We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but nice”
Review of Marc'Aurelio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
Ranked #539 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at Marc Aurelio Hotel in April 2014 for 2 nights.
It is an ok hotel, with pretty big rooms, a comfy bed and clean bathroom.
The guy from reception did not speak very well English and it was a little hard to understand each other, but finally everything was ok.
The breakfast is the same everyday, but you have enough to eat.
Our room was fine, but our friends which stayed in another room, had problems with hot water in the shower (I think in the late hours, the hotel is stopping hot water).
The metro station is far away, but you have a bus station at max 10 min walk which goes directly to Vatican.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denis Georgiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Marc'Aurelio Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel, quiet, clean and with all the necessary facilities. The staff is very nice and helpful. There are buses to the city centre and the underground is at a walking distance. There are shops and restaurants nearby and a very good ice cream parlour just up the street!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank anappires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The staff here are really friendly, there is an AC unit, and the rooms are kept clean by daily maids. However, the furniture is quite dated, and in our room the tiles were falling off the walls in the shower. You can see a pool through the back window, however it is drained and full of rubbish which was a shame.
The hotel is fairly far away from the airport, but this is not a problem. A few reviews complained about the taxi prices from the hotel to the sights, but there are plenty of buses and the metro is not far away at all. We bought a 3 day metro pass (you can use on some buses aswell) for 16 euros each, which is ideal for getting to anywhere you need to go.
From the airport to the hotel, get the bus to Anagnina, then the metro to Cornelia. From there it is a 10 minute walk to the hotel.
Breakfast is nice enough, mostly carbs (cereal, bread, cakes) with no fresh fruit.
We stayed 4 nights, and didn't sleep a whole night for any of them. The walls are quite thin and unfortunately we had very loud neighbours who liked to shout and sing at 4/5 am, this was not the hotel's fault but it make our stay less enjoyable.
The reception area is huge, with sofas, but there was never anyone using it. You have to pay for wifi. The breakfast area is big enough to be a restaurant as well, but we weren't aware of food being served at night.
The hotel is a lovely building, with a lot of potential, however it just needs a bit of TLC.

Overall, we came to Rome to see the sights, so a simple room didn't bother us, but as you have to pay extra city tax for a 4* hotel we don't think it deserves the rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fional178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked to stay here on our short break in Rome, very nice hotel, rooms were clean and tidy and spacious for even a family. The room had good facilities in it including air-conditioning, a fridge, a safe and a large wardrobe area. The reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful and spoke good English which helped with communication. The breakfast and Dinner were basic but were value for money. The wifi was not free, but was not expensive and you were able to use it anywhere in the hotel. The only cons with this hotel is firstly the location, it is a bit out of the way but the metro station is only a short walk away and if you invest in a Roma Pass you are able to use the metro station with one ticket for a few days which helps you get around Rome easy. Restaurants, a super market and small shops are also only a short walk away so it is not in the middle of nowhere. The second con is that there seem to be a lot of groups staying there, we had read about this on other reviews and whilst we were there a very large group of School children stayed there, they did not cause any problem with us - however we weren't staying on their floor or a floor close to them. But overall the stay in this hotel was value for money and the location did mean that it was in a quiet area which is good when staying in a city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel, if you are planning to see the sights of Rome try and book a hotel nearer to the center of the city.
The hotel is a fair distance to the sights but they can be reached by a short journey on the metro (3 stops i think). The metro station is in walking distance a costs 1.5euro one way.
The best way to get to the hotel from the airport is to get a bus/coach to the main city terminus about 6euros,then get the red metro line to station Cornelia. Its about a 10/15min walk to the hotel,it would be easier to contact the hotel before hand or use google for further directions.
The hotel itself is clean and the staff are very helpful. We only had breakfast which was very basic and of cheap quality. Snacks are served from the bar but are overpriced and not up to much.
We can recommend the chinese restaurant up on the main road its easy to find as its the only place open in the evening after about 8 o clock.
A good tip if you want to visit the Vatican Museum & Sistine Chapel avoid the ques by purchasing a no line ticket for a set time the next day, these tickets cost a little more but you dont have to que for 2 or 3 hours with everyone else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a Four night stay here and to be honest we couldn't fault the place, the rooms are maintained and cleaned to a high standard and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Its in a fairly quiet neighbourhood so no problems with noise, the only downside is the daily taxi ride into the ancient parts cost between 15-20 Euros, but that's no big deal when you split the fare 3 ways like we did, definitely going back next year. Oh yeah, and there's a nice friendly little restaurant at the top of the road (10mins)
One bad point was that the pool was drained and looked unused, but I didn't ask about so there may be a valid reason for that ?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

For tourists, the location is poor. It really is out in the sticks, and a taxi from the central train station, or to the airport, will set you back around 50 euros. Fortunately there were instructions provided by the hotel as to how to use the local buses - which is what we ended up doing to get in and out of central Rome. As for the room - really really basic. I had to use towels and items of clothing from my luggage to make up for the lack of pillows - the two provided were so flat as to be completely useless. Ended up with a sore back from the terrible mattress too. WiFi is not included, and isn't cheap to buy - and it's not easy to use as the signal was really poor. Included breakfast was a nice surprise. Nothing fancy but a decent choice of breakfast foods and a clean dining area. The area surrounding the hotel isn't fantastic either - do not go to the bar accross the road - they'll rip you off! Up on the main street (around a ten minute walk from the hotel) there are shops and small cafe/bar type places but nothing too special. This hotel is overrated - don't beleive their claims of being a 4 star hotel - I think they must have bribed someone to get those stars! Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere closer to central Rome. The staff were friendly and helpful, but that just wasn't enough to justify staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
90211, Proprietario at Marc'Aurelio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014
Google Translation

Egregia Signora,
vorrei gentilmente farLe oesservare alcuni aspetti che di seguito vado ad esporre:
- la posizione: la stessa Tripadvisor suggerisce la posizione dell'hotel con tanto di mappa. Evidentemente la Sua scelta non è stata molto accurata. La prossima volta, se se lo può permettere, scelga un hotel entro le mura Aureliane.
- I cuscini: abbiamo a disposizione n. 1260 cuscini. Non è un problema, né nel ns. hotel né in qualsiasi altro hotel, richiedere altri cuscini.
- i materassi: questione altamente soggettiva
- wi Fi: nella stragrande maggioranza degli hotel il servizio è a pagamento. Il ns. è fra i meno cari
- i negozi: in Roma esistono alcuni bei negozi fra via dei Condotti e via Frattina. Vie raggiungibili dal ns. hotel con due fermate di metropolitana
- il bar di fronte non fa parte della ns. struttura. A ns. avviso lavora onestamente.
Comunque Signora, Lei non è molto sana di mente. Per quanto riguarda la presunta corruzione Le assicuro che se Lei fosse vissuta in Italia avrebbe subìto sicuramente una querela per diffamazione da parte nostra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#451 of 1,267 in Rome
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smooth Hotel Rome West
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#700 of 1,267 in Rome
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#403 of 1,267 in Rome
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Ginevra
Park Hotel Ginevra
#620 of 1,267 in Rome
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
Green Park Hotel Pamphili
#576 of 1,267 in Rome
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc'Aurelio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc'Aurelio Hotel

Address: Via Gregorio XI 141, 00166 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#219 Business Hotel in Rome
#266 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc'Aurelio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, Marc 'Aurelio Hotel, with its excellent quality / price ratio, is located just outside the Aurelian Walls and close to major attractions of the city. A short walk away is the bus stop and at 600 meters the underground station Cornelia (Line A) that, in only 4 stops, will allow you to reach the city center and S. Peter Church. Marc 'Aurelio Hotel is also ideal for those wishing to travel by car. Offering a large free car park, is a 20-minute drive from Fiumicino Airport, 10 minutes from the Vatican City and the New Fair of Rome and even less from the Policlinico Gemelli, from the GRA and the University San Raffaele. Marc 'Aurelio Hotel offers a reception open 24hours, a large and cozy lobby with internet point and a wide dining room where all the guests can enjoy a continental breakfast buffet and, for dinner, local specialties and international cuisine. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, hardwood floors, private bathroom with shower or bath tub, hairdryer, toiletries, flat-screen TV with satellite channels, telephone, radio, minibar, safe and Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marc'Aurelio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marc Aurelio Rome
Hotel Marc Aurelio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing