noise at night has the potential to disturb you. The breakfast is the usual simple cold meats and cheese, cereal etc. The Church which forms part of the building is still in use and quite interesting. The hotel is in a nice setting and has great views from the roof terrace. It is not very central, however, and there are limited bars, restaurants etc in the area. The metro is a 15 minute walk away and you may have to get to grips with the intricacies of the buses if you don't want to get a taxi. Reception staff are multilingual and helpful.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ayacastle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Even if the hotel is inside an old monastery, it's very modern for a hotel in Italy, specially Rome. Normally the hotels there are expensive and in very bad conditions.
The only negative point for us was the cold. That was a very cold week in Rome and the room didn't get warm not even with the heating at the highest temperature the whole day (as we had two keys, we did it once to test how it would be).
Anyway, the rooms are equipped according to the simple monk life, having really only the essential.
The location was perfect as we didn't want to stay in that chaos at the town center.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazitRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2009

This hotel is inside a church, from outside it looks so beautiful and decent, cause the other side of the building live some monks. However, inside the room, so tiny and simple, you will choose this for only a place to sleep and take shower. It faces a busy street, at nights we sometimes heard lovers singing songs just below our windows. However this was very interesting experience, cause we were so tired and those noises from street wouldn't affect us, listening to mid-night love songs was not bad either!! The location a bit far from those major sight-seeings, take some walk to get the train station. Overall, this hotel is for experiencing living in a church.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlingxiexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

pros:
- good staff, cheerful staff helping at breakfast. helped with luggage, early checkin, excellent on this front.
- hotel was a monastry and the church next to the hotel has a lot of good history, its a good feeling.

cons:
- bad rooms, if you are unlucky like us you can get a bad room with really small windows and bad ventilation.
- no privacy, room walls and doors are paper thin, hear everything in the next rooms and people walking/talking in the corridor.
- air conditioning did not work. Even if its cold outside our poorly ventilated room heated up, we had to open window and sleep, then close again when it gets too cold and so on.
- has only one slow elevator, can take for ever to get down or go up.
- little or no decor in the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank we1nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Positive: 1) Room has the necessary amenities: The bathroom is quite spacious for the room we had; however, it has no toilet papers when we arrived. We found out later this was because the toiler paper rack was dysfunctional, which they didn't repair and hence no toilet papers refilled. 2) Quite neat to stay in a converted monastery, which is spacious, clean, and offers quite a different experience. 3) Breakfast offered is quite complete.

Negative: 1) The major one is that Internet access is NOT FREE. Didn't find out about this until arrival. In room WiFi is unavailable. Internet access costs $3 for a meager two hours and $5 for five hours. Annoying given that Internet is such an essential amenity these days. In hindsight, would book elsewhere just on this alone: $5 euro a night can get you a better place already. 2) The room isn't quiet, though the hotel is in a relatively quiet neighborhood. Was able to hear next door flushing toilets and traffic noise in the morning. 2) The location/direction given on the hotel website is hard to find. My friend and I, arriving on separate days, both had trouble locating this hotel once we walked out of the Metro station in S. Giovanni (it took me more than 30 min to finally find and walk to this hotel; my friend was simply lost and had to contact me). It's more than 500 meters away from the Metro station (had to cross major, busy streets, too).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This hotel is set in a residential area on the edge of the tourist map. parts of the building are 200 years old - the hotel literature states that it was a Roman residence prior to becoming a monastery and latterly a hotel. We had a large but spartan room. However it was clean and had all we needed. The children were disappointed that the TV did not work however we did not get roound to pointing this out to staff. We had a great view from our room of the San Giovanni in Laterano church and great views from the roof terrace (sadly too cool at this time of year to sit out in evenings).
Staff speak English and are attentive.
We had views over the Monastery's garden but were disappointed that we could not get access - the church however is readily accessible.
transport to the city centre is varied - there are 2 buses from just outside the door - 1 to colosseum and 1 to Vatican - we managed to get to the sites relatively easily except on Sunday when the Vatican bus didn't seem to run. We weren't so lucky in getting buses back from the centre however a lot of buses go to San Giovanni and it is only a 5 min walk from there.
Would recommend a Roma Pass for adults if you are there for 3 days - can just hop on and off transport and also includes entrance to major sites - then can avoid queues at Colosseum and Forum. Do however have to obtain free tickets for children (for EU residents) and may need to queue for these at sites. Public transport told is free for under 10y.
Recommend Porto Corallo restaurant off Via Biancamano (behind Via Carlo Felice) - great food and service.
Only drawback to our stay in this hotel is that a conference was held on our first night and we were prevented from getting to sleep early by noise from delegates then noise from trolleys being taken up and down corridor.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exI-nterrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#220 of 1,261 in Rome
262 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#452 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#276 of 1,261 in Rome
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#778 of 1,261 in Rome
396 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#228 of 1,261 in Rome
657 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#271 of 1,261 in Rome
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Sessoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Sessoriana Hotel

Property: Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Sessoriana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Sessoriana is a 3 Stars Superior Hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Rome, near the Papal Archbasilica of St. John in the Lateran and the Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem. The hotel has 80 rooms of different types: single, double, triple and quadruple room. It offers many services to its clients, such a 24 hour Reception, a buffet breakfast served on the terrace with panoramic views of Rome, multi-lingual staff and much more. Each room has a private bathroom. The hotel coincides with a large area of the Benedictine Monastery completely renovated, equipped with every comfort and immersed in a scenery of inestimable value. On the top floor of the Domus Sessoriana there is a beautiful roof garden, where breakfast is served (outdoor and indoor). The hotel offers various food and beverage service: bar, snack bar, restaurant. It also has meeting rooms for corporate events, conferences and workshops, companing the capacity of the structure and the quality of business services. The hotel has free wifi. Other guests appreciate the excellent quality/price ratio. Thanks to its position, also well-served by public transportation, Domus Sessoriana is an ideal starting point for discovering Rome and its extraordinary monuments and artistic heritage: Coliseum, Appia Way Park, Circus Maximus and Palatine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Sessoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Sessoriana Rome
Hotel Domus Sessoriana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing