We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and amazing location”
Review of Hotel Canova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canova
Ranked #444 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and amazing location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel was exactly as described. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean with professional people in the reception desk. Location was excellent close to all important places in ROME. I could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Close to Termini Station and other wonderful places. Definitely I will use it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flower f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    160
    70
    18
    12
See reviews for
56
153
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on July 4, 2014. We stayed in room number 312. Both of us had multiple bed bug bites on both nights. So if you are staying here, I would refuse to stay in room 312. We wasted the next day of our trip washing everything we had, getting new backpacks as we didn`t want to carry these bugs with us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveb3457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wenonah, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Hotel Canova and would stay there again in the future. The staff was outstanding. All were very helpful and professional. I had many questions during our 5 day stay and they were all answered perfectly. The help and guidance to get around Rome for a first time visitor was excellent.
The only items I would improve would be to have wifi in the room and slightly better breakfast selection. That being said I was not there for either of those items.
Housekeeping was excellent.
The location is excellent for Metro, subway and the colesium area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights last week (end of June 2014).

Hotel is perfectly clean and well kept. Rooms cleaned well each day.

Breakfast is lovely great pastries.

Nice location (minutes from the forum and colosseum!) and staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful.

Thanks we will be booking our stay again here next time!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed our last 2 nights after a 6 week holiday in Europe and were most disappointed with this Hotel as all we wanted to do was unwind a little before the long flight home. The room is small and the shower room even smaller so it was hard to move in the room without bumping into things. There are no English speaking channels on the TV so don't bother taking the tv remote with you when checking in. The Breakfast is a disaster waiting to happen. It was around 33c when we were staying there and the breakfast items were not refrigerated at all so the milk put out in a jug first thing was warm by 7.30am when we got there, the butter in the PC portion packs were liquid when we handled them (so put them back) the meat and cheese just left in the heat in a plastic container and the coffee, this is the only place in Italy that you can find a bad coffee, a stewed cona coffee. Give breakfast a big miss as we did on the second day. We asked about getting a taxi to the airport and were told it would take only 3 minutes to arrive so do it in the morning. 20 minutes later and 3 return trips to the Hotel as we had to wait at the end of the street do the street being closed for road works and were finally told to walk up the nest road over the main road and to a taxi rank to get a taxi. The Hotel was refurbishing its restaurant so it was noisy and dusty with tile cutting going on plus the street outside was closed due to road works being carried out so overall our stay was poor at best.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere until all the road and Restaurant work is completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the metro\ subway that you can take around rome for 1.50€. The staff speak excellent English and were very helpful in recommending restaurants and giving directions. If your not high maintenance and are using the room to just sleep and shower it's a perfect size. HOWEVER one of my biggest fears when traveling is bed bugs and guess what we found the night we left because we left at 5am, bed bugs. I can only pray that I didn't bring any with me!! I would return if they guaranteed fixed this problem as it's a big one for me and most of you I'm sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canovahotelroma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Canova, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Good Morning

We are really disappointed and sorry, that Miss says, to have had that kind of problems in our place.
As fast as we received that notification we have decided to get into and resolve it as soon as possible.
After all, we have not found any complications notecase that problem.
In any case, thank you very much indeed.

Best regards

Hotel Canova***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I spent 4 nights at Hotel Canova on our visit to Rome. The room was quite nice and had a large bathroom. The location is good as it puts you between the main archaeological sites and Termini station. The bed was probably the most comfortable of all the locations I visited in Italy and Greece. On the downside the pillows were exceptionally thin. Our toilet, or more accurately the flushing mechanism broke one evening, but was fixed the following day while we were out in the city. The staff at the front were happy to book a dinner reservation for us and assist with any queries we had about the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSmiley2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#351 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#225 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#255 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#206 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#295 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#112 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canova

Property: Hotel Canova
Address: Via Urbana 10/A, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #444 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canova 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Canova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canova Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing