We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, dark cellar, inedible food”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza Ave Hotel
Ranked #264 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, dark cellar, inedible food”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed in this hotel three nights during our Easter vacation. It was one of the rather cheaper hotels in the city center and now we know why.
The good things - definitely the location (3 minutes walk from Navona square; 10 minutes walk from San Pietro square in Vatican) and the staff (very friendly and helpful).
The bad things - the hotel is located in a cellar (last time I saw a person living in such conditions was my modest grandmother) with not much light. The windows are oriented to a busy street and although the walls are full of wallpapers (made of cloth), we could still hear the driving cars.
Also, the food (breakfast only) was not one of the best in my life; instant coffee, instant juice, toasts with ham and cheese, packaged croissants... nothing of it fresh. Tea was fine (made from tea bags). I don't consider to be a demanding person but in a hotel (double bed room for 150 Euros a night), in the center of an Italian capital! where the Italian delicious food is everywhere, I would expect something more appetizing.
Apart from one day when there was no hot water (boiler got broken), our staying was rather flawless; the staff explained us (in bad English and somewhat better Russian) where to go, where to eat, how to get on the bus, etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    101
    12
    2
    10
See reviews for
65
222
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We traveled with two other couples and were there for one night. They had overbooked, and tried to move one couple to another hotel! We were firm, and miraculously, a room appeared for all of us. Place is spotlessly clean, and fairly quiet, but they did NOT make the wake-up call that was needed to get to the airport to return to the US. One couple left the next day, and the same thing happened to them. Bed was also hard as a rock. Great location and price, but not for an extended stay (the beds), and not if you really need to get up on time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We stayed at the ave roma hotel for 3 nights at the end of September in 2009. It was the most amazing experience ever! When traveling, we're the kind of people who don't like to stay in the hotel room, but having such a beautiful home base made our trip so relaxing, romantic, and memorable. The location is absolutely perfect in Piazza Navona. You can walk everywhere! Salvo, the guy at the desk was so friendly and helpful. They also have a computer upstairs that you can use if you need to look up any information which made traveling more convenient. (we didn't bring our laptops and our cell phones didn't work internationally). The neighborhood felt extremely safe to walk around at night. The breakfast service was nice and they'll even bring it to your room for a more luxurious feel. We definitely recommend this hotel and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Great location, great room, great people, great rate... What else do you want. Well, if you want a pool, spa, and all the trappings of a chain hotel, this is not for you. If you want a great location (10 min. walk to Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon); or a great room (King size bed, in-room refrig., private bath, LCD TV); and a great rate (half of the chain hotel) this is the place for you. Diana, Vera and Salvo were helpful with places to go, directions, recommendations, etc. And their English was more than okay. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Residenza Ave Roma is a real find! A small bed and breakfast type hotel on the river Tiber in Rome, it is less than 5 minutes from the Vatican and located within walking distances of most of the other major attractions. Prices are quite reasonable. The staff is extremely accomodating, and gave us invaluable advice on the best ways to see the city. The lobby and the rooms are fairly small, but adequate; our room had a queen bed and a full sized tub. In the alley behind the hotel is Lilly's, which was listed in our guidebook as an excellent traditional Roman restaraunt. If you want the feeling of a real Italian experience, rather than a chain style hotel, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Well, what can I say?? Salvo, Vera and ALL the staff at this Hotel are lovely, and so very helpful!! The hotel itself is beautiful, very comfortable and clean and beautifully decorated! Breakfast is great, warm croissants, chocolate cake, biscuits, fruit, cereal, toast, tea, coffee, juice etc etc, perfect start to a day of sightseeing. The breakfast room is small but its more intimate and I like thi, you are treated as a friend at this hotel and not just another guest. The hotel is right on the River so its very easy to find once you get your bearings. The location is perfect, we went for a romantic 4 day break from 20th-23rd Nov 2009. We never once got a bus or taxi (apart from to/from the airport) We flew into CIA airport where we took the Terravision coach to the Termini which cost 4 Euros each, we then took the number 64 bus to the road just by the hotel (get off just before the bridge over the river and go right)
Just over the river is the castel san Angelo, and 10 mins up from that is the Vatican which is amazing, I deffinately recommend the audio tours as you learn alot more. The Pantheon, Trivi Fountain, Spanish steps etc etc are all so close by. And the Coliseum only took us 25 mins (that was strolling and taking lots of photos)
Salvo at the hotel will reccomend great resturants and gives good directions, I was quite suprised but you can eat as cheaply/ expensive as you want, I think Rome caters for all budgets!! (we took £350 worth of Euros with us and came back with about 90) I would love to go back here, and will recommend to everyone I know!! I hope this review helps!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin Tx
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This was such a quaint hotel that is centered where most everything is in walking distance. Salvo and Vera are so wonderful and helpful. Salvo will map out a walking tour that made seeing the Pantheon, Trvi Fountain, St Peters easily accessable by foot. The rooms are quaint. Compared to the prices of other centered hotels this was so reasonable!! Like our travel agent said ...location location location. You spend less time and money trying to get to a place with the metro and trains cause you are right there. Basic continental breakfast but it gets you started.Cafes and restaurants are a dime a dozen around there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
Casa Campo de’ Fiori
#44 of 3,669 in Rome
341 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#226 of 3,669 in Rome
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Luxury Apartments
Navona Luxury Apartments
#305 of 3,669 in Rome
105 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Inn Rome Rooms & Suites
Inn Rome Rooms & Suites
#709 of 3,669 in Rome
128 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Suite Art Navona
Suite Art Navona
#37 of 1,100 in Rome
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Residenza Ave Hotel

Property: Residenza Ave Hotel
Address: Lungotevere Tor di Nona 3, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Ave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ave Roma is your home in Rome. Come and visit us ...we will be glad to welcome and assist you during your stay. We are not a big impersonal hotel, but a small jewel in the heart of the historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Ave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ave Rome
Hotel Residenza Ave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing