We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Find a Better Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Ave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Ave Hotel
Ranked #221 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't Find a Better Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our group had 4 rooms at the Residenza Ave Roma for three nights prior to a cruise. The location was incredible. The Vatican is 10 minutes, Piaza Narvona 5 minutes...all by foot. The location was only the beginning. The staff is wonderful. Each day Vera and Vicenzo would assist us in finding good places to dine, providing direction and just being nice and helpful. The rooms are spacious by Rome standards and are unique in their décor. We all agreed that when in Rome the Residenza Ave Roma, with Vicenzo and Vera would be the best option for future stays.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    98
    11
    2
    9
See reviews for
62
215
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have stayed here three different times. The location is perfect for walking to all the main attractions in Ancient Rome. The rooms are beautiful and very quiet!! But the real reason we like to stay here is Vera, the morning hostess for breakfast and house keeper. She is an amazing person. We love talking with her over our breakfast. She is so helpful getting us bus or taxi connections, confirming flight or train reservations, and anything else you may need. She has great recommendations for restaurants, when to go to the major attractions to avoid the heavy crowds. We love Vera!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laker5165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Perfect place to stay, Convent walking distance everything.Close to The Vatican and Navonna Square to name a couple places. Staff is wonderful and friendly and will guide you to where you want to go. The croissants smell will wake you up in the mornings, they smell wonderful !11

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I am staying here now, not doing all that well with the time difference so thought as good a time as any for a review.. Our room is quite sufficient, bed is large (and quite firm as we prefer) and there is even a daybed which could easily accommodate a third person. TV is flat screen mounted on wall, not used by us so much. Bathroom is great size and has all the necessities, I don't get the previous reviews with hot water issues, two showers a day here with biggest challenge to keep temp somewhere between warm and way too hot. Wife and I have 2 iPads and iPhones on the wifi with no problems at all. We are on a busy street but with 2 sets of double glazed windows it is silent. 5 mins to Piazza Navona, 10 to Campo Fiori, this morning will walk to Vatican for our tour. I am very pleased with our decision to stay here after agonizing over different options for months.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nberd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Booked for 3 nights, stayed 1. I've spent 30 plus years travelling for business and pleasure and can honestly say this is the worst or one of the worst hotels I've ever been in. Where to start...no hot water, broken furniture (some to the point of being dangerous!), toilet won't flush, hair dryer doesn't work, Internet connection useless. Staffs explanation was "it's not my fault" but no offer of compensation or anything until I demanded to speak to the manager (or their boss) and eventually threatened a walk-out. This was initially met with "we'll your travel company has already paid so too bad..." which eventually shifted to a complementary mini-bar and no city taxes...therefore, staff also very poor, couldn't even get the complementary breakfast right!
As this was the last stop of our 4 week trip (and I didn't want to remember Rome like this), we checked out leaving them with no doubt how we felt about their "services" - and found a wonderful hotel right around the corner (with facilities and services that worked!!).
This place is memorable for all the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: avoid it if possible, there are far better hotels nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed three nights. Wonderful location and close to everything we wanted to see and do. Room decor is dated but they are clean and liveable. The only drawback was the limited hot water. I went without a hot shower for the three mornings and my wife only managed to get one morning shower in by getting up early and beating 'peak' hour amongst the other handful of guests. When we raised this issue with Vincenzo he had all the answers down pat (I note from some reviews this issue has been ongoing for some years) and on the morning of our checkout he was noticeably absent and left Vera, the in-house maid, to deal with us and our queries regarding recompense. Definitley not what I expected from a '4 star' hotel. My tip, find somewhere else in the same area as this is its draw card.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

As you walk into the hotel lobby you'll probably take notice of a few postcards stuck on the wall that start with "Dear Vincenzo and Vera" followed by long thanks and wishes of good health. The reason for those postcards is quite plain, really. The longer you stay the stronger you feel about Vincenzo the host, and Vera the maid, and the more you start to see them as a family which you're briefly part of, rather than a couple of service providers. And for somebody that's new in a city flooded with tourists and sharp prices, having a place to feel at home is quite a remarkable feat.

The hotel is small and comfy, situated on the bank of the Tevere (Tiber river), in the central part of Rome, right on the other side of S. Angelo Castle, which means you have most of Rome's important sights a walk away.
The rooms are clean, snug, with a generous bathroom, a wide flat screen TV, minibar, wardbrobe, A/C, basically all you need for a really comfortable stay.

The service is really where Residenza Ave Hotel shines, as it is a proper challenge to find friendlier people than those working at this nifty little hotel in central Rome. Sights, directions, buses? Ask Vincenzo or Vera. Ticket reservations, tour reservations? Ask Vincenzo or Vera. A hot cup of strong Italian espresso? Ask Vera. These are people that take pleasure in seeing their clients satisfied. Breakfast is part of the service and it's not its weak point, as you'll easily find something to fit your taste, from cheese and prosciutto, to croissants and fresh cakes brought in daily.

It has been a pleasant stay and "dear" is the proper word to precede Vincenzo and Vera, making the tiny hotel on the Tevere a place I would strongly recommend to anyone looking for a warm and welcoming establishment in the heart of old and busy Rome.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street level are more open to street and traffic noise, which can be unpleasant at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Suite Art Navona
Suite Art Navona
#30 of 1,067 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Giulia
Relais Giulia
#150 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#206 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Vanity Hotel
Vanity Hotel
#147 of 3,736 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#64 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ave Hotel

Property: Residenza Ave Hotel
Address: Lungotevere Tor Di Nona 3, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Ave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ave Roma is your home in Rome. Come and visit us ...we will be glad to welcome and assist you during your stay. We are not a big impersonal hotel, but a small jewel in the heart of the historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Ave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ave Rome
Hotel Residenza Ave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing