We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #157 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After much searching we chose this hotel as it was central in Rome and it really is. I had no complaints about the hotel at all and would not hesitate to recommend it. The staff were welcoming and helpful when we needed anything. The breakfast staff are equally as helpful. Breakfast was great. A good variety of food and you were not bored because you could not eat everything that they had. Rooms were clean. They are smaller than you would find in bigger cities but bear in mind Rome is very populated with very little space.
There were road works outside our window but we received an email from the hotel prior to arriving to warn us. As we were up and out sight seeing all day we had no problem with it.
For a great restaurant not far from the hotel try Edy. Amazing good and where a lot of the locals go.
The locality of the hotel meant we did not buy a Metro ticket and we walked mostly everywhere. The only time we did take a Metro was to get to the Vatican as it was a our last day and we were quite tired by then. It was a cheap journey though and worth it.
Taxi's from Campiona airport is a set rate of 30 Euro's. It takes about 40 mins. The hotel will book you a return taxi if you need it. They also have a room to leave your bags in if you are travelling later in the day and still want to sight see for the day.
Great hotel, great location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillmoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adegregorio, management at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear WillmoLondon,
how can we express the gratitude for your words? It’s our best reward to hear such comments and it renews the enthusiasm that we put in our mission: let our guest to feel at home. This is why for us is so important to offer as much as we can for your brekfast and let anyone find something that he/she may like, and possibly something different every day. This is why we do our best to help you in your tours of the city, no matter what you may ask for : a suggestion for a restaurant, a reservation for a museum or the train, an information how to reach any place with public transport: if you don’t know how it works it’s up to us to know it or to find out! We care about our guest even before they arrive, so lately and for a few more days we are warning you to let the taxi leave you at the corner Via dei Greci / Via del Corso, because of some works that are renovating Via dei Greci, gracing the entrance to the hotel. We are always ready to offer the best solution also for your way to and from the airport. For those who are not in the hotel yet, just contact us! (you’ll find our e-mail and telephone numbers on our web site on the abobe link).
Hope to see you again Willmo, and take care!
Gabriele Vanzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Even though we did not get to stay in the original Hotel which had the most beautiful roof top terrace and lounge room we had a HUGE (for Rome) room in their Annexe, just around the corner.
This has been recently refurbed (except for the lift!!!) so the rooms are large, bright and modern. The breakfast room was very comfortable and the food excellent, just what you need for a busy day sight seeing

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brewster6995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adegregorio, management at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear brewster 6995,
We are so happy for your nice words here on Tripadvisor! You experience has been at the Vivaldi Luxury Rooms that we have personally designed and built after many years of experience in hospitality with Hotel Mozart. Being a few steps away from the main building and having already the common areas of the Hotel Mozart available for its guests, we chose focus at the Vivaldy Luxury Rooms on the comfort of our guest, increasing for example the size of the rooms and providing the premises with a gorgeous turkish bath, available for free. If you did not use it and wish to know more about it some pictures of it are available on our official web site. As you write on your review, we kept the high standard offer for breakfast of the Mozart at the Vivaldi, and in order not to slow the service we provided it with its own breakfast room and attendants. Unlike the classic “annex” (where you have to join the main building) this allows you to go back easily to your room after brekfast before going out for for your tours (or work). As you have seen, Hotel Mozart with its concierge, its roof terrace bar (in the warm season), its bar on the beautiful lounge with fireplace (in the cold season), is just across the corner and always willing to welcome the Vivaldi guests.
We wait to see you back again some time and wish you all the best, ciao!
Gabriele Vanzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We visited with friends for a 50th birthday trip. The hotel is conveniently situated in the centre. We never used any transport for the 3 days we were there as we were equidistant from the vatican and the coliseum/forum which were both a gentle 20 min walk away. The Spanish steps/Trevi fountain and Pantheon are all closer. The hotel is quite small and the rooms are very individual. We had a lovely corner room on the top floor, small but well appointed. Continental breakfast was plentiful and served in a bright dining room. There is a rooftop terrace bar but that was closed when we visited. Very convenient for the shopping areas and a taxi from the airport was straightforward and fair priced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wensday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adegregorio, Management at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear wensday,
Thank you very much for your nice review! WhenI read about the roof terrace bar being closed at first I could not understand...but then I saw that you were here in march, so I appreciated even more your review for having remembered us after so many months from your stay! I think you really well described the spirit of our hotel, being right in the centre of the city with the chance of walking most everywhere a tourist may wish to go. But it's particularly satisfactory for us to be appreciated for the character we try to express in every small detail as the paintings or the furniture with which we decorate our common areas, besides the attention with which we prepare and serve our continental buffet breakfast. Character, for those who don’t know us yet, that we try to express on the pages of our web site (see above lik)
It's a real pleasure to have contributed to the happy celebration of your friend and hope you will choose us again for the next one!! If you do so, please don’t esitate to contact us directly in order to prepare for you our best welcome! Arrivederci!!
Gabriele Vanzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It's a pensione, not a hotel. But they charge hotel rates (we paid less for the Intercontinental de la Ville atop the Spanish Steps the same trip). We were told to stay in the Vivaldi wing. That's down the street and around the corner and then into an old mews, in a strung together office building on a split level floor. Rickety one person 1890s cage elevator. No amenities in the sparsely furnished room. A pensione! OK when I was 19 and paying $10/night; not OK for anyone paying these rates and looking for a hotel with a modicum of amenities. Oh, and no taxis anywhere near, so get ready to lug your suitcases around till you find one. On arrival, the seasoned taxi driver had to stop and ask where it was, then let us off way short of the place. Scary. Be warned.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay that's a real hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stewartsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adegregorio, management at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear stewardsdad,
thank you for your time commenting our hotel. We aprecciate all comments: goods encrease our enthusiasm, bad make us grow especially when accurate.That’s why I read your comment again and again to better undestand the reason of your disappointmen. About the judgement of the room there’s not much I can say: it’s probably a matter of personal taste, but nevertheless I have to notice that the comfort, the size and the design of the rooms at the Vivaldi are the first reasons for their good comments they have on Hotel Mozart section as well as in the Viavaldi Luxury Rooms section (there is in fact one special page for Vivaldi Luxury Rooms here on Tripadvisor).
About the price, the revenue managment system that all hotels now adopt (every day has his own rate which increase as the availability decrease), sometimes may place our rate at the same position of a five star hotel (especially if this hotel has a lower rank on sites like Tripadvisor), but on the average this does not happen. Let me also notice on this behalf that it’s never convenient to compare 5 stars hotels with hotels of other categories only because in two different dates they have the same price because it’s obvious that you will find differences in the services. Hotel Mozart is a small, cozy hotel and we want to create a familiar atmosphere for our guests, with the help of our friendly staff, and the offer of our constantly renewed rooms and common areas. We are proud of what we are and wish not to look like something else! It’s for the traveller to look after what he wants using this amazing site as well as our official web site that really helps to get an idea of what you can expect from us before you leave your home.
About the lift, I have to admit that you are absolutely right: we are conscious this is not the lift that our guests deserve and this is why we have been “fighting” for years with the co-owners to change it and we are very happy to inform you that we recently succeded in our mediation and that soon we will have a brand new lift!!!
About the taxi: we are in the hart of the city, there is a first taxi stand on via del Corso (250 meters on the left from Vivaldi) a second at Spanish Steps (300 meters), a third at Piazza del Popolo (350 meters) and we constantly call taxi for our guests, which normaly arrive in 3-4 minutes. Nevertheless if you have been particularly unlucky with the taxi or did not ask us to find one for you, I don’t think it’s fair to ascribe it to Hotel Mozart.
I wish I could have a direct speech with you for better understanding the reasons of your hard review in order to improve the comunication of the image of Hotel Mozart: our mood follow the mood of our guests, and we are working hard for not leaving any guest disappointed.
I remain with my best regards,
Gabriele Vanzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I just spent a week in Rome at this fabulous Hotel.
It is within walking distance form all the major sites including the Vatican (20 mins) Colosseum (30 mins) Pantheon (10 mins) and 5 mins to the Spanish Steps where there is a metro to take you anywhere else. It's even a shorter walk to the park where the Villa Borghese is located which is a great place to see the sunset.in particular the two brothers who are the concierge are


The staff at the Hotel are really obliging with suggestions for resturants, which there are plenty to choose from, or anything else you may need to inquire about like I did seeking out a dry cleaner and a barber both of which were within 2 minutes of the front door. In particular are the two brothers whom are the concierge's both of whom were of great assistance.

Breakfast was ample and the roof top bar which has great views over the roof tops of the surrounding environment was enjoyable after a day of sight seeing.
Of course it is right in the heart of the shopping district virtually on the corner of Via del Corso.
If you are looking for a great place, clean and friendly professional staff then Hotel Mozart is an easy choice.
My partner and I stayed in the Mozart Apartment which if its available and your in Rome for more than 4 nights I suggest you look at this option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shoalbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adegregorio, Receptionist at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Shoalbay,
thank you very much for your wondeful comment about us on Tripadvisor.
We could not have done better in the description of our location in the heart of the city! And... as you spoke about the sunset, how not to mention the breath-taking colours at sun rising at Trinità dei Monti, above Spanish Steps?
We are so glad your holiday in Rome worked out fine and that we have been able to help you in all your needs with Cesidio for your dinner reservations and the “bell boys brothers” Kiko and Jeff for your everyday needs (and not only for your luggage!!). It’s good to know you were also satisfied with our generous breakfast and had the chance to enjoy the beautiful roof terrace bar (weather is helping us a lot in this season!!).
Nice also to hear that we succeed with our guests of the Elite Apartments, cozy flats of 50 sq. m. for up to 4 people with all hotel services (breakfast included), within a two-minutes walk from the hotel: you or your friends will be maybe happy to know that now you can book them directly from our official web site also for only one day, keeping the same good value!
Thank you again for your words, and hope to seeing you some other time on this side of the Ocean!
Gabriele Vanzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

So centrally-located and yet so reasonably-priced. Loved the breakfast- good variety and lovely cakes. Tania, the waitress, remembered our preferred coffee on the second morning and her service was excellent and always with a smile. The other waitress, Jasmin, could be seen to give very friendly service too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adegregorio, Receptionist at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear BT1956,
thank you very much for your warm review on Tripadvisor. The best rewards for those working in “hospitality” is having their work recognized and this is why we read immediatly your comment to Tania e Jasmin (and they were so happy, you should have seen them!): thank you very much indeed! These are the things that make our “breakfast ladies” keep serving our guests with passion and always with a smile, even in the most rushed moments.
No doubt our breakfast is one of the most complete and aboundant you can find in Rome (it may seems presumptious sayd from me, not even have I the experience to tell this, but this is what you actually read again and again in our comments and what you can pictures yoursel from the images of our official web-site ). Yet, for how much you can give in term of aboundancy and quality, everything has a special taste when served professionally, courteously and, when time allows, friendly!
And if we can do it for a reasonable price, your satisfaction is ours as well.
Tania, Jasmin and all the staff of the Hotel Mozart hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hotel Mozart has been one of the best hotel experiences in a large city in years! The Staff was very helpful and polite, the breakfast was very good with all you (we) could ask for.
The room was nice and clean allthough a bit on the small side, but when in Rome do as the Romans, be outside. Infact the Hotel was really what you expect in the older part of a large city. It was cosy, "warm", and friendly and close to everything.
The Metro (Piazza Espagna) was just around the corner, as was the Spanish Steps. You could infact reach all of Rome's tourist attractions by foot. A round trip by foot, will take about 7 hours walking with good planning. You'll be fit as a fiddle when you come home.
Shopping street 10 meters round another corner (Via del Corso), with all that your creditcards can desire.
Many good restaurant near by (Restaurant Alfredo was very good).
So, if you and your partner would like a stay in one of the best cities in the world, in a very good and reasonable priced hotel, why not try Hotel Mozart. You might just enjoy it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adegregorio, receptionist at Hotel Mozart, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Espen1960,
thank you so much for your nice words about us. To tell the truth it’s very easy to be of help to people like you because of your ever-smiling and friendly attitude, which makes our job a real pleasure! This said, it’s good to know that even our smallest rooms (you had one, I admit!) can’t affect the pleasure to stay with us in our beautiful city. You took advantage of our strategic position and I agree with you that Rome in this particular location keep you in shape: even if the Metro “Spagna” is at a few steps, you rarely feel the need to take it, because when you get outside the door you’re already in the middle of the beauty and you can walk almost to every tourist attraction and to the most well known boutiques of the city. Not to talk about restaurants, which are many, close and very good, as the one you mentioned.
So we really hope you’ll be with us again in the future, and if you do, please contact us directly, give us a call, write us an e-mail and this time we’ll give you our best welcome (and a bigger room!!)
Gabriele Vanzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#319 of 1,271 in Rome
731 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,605 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Vivaldi Luxury Rooms
Vivaldi Luxury Rooms
#464 of 1,271 in Rome
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Via Dei Greci 23/B, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#131 Family Hotel in Rome
#148 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#151 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mozart 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Rome
Hotel Mozart Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing