We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be treated like long lost family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Ave Hotel
Ranked #243 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be treated like long lost family!”
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Salvo and Vera will greet you and take care of you like you are their family! If you want a cozy, lovely, home base while you are in Rome, this is a gem. They are so friendly and helpful, if you don't enjoy your stay, you may be the one that is the cause of the problem (haha!) The hotel is in a perfect location. I requested Room 6 from reading other reviews. When I got there, we were assigned Room 5. Vera quickly apologized to me that someone was in Room 6 so she could not put us in that room. But, we were several hours early for check in, she was so welcoming, and we were so glad the room was ready for us since we were tired from travelling, that I was fine with it. Later, when we met Salvo, he also sincerely apologized about our request for Room 6 and explained that the people in that room had been in the room for 7 days so he was not comfortable asking them to switch rooms. I absolutely understood but I thought it was very nice that they both wanted me to know that they didn't ignore my request and explained the situation to me. Room 5 was just fine for us and we were very happy there! It is not on the street side so it is very quiet, and it is at the end of the hall which I also liked. Waking up to the smell of cake and croissants warming was wonderful and Vera knew what time we were waking up for our tours, so she would buzz our room to let us know that she had breakfast ready! We also had not arranged transportation to the airport for the day we needed to leave and had tons of luggage because we had been on a long cruise so Salvo took care of that for us and arranged a car that was large enough to pick us up and get us there at a very reasonable price. No worries when staying here! I saw Salvo and Vera treat young girls staying there like they were their little sister and elderly that could barely walk like they were their grandparents. What's better than that?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXgal4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    100
    11
    2
    10
See reviews for
63
221
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This is the kind of small hotel American tourists are only likely to find by doing Internet research on sites such as tripadvisor. Terrific location in a nice neighborhood within walking distance of virtually all the major attractions in Rome at a good price for an expensive city. Other pluses include a friendly staff that speaks passable English, free WiFi, and spotlessly clean rooms. Sure, there's no view because you're in a half basement and the hot water is sometimes temperamental, but you'll be out seeing Rome all day, not sitting in your hotel room. I highly recommend Ave Roma for independent travelers who place a premium on value for the money and a central location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApacheTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Our stay at Residenza Ave was impressive from start to finish; location, early check-in and presentation of the room made the hotel feel so homely. In particular, the staff at this guest house were excellent. Vera went out of her way to ensure we made the most of our time in Rome, and despite previous reviews, her English was perfectly comprehendible. Salvo and Niko also proved brilliant hosts and ensured they attended to our every needs.

Such factors made our stay most enjoyable, we will definitely stay here again when we revisit the city!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed in this hotel three nights during our Easter vacation. It was one of the rather cheaper hotels in the city center and now we know why.
The good things - definitely the location (3 minutes walk from Navona square; 10 minutes walk from San Pietro square in Vatican) and the staff (very friendly and helpful).
The bad things - the hotel is located in a cellar (last time I saw a person living in such conditions was my modest grandmother) with not much light. The windows are oriented to a busy street and although the walls are full of wallpapers (made of cloth), we could still hear the driving cars.
Also, the food (breakfast only) was not one of the best in my life; instant coffee, instant juice, toasts with ham and cheese, packaged croissants... nothing of it fresh. Tea was fine (made from tea bags). I don't consider to be a demanding person but in a hotel (double bed room for 150 Euros a night), in the center of an Italian capital! where the Italian delicious food is everywhere, I would expect something more appetizing.
Apart from one day when there was no hot water (boiler got broken), our staying was rather flawless; the staff explained us (in bad English and somewhat better Russian) where to go, where to eat, how to get on the bus, etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PePans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We traveled with two other couples and were there for one night. They had overbooked, and tried to move one couple to another hotel! We were firm, and miraculously, a room appeared for all of us. Place is spotlessly clean, and fairly quiet, but they did NOT make the wake-up call that was needed to get to the airport to return to the US. One couple left the next day, and the same thing happened to them. Bed was also hard as a rock. Great location and price, but not for an extended stay (the beds), and not if you really need to get up on time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niffuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We stayed at the ave roma hotel for 3 nights at the end of September in 2009. It was the most amazing experience ever! When traveling, we're the kind of people who don't like to stay in the hotel room, but having such a beautiful home base made our trip so relaxing, romantic, and memorable. The location is absolutely perfect in Piazza Navona. You can walk everywhere! Salvo, the guy at the desk was so friendly and helpful. They also have a computer upstairs that you can use if you need to look up any information which made traveling more convenient. (we didn't bring our laptops and our cell phones didn't work internationally). The neighborhood felt extremely safe to walk around at night. The breakfast service was nice and they'll even bring it to your room for a more luxurious feel. We definitely recommend this hotel and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkwals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Great location, great room, great people, great rate... What else do you want. Well, if you want a pool, spa, and all the trappings of a chain hotel, this is not for you. If you want a great location (10 min. walk to Vatican, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon); or a great room (King size bed, in-room refrig., private bath, LCD TV); and a great rate (half of the chain hotel) this is the place for you. Diana, Vera and Salvo were helpful with places to go, directions, recommendations, etc. And their English was more than okay. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdouyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#445 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Suite Art Navona
Suite Art Navona
#33 of 1,070 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Giulia
Relais Giulia
#139 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#53 of 3,620 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#218 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ave Hotel

Property: Residenza Ave Hotel
Address: Lungotevere Tor di Nona 3, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Ave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ave Roma is your home in Rome. Come and visit us ...we will be glad to welcome and assist you during your stay. We are not a big impersonal hotel, but a small jewel in the heart of the historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Ave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ave Rome
Hotel Residenza Ave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing