We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flower Garden Hotel
Ranked #465 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, nothing special”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've stayed at Flower Garden for 2 nights and I'm satisfied with my stay. The hotel is advertised as a 3 star hotel and pretty much lives up to the European standard of 3 star hotels, but it's more of a tourist, than business, hotel. It was clean, the rooms were not very spacious but large enough. The hotel is located within a walking distance from both Termini Railway Station and Plaza Republica metro. The neighbourhood has plenty of bars and restaurants. Staff was OK, although there was a mix up with getting a room with a double bed instead of twin bed and they wouldn't want to fix it because we were told that there are no more rooms with twin beds. We found out, however, that all the double beds are just two twin beds put together and we were able to fix it ourselves. One thing that I was dissapointed with was the breakfast, rather poor as for a 3 star hotel despite being quite expensive. For that price, you can have a much better breakfast in one of the local cafes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    125
    103
    36
    14
See reviews for
53
120
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We booked to stay here for 2 nights in March 2012, When we arrived at 10am on the Friday we were told our room was not ready so they would store our luggage, they then gave as a map an sent us on our way !!! We returned at 5pm, tired after a long flight, walking milesd round Colosseum, and hungry, we were told a pipe had burst so they had booked us into a different hotel next door called The Flower Garden. We had to stay there one night and return to them in the morning,. The flower garden was tiny, the room had 2 small single beds, tiny shower and was dark and dull, we did get a quiet comfy night though but hadnt payed for a small twin room. Breakfast was crossients cake or cereal or slices of bread !!!!
We went back to the Impero the following day as told to do so and they held our bags again as room was not ready. returned at around 4pm and our room was big and all marble but extremly cold and damp with no tv and no shower only a bath which was horrible, This also had single beds which were hard uncomfortable and wooden so noisy with even the slightest movement. At 2am we were woken by a horrific scary banging noise which frightened the life out of me but there was no explanation as to what this this could have been, could not get baack to sleep as there were noisey people in street and street cleaners!

Would never stay at either hotel here again !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaeleyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

thessaloniki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel really disappointed me! Although its location was in a very convenient point, the service wasn't satisfying at all! The bathroom was so narrow, you couldn't actually turn your body or raise your hands in order to be washed! Furthermore, there was an annoying deep noise occasionally that didn't let you to rest...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gianntrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We got a good rate here so booked before we came to Rome. It was in a good location (close to the train station) so that worked for us. Although we were not looking for luxury (the small room with bathroom worked out for us) it was mediocre. My two complaints are that the front desk guys smoked and the whole place smelled of smoke, including the towels etc. A bit gross...
Also, the breakfast (that we got included) was pretty bad. Yogurt from a machine, bad coffee, and stale pastries. Blah

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghanB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed with a friend in a twin room for four nights while in Rome. The room itself was ok, reasonable size for Europe, very small bathroom. The floor was very nice. It's very close to the Termi train station.
It was quite hot while we were there and while the room had an air conditioner it didn't seem to work very well. It was very hot and stuffy, not to bad if we opened the window but we couldn't have it open for long because our room was facing a very noisy street.
The one problem we really had with the room was that there wasn't a power point to use. We had to move the quite heavy desk (and mini bar) and unplug the TV to be able to use a power point.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok.
Also I've read reviews saying it's about a 15 minute walk to the train station but it's less than that. It's only two blocks over and it shouldn't take longer than 5 minutes even with traffic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Booked there for 3 nights in September and could not sleep due to the heat. The aircon does not work and the reception talk to you in Italian (pretentious). He will not transfer you to another room with good aircon; maybe all aircon is not working. I'm from the Philippines and I am used to hot weather. However if you are put in this hotel room with small window; it's like an oven. You can only sleep when you're mind is finally exhausted at 3am.... you wake up with a headache.... look at the hotel maps and there are lots of hotels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungCouple1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a somewhat characterless but good value hotel with all the facilities you are likely to need for a short stay in the city. The rooms are small but well appointed with ensuite facilities that were clean and modern. The hotel is well-located about 15 minutes walk from Termini (railway and metro station) and walking distance to the Colosseum or Trevi Fountain. The continental breakfast buffet is adequate (I would have welcomed fresh fruit) and the front desk helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueheron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Impero
Hotel Impero
#287 of 1,291 in Rome
1,052 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#207 of 1,291 in Rome
1,176 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,291 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,291 in Rome
783 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#733 of 1,291 in Rome
215 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#265 of 1,291 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Hotel

Property: Flower Garden Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale 7, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flower Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flower Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Garden Rome
Hotel Flower Garden
Flower Garden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing